• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Traverse the grand world of Monster Hunter as you journey through more than two hundred quests, battle larger-than-larger-than-life monsters, and create a myriad of weapons and armor. Hunt with your pair of AI companions in single player quests or connect via the Wii U system with up to 3Traverse the grand world of Monster Hunter as you journey through more than two hundred quests, battle larger-than-larger-than-life monsters, and create a myriad of weapons and armor. Hunt with your pair of AI companions in single player quests or connect via the Wii U system with up to 3 friends in 4-player online engagements. Graphically rich 1080p HD visuals and online voice chat capabilities promise to make this the best Monster Hunter to date. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    100
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate for the Wii U is an excellent introduction to the series, easing you into its systems and ensuring that you are well-equipped for the challenges to come.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    Even if you played the original Tri on your Wii, it's worth hunting again in this beautiful and immense world that Capcom has created.
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    88
    A game with considerable bite and a hulking frame that dwarfs the competition. [May 2013, p.64]
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    83
    In terms of content this is definitely the ultimate Monster Hunter experience. The visuals can’t hide their age, though. The world still is harmonious and confronts you with truly impressive enemies, but a lot of animations and effects date back to the PS2 era. That doesn’t take away anything from the still motivating hunting and gathering that is easier to control than ever before.
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    80
    This is truly not a game for everyone. But if you got the patience and commitment that’s required of you to get past the first seven hours of Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, this will be an insanely addictive and rewarding game, especially if you go on hunts with friends. It still has a lot of flaws, but the core gameplay is awesome enough to compensate for these.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    It's easily the best Monster Hunter game so far, and while it would be nice to see a console sequel with more up-to-date visuals and all-new locations, Ultimate is an great entry into the Wii U catalog.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    70
    It’s not much more than an HD update, but if you and your friends have the perseverance this is one of gaming’s most uniquely challenging co-op experiences.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 55
  2. Negative: 6 out of 55
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. The first Monster Hunter game I ever played was Monster Hunter Tri for the Wii and I loved it so much that IThis game is simply fantastic. The first Monster Hunter game I ever played was Monster Hunter Tri for the Wii and I loved it so much that I invested around 100 hours offline and over 500 hours online. This game is almost identical to the Wii version except it has updated HD graphics, added maps and 70+ monsters. There are 12 different weapon types and every hunter has a weapon type that fits them best. And each and every monster has weapons and armors that can be forged from their materials that you carve from them in Hunt quests or Capture quests. The armor and weapon upgrade system is very addicting and you will find yourself crafting new armor sets and using different armor sets for a better advantage against certain monsters. This game is challenging and it has a huge learning curve, but once you get past that, Monster Hunter will be one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences you could ever have. It's easily the best multiplayer experience available on the WiiU or in the gaming industry in general.. It's so thrilling to go on long hunts with friends and it feels like such an accomplishment after you take down a monster that you've been battling for 30 minutes. The controls feel great and you can choose between the WiiU Gamepad, Classic Controller Pro, or the WiiU Pro Controller. Overall, I know that I will invest hundreds of hours into this great game. Even though this game isn't perfect, it still deserves a 10/10 in my opinion. For many people, this game is the sole reason for purchasing a WiiU. If you own a WiiU, buy it now. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    This game is great for new and old players of this triology, when I first started playing this game I fell in love with weapons, the armorsThis game is great for new and old players of this triology, when I first started playing this game I fell in love with weapons, the armors and the skill combinations. This game is perfect to play with some friends and even to meet new hunters. The feeling of success and the power when you get the armor that you wanted is
    AWESOME, from hunting an Arzuros or defeating a Miralis there it will be always fun when hunting with friends.
    Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This is a great addition to Tri. If you didn't play Tri this will be amazing,if you did this is great, but be ready to plow through the firstThis is a great addition to Tri. If you didn't play Tri this will be amazing,if you did this is great, but be ready to plow through the first few monsters you face. I did because they give you 50 bonus defense (which is dumb in my opinion) and I am also more skilled at MH from Tri. If you loved Tri get this, of you haven't played Tri or any MH for that matter, GET THIS. Don't listen to the 0 written review, he just hates Nintendo because they have Monster Hunter. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    Never played a Monster Hunter game until this one and I'm loving it. The combat is challenging and exciting. I love the idea of each weaponNever played a Monster Hunter game until this one and I'm loving it. The combat is challenging and exciting. I love the idea of each weapon having its own play style and timing to master. Each big monster battle is engaging and rewarding when you finally kill/trap it. If you don't like micromanaging your gear or inventory then this game will probably annoy you sometimes, but the game play itself would keep you coming back for more if you enjoy a challenge. My only gripe is that I feel like the Wii U game pad integration could have been done better. I'm not finding it enhancing the game play as much as I'd expect. Looking down at the screen to select consumables or other info you have displayed mid fight is a risky move since timing is very important in this game. Otherwise, this is a highly addictive game that may look repetitive from the outside, but once you start playing you'll see that the fun is in the details. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    The only negativ think is the graphic. It is the same Graphic than the 3DS version, but in HD. But the Game is great! You pay the normal priceThe only negativ think is the graphic. It is the same Graphic than the 3DS version, but in HD. But the Game is great! You pay the normal price for a game that you will play over a year! It makes addicted, bit it´s great. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2015
    8
    This is essentially the exact same game as Monster Hunter Tri released on the Wii. I own both games now and I have to say the HD increase isThis is essentially the exact same game as Monster Hunter Tri released on the Wii. I own both games now and I have to say the HD increase is very minimal. The game is supposedly larger with more quests and creatures but the game is so huge its also a minimal improvement. The largest change to the game is in the options for displaying your quests, map and inventory. There are options for playing around with your HUD essentially. Essentially the changes to this game were just to adapt the same game from the Wii to the Wii U. Although technically better and bigger I am actually downsizing my score from the Wii version because the Wii U is more powerful and they did not make next generation changes that are important. Without question if you have both discs this one is the one to keep however it is still disappointing this is the same game repackaged just a little bit different. If you are new to monster hunter this is an awesome game if you are coming from the Wii and already own the game it would not hurt to save your money and pass on this. You already own the important stuff and the changes here are not drastic enough to warrant spending more money on something you already own. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2015
    0
    Clunky movement, clunky camera control, bad introduction. They should call this Control Hunter or Camera Fighter cause thats what youll beClunky movement, clunky camera control, bad introduction. They should call this Control Hunter or Camera Fighter cause thats what youll be doing most of the time. Theyre both terrible and at times makes it unplayable Hunting gets tedious and frustrating fast when the game decides to handicap the player to ridiculous extent. It's extremely disappointing to have such a great game completely ruined over and over again while playing because some programmer decided to phone in their job requirements. You'll constantly find yourself being beaten senseless by air and shadows as a monster clearly passes by you by several feet and yet you consistently take damage. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews