Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition Wii U

Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition has players enter the mechanical shape-shifting, dimension switching world and blow crime away.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    91
    WayForward may not fix every small detail with Mighty Switch Force: Hyper Drive Edition, but the developer delivers an enhanced version of a great game. All the new content - HD visuals and remixed stages - elevates the title even more, making it a beautifully designed and challenging action-puzzle-platform experience.
  2. 90
    So if you've never played MSF, this is definitely the way to do so. For people who've already bought the game on 3DS, it's a judgment call. I certainly don't have buyer's remorse thanks to the new content, but you will basically have to play through that of the 3DS game again to get to it. But with those pretty new graphics, who's complaining?
  3. May 13, 2013
    85
    Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition is a very good puzzle platformer with blocks, that can be switched on and off. More levels (not just difficult remixes) would be nice. [May 2013]
  4. Dec 9, 2012
    80
    As good as the 3DS version, extremely well adapted to the HD and still addictive and fun. Recommended for those who like arcade and retro-styled games.
  5. Jan 16, 2013
    80
    The Wii U version has the same origins of the portable version for 3DS, but provides a second wave of levels and more content.
  6. Jan 9, 2013
    80
    Mighty Switch Force Hyper Drive Edition is a great HD version of an awesome game for 3DS. The new HD graphics looks sharp and shiny and the original gameplay is still on top. The few extras are enough to entertain even players who finished the 3DS version.
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    60
    Once you solve the core puzzles - you shunt blocks to reach criminals - replaying the solutions becomes a chore. [Feb 2013, p.89]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    It's cute. It's fun. It's inexpensive. You can't go wrong. That's all I have to say about it, but I need to keep typing stuff in order toIt's cute. It's fun. It's inexpensive. You can't go wrong. That's all I have to say about it, but I need to keep typing stuff in order to post this. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    I'm a sucker for WayForward games, so when I saw this on the 3DS eShop, I knew I had to get it. But, I realized that it was also available onI'm a sucker for WayForward games, so when I saw this on the 3DS eShop, I knew I had to get it. But, I realized that it was also available on Wii U, so I held off on it so that I can get it on Wii U whenever I got one. Well, when I finally did, it didn't let me down. It's a great puzzle platformer and easily one of the best Wii U eShop titles available right now. The HD graphics look so kawaii, and the bonus challenge stages add more replay value. If you already have the game on 3DS, it's up to you if you want the HD version. For some, don't bother. But if you want an extra challenge, then go ahead. 9/10 Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2015
    9
    Some might make the claim that Might Switch Force: Hyper Drive Edition is lacking in content. I have come to fully disagree with thisSome might make the claim that Might Switch Force: Hyper Drive Edition is lacking in content. I have come to fully disagree with this assessment. At first glance, the game appears minimal. I played through, what I thought, was half of the entire game in just a few hours. A couple hours later and I beat the main story to find that there were extra levels waiting for me to complete. I thought what a nice bonus it was and beat those more challenging levels a few hours later once more. Now, I have unlocked "hyper" levels. The addition of these levels have effectively multiplied the amount of levels I had previously had by two.

    As one plays through this astounding game with its beautiful graphics, unique and challenging gameplay he or she will constantly be stumbling on levels to complete. If you are like me, then you just can't put the controller down! The levels are not too long, but are also not so short that they are easy. They provide just the right balance of length and challenge to make you want to play more without overwhelming you or underwhelming you.

    Another feature that will keep players coming back for more is trying to complete a "par" on each level. To do this, one must finish the course in a designated amount of time. The game is so challenging that I have yet to be able to do this on a single level. I am curious to know what happens when I do and I will certainly keep trying.

    The only drawbacks in the game that I have noticed are that the enemies become bland and most do not provide any sort of challenge. The real challenge in the game is the platforming, but the badies that the main character, Patricia Wagon, has to face seem to be shoehorned into the experience. I would have like ed to see a larger variety of enemies and a greater threat level from them.

    Overall, I feel I made the right purchase in choosing Might Switch Force: Hyper Drive Edition and I will certainly be picking up its sequel Mighty Switch Force 2. Great gameplay mechanics, original design, keeps me coming back for more and provides a much needed challenge among the slew of less challenging games that hit store shelves in this day and age. Well done Wayforward, I will have to check out some more of their games in the future.
    Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Cheap, it has gorgeous visuals and the strong gameplay may keep you busy for a while. However, there aren't many reasons to replay the gameCheap, it has gorgeous visuals and the strong gameplay may keep you busy for a while. However, there aren't many reasons to replay the game and also it's too short, if you try to complete it without breaking records, you should finish it in five hours or less. It's very cool, though, specially for those who love the platform games. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    In this celebrated WayForward gem, you play as a cartoonish female futuristic cop, taking on levels of varying sizes to re-capture escapedIn this celebrated WayForward gem, you play as a cartoonish female futuristic cop, taking on levels of varying sizes to re-capture escaped female inmates. That's pretty much all the plot in the game, but the good news is that it doesn't really need a detailed story. The focus here is 100% on the gameplay, which is delivered in spades.

    The heroine's limited moveset (jumping, shooting, and switching blocks) are put to work in increasingly neat ways. The level design is absolutely spotless, and will keep you on your toes the whole time. The stages are short and frantic affairs, and usually very easy to complete. The real challenge lies in matching the time limit for each stage, a task which gets tougher and tougher (and more and more satisfying) as the game goes on.

    In fact, the platforming ideas on show here are so good that I can't help but wonder what could be made of a longer, more in-depth version of the game. Why not add extra worlds, more varied backgrounds and stage moods, and (especially) epic boss battles?

    Be that as it may, if you're on the market for an addictive little affair that can grab your attention for shorter bursts of play, look no further. This is definitely worth a download, and the current American price tag of $7 is more than generous for what you get.
    Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition is a very good 2D-platform game. The goal is clearly outlined and is the same for every level. TheMighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition is a very good 2D-platform game. The goal is clearly outlined and is the same for every level. The melodies in each level are very catchy and don't ever get irritating. And the puzzles which involve causing blocks to disappear and reappear are quite innovative, despite their simplicity. Not a difficult game to grasp, it serves as a relatively good game for beginners in puzzle games and 2D-platformers alike. However, with all it's shiny positives comes the truth that the game is, in fact, very short and, for most people I fancy, lacks sufficient replay-ability. I mean, it goes without saying that one can try and beat the par times in each level for a bit of added challenge, but it's just you doing the same motions again a bit quicker. Overall, Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition is not a must-buy. But it certainly has some intriguing details that could persuade you to enjoy it. Even if for only a short while. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    we have to ask one question: was this game the money we paid. I would pay $1000 for FF6. I would pay $1 for this and you would still owe mewe have to ask one question: was this game the money we paid. I would pay $1000 for FF6. I would pay $1 for this and you would still owe me This game should cosr 1.99. Not to mention they put this out on a pathetic Nintendo console. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews