User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 165

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    I played this game back when it first came out on Xbox 360. It's one of my favorite games of all time, and also one of the few games I've ever given a perfect 10/10. This port is the exact game game with the previously released DLC already installed on the disc. It's got the same fantastic campaign and awesome multiplayer, but there are a few key issues that keep this Wii U port from beingI played this game back when it first came out on Xbox 360. It's one of my favorite games of all time, and also one of the few games I've ever given a perfect 10/10. This port is the exact game game with the previously released DLC already installed on the disc. It's got the same fantastic campaign and awesome multiplayer, but there are a few key issues that keep this Wii U port from being the "Special Edition" that the title would have you believe. Most issues are little and due to the fact that EA and Bioware aren't giving this port the backing they are giving the PS3 and 36o versions. This means no DLC or patch support, the latter of which causes this port to have many bugs and glitches, mostly in the multiplayer portion of this game. But by far the biggest issue that keeps me from recommending the Wii U version over other ports is that Mass Effect 1 and 2 aren't available on the Wii U. This strips this version of one of the biggest and best part of ME 3; the ability to import you decisions from previous game to influence how the game plays out. They tried to make up for this by giving this version a digital comic that covers over the previous two games stories and lets you make some of the bigger story decisions. The problem with this is that the comic gives you no sort of context as to why they are important or how they will effect the game. Also you're not building relationships with the fantastic characters Bioware has crafted over these 3 games, so a lot of ME 3's more emotional moments are lost on the player. So as you can see you're better off buying ME 3 for a system with access to the entire trilogy to feel the full effect ME 3 can offer, especially since you can probably get the entire trilogy for the same price or cheaper than this Wii U port. However if the Wii U is the only video game system you own, then this is still a must play regardless of its faults. The campaign still has one of the best stories in video game history, sci-fi or otherwise. It's also packed with intense firefights, tough decisions, and fantastic characters. It will keep you busy for many hours, and the multiple endings will keep you coming back. The multiplayer is also fantastic, combining co-operative gameplay, with multiple character classes and races, as well as many difficulties. So if you have the option I do recommend picking up ME 3 on another system wit the entire trilogy, but like I said before if the Wii U is your only video game system then this is still a game you need to play. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    This is a fun game and I have spent countless hours playing online with family, friends, and strangers. It has been a blast to play. The only reason I will drop 1 point is because head shots don't take down your enemies as fast as I think it should but that is my opinion. Either way this game is a fun and great game.
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    Amazing! I had the intention of playing Mass Effect 1 and 2 but didn't quite adapt to the controls on the Xbox360 and PC but this one using the Gamepad and it's touchscreen was perfect. It lets you speed up to the story with an interactive comic so you can set some background on your character. The story kept me playing non stop for 3 days until i reached the end (superb). I wouldAmazing! I had the intention of playing Mass Effect 1 and 2 but didn't quite adapt to the controls on the Xbox360 and PC but this one using the Gamepad and it's touchscreen was perfect. It lets you speed up to the story with an interactive comic so you can set some background on your character. The story kept me playing non stop for 3 days until i reached the end (superb). I would recommend this game for everyone out there with a WiiU! Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    a fantastic game. with the new extended cut mass effect 3 ends the trilogy in a great way. its epic, exciting, dramatic, its equally as good as mass effect 2. the only negatives are the journal system sucks now...but the gamepaly, characters, graphics, everything is top notch. the best game of 2012 and one of the best games ever overall
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Runs so much faster than the other two. Loads more fun and only on one disc. Graphics are much smoother and framerates only lag sometimes. This game shows you what the wii u is capable of and I cant wait to see what it brings us!
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    It's absurd that this has a 5.8. It's better on wiiu than both the mainstream consoles. It's smoother in both graphics and controls. Everything else is the same, and since it scores so well on other consoles I smell industry buy-off corruption *******. Get this damn game!
  7. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    Mass Effect has arrived in style for Wii U. Many fans have enjoyed this series on other platforms and Mass Effect 3 shows what it's all about. In addition to the main game, there's the new gamepad functionality with a convenient map for ordering allies and your special powers and some of the DLC on the other consoles is included for free. The game truly deserves a 10 but as much as I hateMass Effect has arrived in style for Wii U. Many fans have enjoyed this series on other platforms and Mass Effect 3 shows what it's all about. In addition to the main game, there's the new gamepad functionality with a convenient map for ordering allies and your special powers and some of the DLC on the other consoles is included for free. The game truly deserves a 10 but as much as I hate to say it 3 key factors hold this version back. 1. Wii U players have no access to the first 2 games resulting in a comic to catch players up on the story, while it gets the job done its not the same as playing 1 and 2 on the system. 2. Any DLC for the other platforms besides the content that's on the disc will not be available on Wii U. 3. ME3 on Wii U is the full $60 on Wii U but other platforms have it around $30 now (and the whole trilogy for $60). None of that changes the fact that this game is amazing and if the Wii U is your weapon of choice for gaming defiantly pick it up. Expand
  8. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Mass Effect 3 is a great addition to the Wii U library, specially because it was available since launch. It definitely keeps all the essence of the other versions and adds some interesting features through the Wii U GamePad. It's really sad that some of the DLC is not included on this version, which does not make it so special as the title suggests, but it's still Mass Effect 3, a definiteMass Effect 3 is a great addition to the Wii U library, specially because it was available since launch. It definitely keeps all the essence of the other versions and adds some interesting features through the Wii U GamePad. It's really sad that some of the DLC is not included on this version, which does not make it so special as the title suggests, but it's still Mass Effect 3, a definite must-buy for the Wii U Collapse
  9. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    The WIi U version is great - the reason it has 6.1 is probably due to all the XBOTS / PS Drones. It runs a lot smoother - it's a great experience, and the WIi U gamepad functionality really adds a new dimension to the game which I (now realised) that I lacked on the 360 version and PS3. Unfortunately, the Wii U gamepad functionality isn't as great as I would have hoped - but it's still aThe WIi U version is great - the reason it has 6.1 is probably due to all the XBOTS / PS Drones. It runs a lot smoother - it's a great experience, and the WIi U gamepad functionality really adds a new dimension to the game which I (now realised) that I lacked on the 360 version and PS3. Unfortunately, the Wii U gamepad functionality isn't as great as I would have hoped - but it's still a superior version to the others. I felt they could have added a lot more, but there is a lot of untapped potential. However, this is to be expected from a launch port - future iterations are most probably going to utilise the gamepad a lot better. However, from a game perspective, it's as great as it's always been. The ending left a bit to be desired, but the whole gameplay experience more than made up for it. Expand
  10. Dec 1, 2012
    8
    Mass Effect 3 Special Edition was made for the Wii U engine. For all you Star Wars noobs you will appreciate controls. It is sad that developers are not using the Nintendo eShop for on-line content. Also I want wii motion plus controls it is epic for third Person games. Also it would be nice if Mass Effect 3 had better replayability,
  11. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    I will never forgive EA for rushing the development of this game. It pains to think about what could have been.
    On top of it all, they screwed over Wii U owners. What would have clearly been the definitive version is held back by a horrible comic that omits any sort of control over the events of the first 2 games. On top of it all, they will never release 1 and 2 because EA likes to screw
    I will never forgive EA for rushing the development of this game. It pains to think about what could have been.
    On top of it all, they screwed over Wii U owners. What would have clearly been the definitive version is held back by a horrible comic that omits any sort of control over the events of the first 2 games. On top of it all, they will never release 1 and 2 because EA likes to screw over Nintendo fans at every possible avenue.

    However, I still give this game a 10 because in spite of its rushed development, this game is darn near perfection. Several of the most emotionally provocative moments in video game history are all in this game. I've never experienced such a grand storyline on such an epic scale. Thank you BioWare for the ride. I absolutely enjoyed every minute of it up until the end.

    Thank heavens we at least got the extended cut that tied off so many of the stories and choices that were left totally absent from the original ending.
    Expand
  12. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    There is not much difference from the others but if your wanting a third party game that you can play for a long time to the point of wearing it out Mass Effect 3 does it purpose! The game pad is better used as a screen to play on. From Ashes DLC and Javik is what you would expect from DLC for a RPG. Star Trek fans should have no problems getting into the story. The comic book is masterfulThere is not much difference from the others but if your wanting a third party game that you can play for a long time to the point of wearing it out Mass Effect 3 does it purpose! The game pad is better used as a screen to play on. From Ashes DLC and Javik is what you would expect from DLC for a RPG. Star Trek fans should have no problems getting into the story. The comic book is masterful designed to give you background but sabotages you be not allowing you the use of the two DLC characters from Mass Effect two and even worse selects a options that means life and death for a character. Expand
  13. Nov 29, 2014
    9
    This game get a lot of hate from puritans. People who can't enjoy a Zelda game because it doesn't fit into the timeline, who ignore Fallout New Vegas because it's just Fallout 3.

    **** Great game, probably the best trilogy of the last couple of years and this third and last edition, while also not my favorite, has a lot going for it. Particularly the game-mechanics are a lot smoother
    This game get a lot of hate from puritans. People who can't enjoy a Zelda game because it doesn't fit into the timeline, who ignore Fallout New Vegas because it's just Fallout 3.

    ****

    Great game, probably the best trilogy of the last couple of years and this third and last edition, while also not my favorite, has a lot going for it. Particularly the game-mechanics are a lot smoother and it plays a lot faster.

    The port for Wii U is excellent and, very original, you get a map on the gamepad which is very convenient.

    If you haven't already played this game, it's a definite purchase, you should have no problem at all picking it up for cheap.

    Enjoy.
    Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    I am thoroughly impressed with this game, a complete shame the wii u aren't coming out with more titles like this. The game pad functionality I found awesome, especially moving your team around and using special attacks, the graphics are a spectacle just look up with your camera in amazement. Much better for me on the wii u rather than 360. I personally though after three games the endingI am thoroughly impressed with this game, a complete shame the wii u aren't coming out with more titles like this. The game pad functionality I found awesome, especially moving your team around and using special attacks, the graphics are a spectacle just look up with your camera in amazement. Much better for me on the wii u rather than 360. I personally though after three games the ending was slightly disappointing. Having said that it is my favourite sci fi series at the moment and im soooooo happy I have a copy for the wii u. Expand
  15. Feb 2, 2013
    0
    Mass Effect 3 is a great addition to the Wii U library, specially because it was available since launch. It definitely keeps all the essence of the other versions and adds some interesting features through the Wii U GamePad. It's really sad that some of the DLC is not included on this version, which does not make it so special as the title suggests, but it's still Mass Effect 3, a definiteMass Effect 3 is a great addition to the Wii U library, specially because it was available since launch. It definitely keeps all the essence of the other versions and adds some interesting features through the Wii U GamePad. It's really sad that some of the DLC is not included on this version, which does not make it so special as the title suggests, but it's still Mass Effect 3, a definite must-buy for the Wii U Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 60
    From the boring story, to the shallow single-player gameplay, to the dull characters, Mass Effect 3: Special Edition didn’t do anything for me to live up to its Wii U subtitle.
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    89
    Still great, but the port should have had more. [Feb 2013, p.77]
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    Without doubt, Mass Effect 3: Special Edition is easily one of the best offerings on the Wii U right now, but it simply cannot be stressed enough that players must seek out the two previous games in the series before playing this one.