Mario Kart 8 Wii U

Mario Kart 8 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1540 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mario Kart 8 introduces new racing circuit designs and antigravity karts that will have players driving upside down. Players will also enjoy a variety of series-favorite features, including the return of 12-player online competitive play, hang-gliders, underwater racing and motorbikes.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    100
    Mario Kart 8 is a return of one of Nintendo’s most beloved franchises, and is just as chaotic as ever.
  2. May 16, 2014
    95
    Mario Kart 8 is a beast: with great track design, plenty of characters, karts, bikes and power ups is the best Mario Kart of all time. Also thanks to revamped online modes and some gorgeous graphics, is the single reason you need to own a Wii U.
  3. May 15, 2014
    90
    With some new great features added to the classic recipe, with beautiful graphics and spectacular races, Mario Kart 8 looks like the killer app the Wii U was waiting for.
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 28, 2014
    90
    The best Mario Kart ever. All faults are forgiven when you're drifting the inside of a vertical corner. [Issue#250, p.58]
  5. May 15, 2014
    88
    It’s safe to say that this is the best Mario Kart since the SNES days, and that’s a pretty heavy statement.
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    80
    Mario Kart 8 is pretty great in many ways, but undoubtedly moreso with a collection of friends to play with, or when facing off against other players online.
  7. May 27, 2014
    70
    Despite this game’s gleaming high-definition sheen, there’s little doubt this granddaddy of the karting genre is beginning to show its age.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 407
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1Simply fantastic! Ladies and gentlemen, GO BUY A WII U FOR THIS GAME. Highly recommended for a fun gaming experience. Nothing on PS4 or XB1 comes close. 10/10 Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2016
    10
    El mejor Mario Kart hasta la fecha, frenético y divertido con adiciones DLC que hacen ver al futuro muy interesante, sin embargo carece de unEl mejor Mario Kart hasta la fecha, frenético y divertido con adiciones DLC que hacen ver al futuro muy interesante, sin embargo carece de un modo batalla emocionante y parte de los personajes son MUY prescindibles... Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    Best gaming experience I've had in a long time. A Nintendo representative said that technical horsepower alone is not enough. Game-play isBest gaming experience I've had in a long time. A Nintendo representative said that technical horsepower alone is not enough. Game-play is what's most important. This piece of software is a perfect example how true this statement is. Thank you Nintendo, you guys rock !!! Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2014
    9
    I'm going to be honest here... I wasn't planning on buying this game. Mostly due to the fact I lost interest in the series when Mario Kart WiiI'm going to be honest here... I wasn't planning on buying this game. Mostly due to the fact I lost interest in the series when Mario Kart Wii came out (I just didn't like it). The free game offer from Nintendo sweetened the deal for me though, so I went ahead and bought it and I am so glad I did. It... is... AMAZING! It has some of the best, if not the best graphics in a Wii U game to date. The courses are cleverly designed and it features very addicting multiplayer and challenges. It even allows for voice chat with friends. (Although it would have been cool to have voice chat with all players.) The one thing I didn't like though, was the battle mode. They just recycled the regular tracks. No arenas. It's sad o see they got lazy with it. Even so, this is probably the best Mario Kart to date. 9/10 Expand
  5. May 30, 2014
    9
    There is just so much love in the making of this game. You can simply feel it in almost every track (except maybe one or two). It gets betterThere is just so much love in the making of this game. You can simply feel it in almost every track (except maybe one or two). It gets better and better as you play it, and four way split screen has never been this good. Unlike old kart games you can actually know exactly what is going on.
    Not a 10 because they did not add special arenas. They used to serve as a good distraction after hours of racing with friends... Need to make it an update and not a DLC.
    Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2016
    9
    the graphics are a little wired and the tracks arent as good as mario kart 6's (wii) but its still incredibly decent. But the big issue thatthe graphics are a little wired and the tracks arent as good as mario kart 6's (wii) but its still incredibly decent. But the big issue that sets it apart from mario kart wii is that battle mode is ruined. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    When I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled inWhen I first played Mario Kart 8, I had very high expectations. However I was met with the most disgusting racing game ever to be assembled in human history. DO NOT BUY!! a waste of money. People should buy a real game, like Corey in the House for the nintendo DS Expand

See all 407 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2014

    The Best Videogames of 2014 Image
    Published: December 22, 2014
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2014.