User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    This game is by far the best basketball game I have ever played on any game system. I was very impressed by all aspects of the game. Graphics, Controls, Variety, Music, classic players and teams, etc. It's hard to point out any "flaws" but I would call them "wishes" for the future. I would like to be able to unlock the regular, adult, explicit lyrics for the songs and I would love to see aThis game is by far the best basketball game I have ever played on any game system. I was very impressed by all aspects of the game. Graphics, Controls, Variety, Music, classic players and teams, etc. It's hard to point out any "flaws" but I would call them "wishes" for the future. I would like to be able to unlock the regular, adult, explicit lyrics for the songs and I would love to see a NCAA version of this game. Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    This game is an 8 something by itself on all three platforms. It's no different graphically on the Wii U. But being able to play it on the controller is awesome and gets it at least a nine in my book.
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    I own NBA 2k11 on the PS3, but I like this one a lot better. I love being able to play on the GamePad while my wife watches American idol and I love being able to call plays with the touch screen. I love it.
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    This is a great basketball game. The graphics are well done. Controls are perfect. Game options are top notch. So many teams to choose from including the Dream team vs Team USA 2012 which is a great idea many of us wanted. I did notice that the 2K servers were down a few times which was annoying but that seems to have been a temporary issue which I haven't seen again and hopefully it staysThis is a great basketball game. The graphics are well done. Controls are perfect. Game options are top notch. So many teams to choose from including the Dream team vs Team USA 2012 which is a great idea many of us wanted. I did notice that the 2K servers were down a few times which was annoying but that seems to have been a temporary issue which I haven't seen again and hopefully it stays that way. At the end of the day this is a great basketball game. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    I'm more a fan of the arcade style basketball games, but this game is very well done. There are some frustrations that exist that you just have to suck up, and the menu system is one of the worst I've ever seen, but fans of the sport will find much enjoyment in this game, and it is probably the best sports genre game you can get on the Wii U.
  6. Aug 21, 2014
    8
    Hi to all from Russia. I want to give this game 10 only that you can play on gamepad without TV, while you gf watch some shows. But game have hard 8 max. Because online servers are shutdown already, 2k stopped their a year ago. And with using some cameras in the game fps is going down often. But this is the first and i think last NBA simulator, and i play it every day on my Wii U with bigHi to all from Russia. I want to give this game 10 only that you can play on gamepad without TV, while you gf watch some shows. But game have hard 8 max. Because online servers are shutdown already, 2k stopped their a year ago. And with using some cameras in the game fps is going down often. But this is the first and i think last NBA simulator, and i play it every day on my Wii U with big pleasure. 2k - bad boys. No 2k14( i know that Wii U version have 40k sales, but it is on start. And i know that Wii U users like Nintendo games more and that's why they buy that console), but they can optimize 2k13 finely. They didn't. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    80
    The GamePad features are interesting but the iffy frame rate cancels them out. [Apr 2013, p.86]
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    This Wii U iteration does not bring anything particularly special to the table, but any fans of the sport that do dive in will be treated to a superbly impressive, and accurate, simulation of the popular pastime.
  3. A fantastically well put-together game hamstrung only by the inherent limitations of the sport itself. No other Wii U title offers such great value for money.