• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Traverse the grand world of Monster Hunter as you journey through more than two hundred quests, battle larger-than-larger-than-life monsters, and create a myriad of weapons and armor. Hunt with your pair of AI companions in single player quests or connect via the Wii U system with up to 3Traverse the grand world of Monster Hunter as you journey through more than two hundred quests, battle larger-than-larger-than-life monsters, and create a myriad of weapons and armor. Hunt with your pair of AI companions in single player quests or connect via the Wii U system with up to 3 friends in 4-player online engagements. Graphically rich 1080p HD visuals and online voice chat capabilities promise to make this the best Monster Hunter to date. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    100
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate for the Wii U is an excellent introduction to the series, easing you into its systems and ensuring that you are well-equipped for the challenges to come.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    Even if you played the original Tri on your Wii, it's worth hunting again in this beautiful and immense world that Capcom has created.
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    88
    A game with considerable bite and a hulking frame that dwarfs the competition. [May 2013, p.64]
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    83
    In terms of content this is definitely the ultimate Monster Hunter experience. The visuals can’t hide their age, though. The world still is harmonious and confronts you with truly impressive enemies, but a lot of animations and effects date back to the PS2 era. That doesn’t take away anything from the still motivating hunting and gathering that is easier to control than ever before.
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    80
    This is truly not a game for everyone. But if you got the patience and commitment that’s required of you to get past the first seven hours of Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, this will be an insanely addictive and rewarding game, especially if you go on hunts with friends. It still has a lot of flaws, but the core gameplay is awesome enough to compensate for these.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    It's easily the best Monster Hunter game so far, and while it would be nice to see a console sequel with more up-to-date visuals and all-new locations, Ultimate is an great entry into the Wii U catalog.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    70
    It’s not much more than an HD update, but if you and your friends have the perseverance this is one of gaming’s most uniquely challenging co-op experiences.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 52
  2. Negative: 6 out of 52
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. The first Monster Hunter game I ever played was Monster Hunter Tri for the Wii and I loved it so much that IThis game is simply fantastic. The first Monster Hunter game I ever played was Monster Hunter Tri for the Wii and I loved it so much that I invested around 100 hours offline and over 500 hours online. This game is almost identical to the Wii version except it has updated HD graphics, added maps and 70+ monsters. There are 12 different weapon types and every hunter has a weapon type that fits them best. And each and every monster has weapons and armors that can be forged from their materials that you carve from them in Hunt quests or Capture quests. The armor and weapon upgrade system is very addicting and you will find yourself crafting new armor sets and using different armor sets for a better advantage against certain monsters. This game is challenging and it has a huge learning curve, but once you get past that, Monster Hunter will be one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences you could ever have. It's easily the best multiplayer experience available on the WiiU or in the gaming industry in general.. It's so thrilling to go on long hunts with friends and it feels like such an accomplishment after you take down a monster that you've been battling for 30 minutes. The controls feel great and you can choose between the WiiU Gamepad, Classic Controller Pro, or the WiiU Pro Controller. Overall, I know that I will invest hundreds of hours into this great game. Even though this game isn't perfect, it still deserves a 10/10 in my opinion. For many people, this game is the sole reason for purchasing a WiiU. If you own a WiiU, buy it now. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    This game is great for new and old players of this triology, when I first started playing this game I fell in love with weapons, the armorsThis game is great for new and old players of this triology, when I first started playing this game I fell in love with weapons, the armors and the skill combinations. This game is perfect to play with some friends and even to meet new hunters. The feeling of success and the power when you get the armor that you wanted is
    AWESOME, from hunting an Arzuros or defeating a Miralis there it will be always fun when hunting with friends.
    Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome, can't believe it has gotten negative ratings. Lots of people are about this game because it's graphics are a bitThis game is awesome, can't believe it has gotten negative ratings. Lots of people are about this game because it's graphics are a bit outdated. Those people obviously haven't played the game that much, this is an HD remake of a Wii game from 2009, with lots of new stuff added (to an already large game). If you own a Wii U, buy this! if you ain't got a Wii U, what's wrong with you? Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    Never played a Monster Hunter game until this one and I'm loving it. The combat is challenging and exciting. I love the idea of each weaponNever played a Monster Hunter game until this one and I'm loving it. The combat is challenging and exciting. I love the idea of each weapon having its own play style and timing to master. Each big monster battle is engaging and rewarding when you finally kill/trap it. If you don't like micromanaging your gear or inventory then this game will probably annoy you sometimes, but the game play itself would keep you coming back for more if you enjoy a challenge. My only gripe is that I feel like the Wii U game pad integration could have been done better. I'm not finding it enhancing the game play as much as I'd expect. Looking down at the screen to select consumables or other info you have displayed mid fight is a risky move since timing is very important in this game. Otherwise, this is a highly addictive game that may look repetitive from the outside, but once you start playing you'll see that the fun is in the details. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    The only negativ think is the graphic. It is the same Graphic than the 3DS version, but in HD. But the Game is great! You pay the normal priceThe only negativ think is the graphic. It is the same Graphic than the 3DS version, but in HD. But the Game is great! You pay the normal price for a game that you will play over a year! It makes addicted, bit it´s great. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    There is an insane amount of depth in this game. You could literally spend hundreds if not thousands of hours in it. Its too bad that it turnsThere is an insane amount of depth in this game. You could literally spend hundreds if not thousands of hours in it. Its too bad that it turns so many away with such a steep learning curve and frustrating controls. Its a hard game to play casually. You have to really commit to it. I'm glad I bought it, I just wish I had the time to devote to the massive world that exists within. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2014
    0
    They should call this Control Hunter or Camera Fighter cause thats what youll be doing most of the time. Theyre both terrible and at timesThey should call this Control Hunter or Camera Fighter cause thats what youll be doing most of the time. Theyre both terrible and at times makes it unplayable Hunting gets tedious and frustrating fast when the game decides to handicap the player to ridiculous extent. This game should have a giant red label warning that players are likely to break something in their anger. Most likely their controller. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews