• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 19, 2013
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Mar 18, 2013
    70
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is the definitive version of the Monster Hunter 3 collection, blending together elements from more recent instalments into a cross-platform package.
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    70
    While it will certainly satisfy fans of the series, Monster Hunter 3: Ultimate certainly isn't for everyone. The cycle of gathering resources and completing quests can become a little stale and monotonous. Thankfully, a robust multiplayer mode makes the overall experience more rewarding and fun to play.
  3. 70
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate offers the loot party of loot parties, but in the end, it somewhat lacks in variation.
  4. Mar 18, 2013
    70
    Featuring over 300 quests in total and a plethora of things to collect, monsters to defeat, and lands to explore, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is a meaty title worth sinking your teeth into. Its high learning curve may dissuade some players inexperienced with the series, but with enough patience and resourcefulness, you’ll be able to get through any problem and feel proud that you accomplished it. If you’re looking for a great reason to bring out your Wii U and play and online RPG with friends, look no further.
  5. May 27, 2013
    70
    It’s a game for the fans and genre veterans, who will find hours worth of fun in this title with which to consume their lives. Everyone else though, might be happier getting their RPG kicks from a different source.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    70
    Massive and difficult, but rewarding for those who endure to master it. It's a bit more streamlined than its predecessors, but apart from that not much has changed. A bit too repetitive for its own good.
  7. Mar 29, 2013
    70
    Monster Hunter takes for granted a lot of extracurricular effort on behalf of its players. How much extra research are you willing to do on a game’s systems before you expect to have fun with it? How many nonsensical, anachronistic hoops are you willing to jump through just for a slight taste of what this game will hopefully become in ten years’ time?
  8. Mar 17, 2013
    70
    It’s not much more than an HD update, but if you and your friends have the perseverance this is one of gaming’s most uniquely challenging co-op experiences.
  9. Mar 21, 2013
    70
    This a decent RPG on the Wii U, but it's also a little bit outdated. The graphics are ugly and the controls doesn't work so perfectly.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 55
  2. Negative: 6 out of 55
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. The first Monster Hunter game I ever played was Monster Hunter Tri for the Wii and I loved it so much that IThis game is simply fantastic. The first Monster Hunter game I ever played was Monster Hunter Tri for the Wii and I loved it so much that I invested around 100 hours offline and over 500 hours online. This game is almost identical to the Wii version except it has updated HD graphics, added maps and 70+ monsters. There are 12 different weapon types and every hunter has a weapon type that fits them best. And each and every monster has weapons and armors that can be forged from their materials that you carve from them in Hunt quests or Capture quests. The armor and weapon upgrade system is very addicting and you will find yourself crafting new armor sets and using different armor sets for a better advantage against certain monsters. This game is challenging and it has a huge learning curve, but once you get past that, Monster Hunter will be one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences you could ever have. It's easily the best multiplayer experience available on the WiiU or in the gaming industry in general.. It's so thrilling to go on long hunts with friends and it feels like such an accomplishment after you take down a monster that you've been battling for 30 minutes. The controls feel great and you can choose between the WiiU Gamepad, Classic Controller Pro, or the WiiU Pro Controller. Overall, I know that I will invest hundreds of hours into this great game. Even though this game isn't perfect, it still deserves a 10/10 in my opinion. For many people, this game is the sole reason for purchasing a WiiU. If you own a WiiU, buy it now. Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This game is loads of fun. I've already put more hours into it on the first day than it takes to complete certain games. Every weapon(ThereThis game is loads of fun. I've already put more hours into it on the first day than it takes to complete certain games. Every weapon(There are 12 weapon types) feels like a completely different game, and each is fun. To add each fight feels different, even if it is the same monster 6 times in a row. This game is the most fun thing I've ever played. Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    As my first foray into the series I was pleasantly surprised! It shares many similarities with action RPGs like Dark Souls or Fable. I findAs my first foray into the series I was pleasantly surprised! It shares many similarities with action RPGs like Dark Souls or Fable. I find the game to start off quite slowly, taking anywhere up too 5 hours to hook the player in; however, the game becomes quite fun from there on out. This game is a pack rats dream. There is so much to explore, collect, kill, combine, and just simply learn about the game. One downside, if you can call it that, is that there isn't much of a story much of it is presented in cutscenes of new locations or animals to hunt.

    This game isn't just the best Action RPG on the Wii U but it's a game that others without a Wii U will pine over.
    Full Review »