Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 39
  2. Negative: 8 out of 39
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    40
    The latest installment in the Mario & Sonic series just feels sloppy instead of the HD reboot it should have been. It's way to similar to the previous games and they clearly haven't had a single clue how to utilize the Wii U Gamepad for the events.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    40
    Poorer than the Vancouver 2010 version. [Christmas 2013, p.82]
  3. Dec 18, 2013
    40
    Reliance on simple motion controls is bound to put off the more serious sports fans. [Issue#142, p.119]
  4. Nov 8, 2013
    45
    Mario & Sonic at the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games has some of the best online capabilities on the Wii U, but it unwisely forces use of poor motion controls in almost every mode.
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    30
    The third Olympic Games with Mario and Sonic is the worst one yet. It offers very few events worth playing and manages to be a party game that doesn’t feel easy to pick up. On top of that you need an entire arsenal of different controllers to even play it.
  6. 30
    The worst Mario & Sonic game yet and not just a waste of a crossover but a genuinely poor mini-game compilation, and one that makes both the Wii U and the GamePad look bad.
  7. It gets the gold medal for pig-headedness, at least. [Dec 2013, p.80]
  8. Nov 22, 2013
    40
    The only thing that improved since the Wii versions of Mario & Sonic are the graphics. That alone is not worth your money.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    i understand that this game is the same as the other
    But i dint played mario and sonic crossover before
    so i enyojed this game. its a good
    i understand that this game is the same as the other
    But i dint played mario and sonic crossover before
    so i enyojed this game. its a good game,with a good gameplay
    and with good graphics
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Mario and Sonic have returned in Russia! Although the game is quite similar to Vancouver 2010, the graphics are better and the gamepad isMario and Sonic have returned in Russia! Although the game is quite similar to Vancouver 2010, the graphics are better and the gamepad is nicely integrated into gameplay, although it lacks a certain depth that could have made the game better. Great for occupying kids for hours though. Full Review »
  3. Duz
    Nov 16, 2013
    2
    otro juego de mario y sonic? vale creo que si la empeoraron no digo que los juegos de estos dos personajes sean malos ,pero no son muyotro juego de mario y sonic? vale creo que si la empeoraron no digo que los juegos de estos dos personajes sean malos ,pero no son muy buenas estas sagas almenos sirve para divertirse con la familia... Full Review »