• Publisher: Shin'en
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2012
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    90
    Nano Assault Neo is their boldest, more beautiful shooter yet, and Wii U owners absolutely shouldn't miss out on its shiny twin-stick shooting.
  2. Jan 16, 2013
    89
    Too-generous upgrades grind the difficulty curve into the dust. [Feb 2013, p.89]
  3. Dec 2, 2012
    90
    It's a difficult game, spectacular and addictive, filled with personality. It's definitely one of the best titles on Wii U so far, so if you are interested in the genre, go ahead and buy it.
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    94
    Nano Assault NEO is an excellent eShop title that would be a great addition to any growing Wii U game collection. And for $10, there's no reason to pass it up.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Beautiful game, the developer keeps getting better and better with their games. The controles feel amazing and I love the buy upgrade system. If you have a wii u and you don't have this game, you need to go right to the nintendo store and buy it., it's really cheap! My only complaint is that it's a bit to hard, but that may just be me. Full Review »
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The only reason I didn't give this game a 10 was because of the length: there are only 16 levels total (not counting bonus levels). Perhaps I am a little harsh as this game is designed to be more about achieve high score than anything.

    Other than that, this is a solid twin-stick shooter game and well-worth the $10 I paid. I was very impressed that the game is actually in LPCM 5.1 as well! Despite having very limited enemy types and an interesting art-style (you are essentially fighting on the cells of some organism, I assume a human), the graphics are amazing!
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    A nice little game. As short as it is, Nano Assault Neo has that element of replay-ability that many other games lack. The old-school 'try to beat the high score' type of gameplay is done nigh on perfect, easily giving gamers their money's worth in terms of play time. On the flip side, there are a couple of minor issues that keep it from attaining a perfect score. The first, of course, is the shortness of the main game. However, with the inclusion of Arcade, Co-op, and Survival modes, as well as leaderboards, this won't be an issue for those who love those sorts of games. The second issue is a bug which causes freezing of the console. But I have a feeling that this happens with a lot of third-party games that were available at launch. Apart from that, Nano Assault Neo boasts easy-to-learn controls, a modest learning curve, and an interesting look which resembles a mix of Metroid Prime, Super Mario Galaxy, and Space Invaders. A must-have for those who love grinding out personal bests, and those who treasure replay-ability over the amount of content. Full Review »