Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition Wii U

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 63
  2. Negative: 6 out of 63

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition is a very good 2D-platform game. The goal is clearly outlined and is the same for every level. The melodies in each level are very catchy and don't ever get irritating. And the puzzles which involve causing blocks to disappear and reappear are quite innovative, despite their simplicity. Not a difficult game to grasp, it serves as a relatively goodMighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition is a very good 2D-platform game. The goal is clearly outlined and is the same for every level. The melodies in each level are very catchy and don't ever get irritating. And the puzzles which involve causing blocks to disappear and reappear are quite innovative, despite their simplicity. Not a difficult game to grasp, it serves as a relatively good game for beginners in puzzle games and 2D-platformers alike. However, with all it's shiny positives comes the truth that the game is, in fact, very short and, for most people I fancy, lacks sufficient replay-ability. I mean, it goes without saying that one can try and beat the par times in each level for a bit of added challenge, but it's just you doing the same motions again a bit quicker. Overall, Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition is not a must-buy. But it certainly has some intriguing details that could persuade you to enjoy it. Even if for only a short while. Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    7
    Switch Force is a puzzler-platformer first, and an action game second if at all. At first was disappointed as I expected a MegaMan-like game, but after accepting Might Switch Force for what it is, I began to enjoy it. It is fun and easy to pick up and play. You can beat each level in about a minute (if you're extremely good), but they will take longer on your first play through.

    For
    Switch Force is a puzzler-platformer first, and an action game second if at all. At first was disappointed as I expected a MegaMan-like game, but after accepting Might Switch Force for what it is, I began to enjoy it. It is fun and easy to pick up and play. You can beat each level in about a minute (if you're extremely good), but they will take longer on your first play through.

    For the price, and the ability to play the game during a free minute, it's a safe purchase for side-scrolling fans.
    Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    Let me say this. I could have easily given the game a 9 or 10. It's a Puzzle type mega man game with no bosses. Most of the solutions are very intuitive, but there's a lot about the game to be griped about

    The boxes that eject you are poorly designed. It's basically finding a rhythm and has little to do with skill. The ones that shoot up that protect you from spikes are not about
    Let me say this. I could have easily given the game a 9 or 10. It's a Puzzle type mega man game with no bosses. Most of the solutions are very intuitive, but there's a lot about the game to be griped about

    The boxes that eject you are poorly designed. It's basically finding a rhythm and has little to do with skill. The ones that shoot up that protect you from spikes are not about skill and about spamming A or ZR until it shoots you so you don't risk dying. Very poor design

    It's unforgiving. When you switch boxes from visible to invisible(Think Gianna sisters coins), there's little room for error. If you even have a few pixels in the area as the box becomes visible during a switch, you die. This leads to cheesy tactics like jumping to bump against boxes and switching at the very last tactic. It's not fun nor well designed.

    Otherwise, it's a great game. It is incredibly short though. You can easily beat this game in 2 hours. The devs could've made this game a 9 with a few small changes.
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    Picked this up when it was on sale on the e shop for 5.99 and for that price i would say its definitely worth it, how ever i beat the game in about a night and it is very very short, would not have paid 15 dollars for it( at time of writing this i do not know what the price is at in the eshop now), i understand that the point of the game is to speed run and beat your previous times whichPicked this up when it was on sale on the e shop for 5.99 and for that price i would say its definitely worth it, how ever i beat the game in about a night and it is very very short, would not have paid 15 dollars for it( at time of writing this i do not know what the price is at in the eshop now), i understand that the point of the game is to speed run and beat your previous times which gives it the added replay value because its a constant race to try to best yourself but had i spent 15 dollars on this game i feel i would have deeply regretted the purchase, another plus is that it is very reminiscent of nes platformers which i am very fond of. overall i would say dont pick it up for full price but if its anywhere from 5-8 dollars id say give it a go because it is a really fun game Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    0
    In this celebrated WayForward gem, you play as a cartoonish female futuristic cop, taking on levels of varying sizes to re-capture escaped female inmates. That's pretty much all the plot in the game, but the good news is that it doesn't really need a detailed story. The focus here is 100% on the gameplay, which is delivered in spades.

    The heroine's limited moveset (jumping, shooting,
    In this celebrated WayForward gem, you play as a cartoonish female futuristic cop, taking on levels of varying sizes to re-capture escaped female inmates. That's pretty much all the plot in the game, but the good news is that it doesn't really need a detailed story. The focus here is 100% on the gameplay, which is delivered in spades.

    The heroine's limited moveset (jumping, shooting, and switching blocks) are put to work in increasingly neat ways. The level design is absolutely spotless, and will keep you on your toes the whole time. The stages are short and frantic affairs, and usually very easy to complete. The real challenge lies in matching the time limit for each stage, a task which gets tougher and tougher (and more and more satisfying) as the game goes on.

    In fact, the platforming ideas on show here are so good that I can't help but wonder what could be made of a longer, more in-depth version of the game. Why not add extra worlds, more varied backgrounds and stage moods, and (especially) epic boss battles?

    Be that as it may, if you're on the market for an addictive little affair that can grab your attention for shorter bursts of play, look no further. This is definitely worth a download, and the current American price tag of $7 is more than generous for what you get.
    Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    80
    Mighty Switch Force was a great game on the 3DS, but it exceeds itself on the Wii U. The gameplay is excellent and the new style looks absolutely fantastic. The hyper stages are a great addition to the game.
  2. May 13, 2013
    85
    Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition is a very good puzzle platformer with blocks, that can be switched on and off. More levels (not just difficult remixes) would be nice. [May 2013]
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition closes the biggest flaw that plagued the original title -which is the low longevity- offering a number of stages rightly related to the cost of the download.