• Publisher: Shin'en
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2012
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    Nano Assault Neo is their boldest, more beautiful shooter yet, and Wii U owners absolutely shouldn't miss out on its shiny twin-stick shooting.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Nano Assault Neo is my least favourite kind of game; the kind that follows in others' footsteps with little to call its own. It's not a bad game in the conventional sense - it's not tedious or broken - and it's even moderately amusing, but it's not especially refined and I'm not sure why it exists beyond trying to score a quick buck during a deserted launch window.
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    89
    Too-generous upgrades grind the difficulty curve into the dust. [Feb 2013, p.89]
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    70
    Nano Assault Neo is a competent twin analog shooter, both solid and fun, but it's also a little too much traditional gameplay-wise and you can beat it in a couple of hours. And that's not cool.
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    90
    It's a difficult game, spectacular and addictive, filled with personality. It's definitely one of the best titles on Wii U so far, so if you are interested in the genre, go ahead and buy it.
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    60
    One day you sense Shin'en will make a game that plays as good as it looks. Until then, this is a polished and attractive shooter that you'll likely have a reasonably entertaining few hours with before forgetting it ever existed within a month. An ideal launch game, then.
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Shin´en delivers a solid and frenetic shooter designed exclusively for Wii U owners. An interesting eShop title.
  8. Dec 10, 2012
    75
    Nano Assault Neo is the hardcore twin stick shooter that fans where expecting thanks to a carefully arranged gameplay and state of the art graphics. Sixteen levels are roughly enough to keep playing for a couple of hours, but chasing your friends high-scores is going to take longer. Shin'En's game is sold at a budget price of 9,99 Euros, making it a must buy for every fan of the genre.
  9. Dec 7, 2012
    55
    Nano Assault Neo is an uninteresting twin stick shooter with poor gameplay. Only an overwhelming visual style saves the game from garbage.
  10. Dec 27, 2012
    80
    Yes, this game is short. No, that doesn't matter. With different game modes, fantastic visuals, low price and great GamePad implantation this is definitely a game worth checking out.
  11. Dec 18, 2012
    70
    Thanks to its cheap price and overall quality, Nano Assault Neo is a good launch title that lets you try some of the Wii U GamePad's most important features. But it's way too short.
  12. Nov 25, 2012
    80
    Nano Assault Neo is a great game that is a little light on content, but it still packs enough of a punch to keep gamers occupied. There isn't a plot to be seen, but the focus here is definitely more on arcade-style high score seeking action, all while looking and sounding great. With highly addictive twin-stick shmup gameplay and difficulty levels that will have you trying over and over again, you'd be remiss to pass up on what could easily become an arcade classic.
  13. 85
    Still, Nano Assault Neo is fun, plays well, and looks great whether you are looking at the TV or playing solely on the GamePad's screen. The ease of getting in and out of a game means that any unsuccessful attempt at improving your scores will likely compel you to try again.
  14. Nano Assault isn't awful but flying around the beautiful Nano cosmos is nowhere near as thrilling as it should be. [Jan 2013, p.111]
  15. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    Neo Nano Assault is an interesting arcade shooter with an attractive gameplay and a good graphics.
  16. Dec 6, 2012
    64
    The classic concept motivates, but Shin'en stays safe. With more content, more diversity and only a few fresh ideas this could have been a download gem in the early life of Wii U.
  17. Nov 25, 2012
    94
    Nano Assault NEO is an excellent eShop title that would be a great addition to any growing Wii U game collection. And for $10, there's no reason to pass it up.
  18. Dec 19, 2012
    70
    For only £8.99, Nano Assault Neo is a gorgeous, challenging game worth checking out. Just don't go in expecting the next Geometry Wars, and you'll be pleasantly surprised and forgive its shortcomings.
  19. Jan 31, 2013
    70
    A decent "twin-stick" shooter for the Wii U that will keep you occupied for a couple of days.
  20. Dec 16, 2012
    70
    With only a few levels on offer, each lasting only a few minutes, it would be easy to conclude that Nano Assault Neo is a total rip-off. Deeper observation, however, reveals a quite addictive experience that will have fans of the genre coming back for more, trying to complete every single one of the downright insane challenges it throws their way, as well as attempting to climb atop the online leader-boards to become the best player in the world... or perhaps aiming for the more reasonable goal of becoming the best Nano Assault player among their friends.
  21. 70
    Nano Assault Neo is worth the asking price, so long as you don't have any other of the HD-consoles. Its twin-stick brethren on other platforms are just a tiny bit better. This kind of game needs to be immaculately balanced, precise to a fault and it needs to challenge you over and over again. Nano Assault seems to know its trade, but its not quite where the other big names of this genre are.
  22. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    Nan Assault Neo successfully blends the biological with the mechanical into a twin stick shooter that just feels right.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game, the developer keeps getting better and better with their games. The controles feel amazing and I love the buy upgrade system.Beautiful game, the developer keeps getting better and better with their games. The controles feel amazing and I love the buy upgrade system. If you have a wii u and you don't have this game, you need to go right to the nintendo store and buy it., it's really cheap! My only complaint is that it's a bit to hard, but that may just be me. Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Very nice game, lots of action and cool graphics. The control is extremely simple, you just need to use the L/R sticks, what for me is greatVery nice game, lots of action and cool graphics. The control is extremely simple, you just need to use the L/R sticks, what for me is great (I don't like having to memorize 10 buttons control schemes), and the difficulty level is adequate, I'd say 7 in a 0-10 scale. My only complaint is about its length, it could be longer. Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The only reason I didn't give this game a 10 was because of the length: there are only 16 levels total (not counting bonus levels). Perhaps IThe only reason I didn't give this game a 10 was because of the length: there are only 16 levels total (not counting bonus levels). Perhaps I am a little harsh as this game is designed to be more about achieve high score than anything.

    Other than that, this is a solid twin-stick shooter game and well-worth the $10 I paid. I was very impressed that the game is actually in LPCM 5.1 as well! Despite having very limited enemy types and an interesting art-style (you are essentially fighting on the cells of some organism, I assume a human), the graphics are amazing!
    Full Review »