Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    80
    If not for the confusing fake 3D effect, Mutant Mudds Deluxe would be the definitive version of Renegade Kid’s 2D platformer, with the same tight gameplay, charming graphics, and chirpy soundtrack bolstered by more levels than ever before.
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    85
    Mutant Mudds has served its purpose as an unapologetic retro celebration, but at this point, I'm ready for Renegade Kid to build upon this foundation and pursue something truly original.
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    70
    Mutant Mudds Deluxe doesn't feel quite at home on larger screens, but it's still a very enjoyable game. Its crisp visuals and great soundtrack are as nice as ever, but it feels like a handheld experience at heart. The lack of 3D and layered scenery also means that it's sometimes difficult to tell what platforms and hazards are actually on your plane, which can lead to some unexpected deaths.
  4. 95
    The game isn’t weighed down by copious story or in-depth upgrade systems, it’s just a boy, his grandma, and a heaping helping of baddies; it is pure platforming bliss. The deluxe version of the game is equal parts delicate retooling and new content, making it perfect for old and new fans alike.
  5. Jun 13, 2013
    91
    For new players of Mutant Mudds, I would wholeheartedly recommend Deluxe. However, if you already have it for 3DS, you have to ask yourself if the addition of checkpoints and the extra ghost levels is worth buying the game again.
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    80
    All in all, Mutant Mudds is a charming, challenging, fun, well-crafted game, and we recommend it.
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    90
    While Deluxe could have brought more new content to the table, it preserves the core Mutant Mudds experience to perfection, and then some. If you haven’t played Mutant Mudds to death already, the new ghost levels offer up enough of a challenge to make it worthwhile, and newcomers should not miss this chance to introduce themselves to a modern classic.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    7
    I will say it this game is incredibly hard but because of the challenge every time I complete a level I feel a huge amount of accomplishment because of how many times I died. From a technical stand point though the graphics do seem to still be trying to take advantage of the 3D (on Wii U) and the enemies take a lot of hits to kill which I find to only be tedious and not to bring much of a challenge. Full Review »
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    I liked this game enough to finish everything in it. The level of difficulty felt good with the option of increasing it if I wanted to. For the price, I would say that it was worth it. However, I don't think I would ever replay it. Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2014
    9
    I know that when it comes to Mutant Mudds, it often tends to be quite the divisive little platformer. Many (retro-fans in particular) absolutely adore the game, while others can be a little less enthusiastic.

    Me? Well, having played it to death on my old 3DS (which I've since part-exchanged for my Wii U) and even the buttonless iOS/mobile version, I'm certainly with the former. Yep, I love Renegade Kid's über pretty plane-changing scroller... which I guess begs the question:

    —— WILL MUTANT MUDDS DELUXE EVER COME TO THE EUROPEAN eSHOP??? ——

    I've raised this very matter on several forums in recent months, and even posed the question directly to Jools Watsham over at Renegade, but have I ever had an answer? Nope! Nothing, nada, zip, zilch. Not even a cursory 'we're not quite sure yet!'

    Come on Jools, all I want is a difinitive YES (at some stage) or NO (definitely not). Either way, is that asking too much?

    For our North American cousins who ARE lucky enough to have access to this great game though — whether it be Wii U, 3DS, Vita or even mobile — I wholeheartedly recommend you jump right in and enjoy. For Mutant Mudds Deluxe really is straight out of the top 2D drawer :-)

    .
    Full Review »