Mass Effect 3: Special Edition Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Earth is on fire. Striking from beyond known space, a race of terrifying machines have begun their destruction of the human race. As Commander Shepard, an Alliance Marine, your only hope for saving mankind is to rally the civilizations of the galaxy and launch one final mission to take backEarth is on fire. Striking from beyond known space, a race of terrifying machines have begun their destruction of the human race. As Commander Shepard, an Alliance Marine, your only hope for saving mankind is to rally the civilizations of the galaxy and launch one final mission to take back the Earth. Mass Effect 3 features additional missions, weapons, and characters for both single player and multiplayer including the Extended Cut ending and an interactive backstory experience. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    It's not as special as the title suggests. But that doesn't make it any less – or more for that matter – of a brilliant game.
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    90
    As an adaptation, it's somewhere between PS3 and Xbox 360, but one way or another it's an outstanding game. However, it's quite weird playing the end of a story, no matter how many comics we find along the way.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    If you really, really want to play Mass Effect and simply can't get your hands on it for other consoles, the Wii U version will definitely work, and it's a fine iteration. But unless you fall into that niche, it's likely worth grabbing the games on other consoles so that you can get the full experience.
  4. Jan 9, 2013
    90
    Despite the rare occurrence of frame rate drops, and the stunted online play, Mass Effect 3: Special Edition is a love letter to video game and science fiction enthusiasts everywhere, as it does all it can to please the fans and engage newcomers to its immense and beautiful universe.
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    87
    Despite the missing Omega DLC and the frugal use of the gamepad features Mass Effect 3 conquers the Wii U with its well-known qualities as the war for survival wages on.
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    This special edition comes with all the free multiplayer DLC, as well as the extended cut of the ending and bonus mission From Ashes. It's a pretty good package overall, and the Genesis motion comic fills in the story of the two preceding games. The inhumanly long loading screens of the Wii U version do put a damper on the experience, and Genesis skips plenty of important decisions from previous games that makes the story feel a little incomplete. But for newbies to the Mass Effect universe this is a damned good purchase.
  7. 60
    From the boring story, to the shallow single-player gameplay, to the dull characters, Mass Effect 3: Special Edition didn’t do anything for me to live up to its Wii U subtitle.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    It's absurd that this has a 5.8. It's better on wiiu than both the mainstream consoles. It's smoother in both graphics and controls.It's absurd that this has a 5.8. It's better on wiiu than both the mainstream consoles. It's smoother in both graphics and controls. Everything else is the same, and since it scores so well on other consoles I smell industry buy-off corruption *******. Get this damn game! Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Runs so much faster than the other two. Loads more fun and only on one disc. Graphics are much smoother and framerates only lag sometimes.Runs so much faster than the other two. Loads more fun and only on one disc. Graphics are much smoother and framerates only lag sometimes. This game shows you what the wii u is capable of and I cant wait to see what it brings us! Collapse
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    a fantastic game. with the new extended cut mass effect 3 ends the trilogy in a great way. its epic, exciting, dramatic, its equally as gooda fantastic game. with the new extended cut mass effect 3 ends the trilogy in a great way. its epic, exciting, dramatic, its equally as good as mass effect 2. the only negatives are the journal system sucks now...but the gamepaly, characters, graphics, everything is top notch. the best game of 2012 and one of the best games ever overall Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    I am thoroughly impressed with this game, a complete shame the wii u aren't coming out with more titles like this. The game pad functionalityI am thoroughly impressed with this game, a complete shame the wii u aren't coming out with more titles like this. The game pad functionality I found awesome, especially moving your team around and using special attacks, the graphics are a spectacle just look up with your camera in amazement. Much better for me on the wii u rather than 360. I personally though after three games the ending was slightly disappointing. Having said that it is my favourite sci fi series at the moment and im soooooo happy I have a copy for the wii u. Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    I played this game back when it first came out on Xbox 360. It's one of my favorite games of all time, and also one of the few games I've everI played this game back when it first came out on Xbox 360. It's one of my favorite games of all time, and also one of the few games I've ever given a perfect 10/10. This port is the exact game game with the previously released DLC already installed on the disc. It's got the same fantastic campaign and awesome multiplayer, but there are a few key issues that keep this Wii U port from being the "Special Edition" that the title would have you believe. Most issues are little and due to the fact that EA and Bioware aren't giving this port the backing they are giving the PS3 and 36o versions. This means no DLC or patch support, the latter of which causes this port to have many bugs and glitches, mostly in the multiplayer portion of this game. But by far the biggest issue that keeps me from recommending the Wii U version over other ports is that Mass Effect 1 and 2 aren't available on the Wii U. This strips this version of one of the biggest and best part of ME 3; the ability to import you decisions from previous game to influence how the game plays out. They tried to make up for this by giving this version a digital comic that covers over the previous two games stories and lets you make some of the bigger story decisions. The problem with this is that the comic gives you no sort of context as to why they are important or how they will effect the game. Also you're not building relationships with the fantastic characters Bioware has crafted over these 3 games, so a lot of ME 3's more emotional moments are lost on the player. So as you can see you're better off buying ME 3 for a system with access to the entire trilogy to feel the full effect ME 3 can offer, especially since you can probably get the entire trilogy for the same price or cheaper than this Wii U port. However if the Wii U is the only video game system you own, then this is still a must play regardless of its faults. The campaign still has one of the best stories in video game history, sci-fi or otherwise. It's also packed with intense firefights, tough decisions, and fantastic characters. It will keep you busy for many hours, and the multiple endings will keep you coming back. The multiplayer is also fantastic, combining co-operative gameplay, with multiple character classes and races, as well as many difficulties. So if you have the option I do recommend picking up ME 3 on another system wit the entire trilogy, but like I said before if the Wii U is your only video game system then this is still a game you need to play. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2015
    8
    (I've already done a review of Mass Effect 3, This review will be based on just the content of the game for the Wii U)

    Despite The weak
    (I've already done a review of Mass Effect 3, This review will be based on just the content of the game for the Wii U)

    Despite The weak story for mass effect 3, mass effect 3 for the Wii U was a huge surprise for me. I've never thought this game would be available for the Wii U, This "Special edition of the game provides the users a few dlc packs also including the interactive comic to "Make your own import files" and to also keep you up to date for the previous games. Not to mention the Wii U runs at 720p at 60fps which is better than the xbox 360 and the ps3 versions.

    The problem I have though is that Mass Effect 3's other dlc is not available for the Wii U. So Citadel Dlc isn't available for the game which is a huge let down, So what you see is what you get. But otherwise this game is worth getting for the wii u which is also includes interesting new adaptations with the gamepad touch screen.

    But it would be cool to see the other 2 games to be on the Wii U in the future.
    Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    Nope, even with all of the dlc and patches, this game still sucks. There isn't much to say that hasn't been said already, the gameplay isNope, even with all of the dlc and patches, this game still sucks. There isn't much to say that hasn't been said already, the gameplay is gears of war lite with broken controls, the story in this particular chapter is atrociously written, the new squadmates suck and the ending still sucks. Not to be rude, but anyone who rates this highly clearly hasn't had much experience with good RPG's, or good shooters for that matter, because this game sucks on both fronts, it has poor narrative, and the gameplay sucks so hard that it could suck a golf ball through a garden hose. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.