Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. We applaud Battle For Earth's unique approach to simplistic fighting, but its lack of content and depth won't impress anyone but the most junior gamers.
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    50
    The game is a strange rock-paper-scissor like beat-em-up, too simplistic and too naïve. Even with Avengers and Marvel Secret Invasion license it does not have any appeal, if you aren’t a strong fan of the series. It’s evident the effort made by the developers in order to improve the game, implementing a new control system dedicated to WiiU’s GamePad, unfortunately this was not enough to improve the game itself.
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    45
    Limited in every aspect. This game doesn't offer a decent amount of content, nor fun gameplay.
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    70
    Marvel Avengers: Battle for Earth can be played both on the GamePad alone or on a TV with a Wii-mote and a Nunchuk. The latter option is the better one, though it's not as accurate as the Kinect version.
  5. Feb 6, 2013
    50
    Though it's good to see a fighter that anybody can play, Marvel Avengers: Battle for Earth takes simplification just a few steps too far. The core gameplay is fun in short sessions, and there's a decent amount of content and care taken, but after a while the battles become overly-similar and begin to grate. With more variety this could have been a super power, but in its present form the concept lacks a certain punch.
  6. Jan 25, 2013
    60
    Though an overall shallow affair, Marvel Avengers: Battle For Earth displays lot more polish, flair and finesse than your average movie tie-in title, but like those Skrull impostors, it can't escape its true, uglier nature for too long.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    The Wii U version has slightly less control issues than the original Kinect game, but also less of the novelty – although it's still mindless comic book fun while it lasts.
  8. Jan 15, 2013
    50
    There's just not enough content or variety here to justify the expense of a full retail purchase.
  9. 40
    Offering nothing for the fans while having gameplay that's fun to no one, Marvel Avengers: Battle for Earth is impossible to recommend.
  10. Dec 11, 2012
    74
    There are parts that are exciting, yet others that I know need work, and some features that feel unnecessary.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Sep 24, 2014
    5
    I wanted so bad to like this game. I tried so hard to like it. I found myself in my usual predicament; I could barely put more than 30 minutes at a time into the game solo, yet could put a solid hour or two when playing with friends. The gameplay is repetitive and uninspired, the story is unimaginative and played out, and the animation is sloppy and choppy. The one thing I can praise is the art and graphic design. That is the one of two things about this game that saved it from me rating it a 3/10. I commend the graphics and their likeness to comic book art styles. However, this game would've scored much much higher if it was launched as a downloadable $20 game. But the fact that they tried (and failed) to pass it off as a $50 hard disk triple A game was risky and inevitably unfruitful. Before I conclude this review, I would like to say that the other reason I bothered to rate it above a 3/10 was because Iceman was a playable character, who has been my favorite marvel hero all of my life and was happy to see him included, unfortunately in such a sub-par game. Full Review »
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    This game is as bad as it gets. What is redeemable about this game AT ALL? Hmm? It's so blatantly obvious they just wanted to crap out some game with a marketable cover pic (The Avengers, following the release of the movie a couple years ago) so they could sell it as a lunch title for the WiiU. The gameplay is beyond awful, even the worst NES games I've played dont' compare. All you do is move side to side and then use any of your generic attacks, some of which require you to play a "minigame" where you draw some outline on your wiiu to execute the attack. It's like I'm playing some awful flash RPG from some flash game site, except at least those are fun for a good 30 minutes. How can anyone give this game higher than a 1 or 2 for a rating? What is fun about this game? There is literally no real gameplay elements at hand here, it takes ZERO skill and is basically just a "play this drawing minigame over and over again" type game. It's actually depressing to me that a triple A title like Ubisoft can get away with releasing this garbage. I heard bad things about the company but never really noticed it until now, and I will surely stay away from anything with "ubisoft" stamped on it from here on out.

    AVOID THIS GAME AT ALL COSTS IF YOU ENJOY GOOD VIDEO GAMES.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    I've been wanting a good fighting game that features my favorite Marvel characters for a long time, and I was hoping/expecting this game to finally be just that. Oh well, maybe next time. The problem with the game is it's noticeable lack of depth that becomes apparent right after you get over how great your favorite Marvel superheroes look in the cel-shaded art style. Every character plays exactly the same and every fight is a boring experience. The action takes place entirely on the Wii-U gamepad, in order to use attacks you have to tap icons on the gamepad. This sounds like an interesting idea at first until you realize that fights become simple experiences that rely on you spamming super attacks until the battle is over. It's got several different modes typical of fighting games along with unlockables and multiplayer content, but the game is just so repetitive and boring there's really no point in playing with them. In the end Marvel Avengers: Battle for Earth is a disappointing and lackluster fighting game that takes some of the best Marvel superheroes and makes them completely undistinguishable, and that might be it's worst offense. Full Review »