Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed: Most Wanted is an open world Racing game. The game is the 19th release in the long-running Need for Speed franchise, but hearkens back to the earliest games in the series as players compete in races with police unified against them. Races have a set beginning and end point, with the open world game design allowing players to complete each using whatever path they can find. Additional features include a unique blend of Simulation and Arcade gameplay, social play options through the Autolog 2 feature, exciting multiplayer support, and a large selection of performance vehicles. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 95
    It’s packed with content, and even in the later hours I was thrown into areas I had yet to discover. Whether you choose to explore, race, or compete with friends, there’s a home for you in Fairhaven.
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    A great conversion of one of the best driving games available today. It´s the finest console version too.
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    90
    Most Wanted U holds the status of the best entry and furthers the accessibility of the formula in meaningful ways.
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    88
    Need for Speed Most Wanted is an expertly tuned and turbocharged port that brings a superior experience to the Wii U. The game is just as good, even better than the other versions, the new Wii U features are fun and best of all it runs like a dream on Nintendo’s new console.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    85
    All in all, Need for Speed: Most Wanted U is the standout game on the Wii U for racing, and probably one of the better games available on the console right now. It does have some faults, but is still an excellent example of the Need for Speed universe.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    85
    This edition of the game has many of the components that made the title successful on the other systems, and more, but the behind-the-wheel experience puts it in second place.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Overall, it's not worth a double dip if you own the game on another system, but if you have a younger child and/or are really interested in jumping in, I do highly recommend the Wii U version.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 9 out of 29
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    The best racing game on the U thus far. The cars are realistic and the environment is detailed. The single player is very enjoyable but wait until you've played multiplayer. Playing online with various people from across the world is a blast! I enjoyed playing with others and beating their scores. The use of the gamepad is cool too. You can change the time of day or even your car with just a touch on the touch screen. Need for Speed: Most Wanted U is beautiful, fast-paced game and the ultimate version there is. Awesome job Criterion games. Must buy! Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted U is truly the definitive and most beautiful looking game on the Wii U. This is not a console port of the PlayStation 3 or Xbox 360... instead it's based on the PC version. The developers at Criterion Games have used PC assets and added better shading and lighting textures in the U version (GPGPU and taken full advantage of the revolutionary Game Pad. The asymmetric co-op is simply incredible. While you take the role of controlling the day/night, disrupting cops, changing cars on the fly, etc., while the driver uses either the Wii controller with/out the 'chuks, Wii Classic Controller Pro, or the Wii U Pro Controller. And finally, this is the first time we see a third party publisher releasing a game using Miiverse via Autoplay. Only you have the power to share your victory, car accident, or funniest moment by taking a screenshot and share it with the Miiverse community.

    In conclusion, Need for Speed: Most Wanted U is ultimately the best racing title available for the Wii U. At the moment, it's the only racing title this Spring. If you want the best looking graphics, excellent play control including asymmetric gameplay mechanics, replay value and the most fun... look no further but purchase the title from Electronic Arts and the best dev team at Criterion Games. 10/10
    Collapse
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    I had this for PS3 and Vita before I got a Wii U. The game looks noticeably better but the main thing going for this game or any Wii U game for that matter is playing it on the controller. It's on a different level then playing it on the Vita. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    Very fun open world racing game although I feel like there are some issues with progression. I am continually rising in the ranks and progressing but i'm not sure why. This is a game that gives you very little direction in the open world that it provides you with. This version has some of the DLC from the other versions and has the best graphics out of the bunch. With the gamepad functionality, it is easily the best version of the game both functionally and visually. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    This game is awesome! The races are fun, but just driving around the city is the best part of the game! There are cool cars on it, and to make it even better, you can customize them! I am not a fan of the online mode, because it isn't organized, and it takes way too long. And there is a voice chat in multiplayer, but it is very bad quality. I still love the singleplayer! Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    6
    Was skeptical about this version, but based on the reviews went ahead and forked over the overpriced $60 for this EA title. The 2 major positives I can give is its a gorgeous game. The art direction and HD graphics are some of the best I've seen on the Wii U. Game pad integration and off tv play is great Wii U added benefit.

    On to the negatives as much as the graphics are great, its the racing and gameplay that counts and this title misses the mark considerably. Judging it by 'arcade' standards vs. a sim, most of the cars drive like slightly modified bricks. Some are faster, some are looser, some take damage better, while others have better brakes, but all them are borderline uncontrollable or pointless to master. The steering is not progressive at all, you get as much steering at 60 mph not much as you do at 160mph too much that after hours of play, you just end up wanting to use the few vehicles that are the most predictable. Nissan GT-R, Camaro ZL1, and Aston Martin Vantage are the few with predictable at drifting needed to beat most of the most wanted list. The Arial and Caterham are blast to drive, but so weak that small bumps on the wall total the car every time. Forget running from the cops in these, they can't get through roadblocks. This mix of realism along with whack arcade physics is the games #1 downfall. It should be called 'most crashed'

    Driving around the streets and traffic is maddening, as its nearly impossible to carve out any racing lines without randomly hitting objects, oncoming traffic, and walls because of the really poor steering control. I don't feel like its a controller problem or could be fixed with a wheel, its just how the cars react to input and don't really feel connected at all. Its about as arcade as you can get, but not in a fun way, as the rubberband AI will never reward you with smooth driving, and during the races with cops, winning or losing its just random. Like missiles that randomly come in all directions and road blocks with no other choice other than to ram at full speed. You can forget any strategy here, it just becomes the slickest Mario Kart ever, without any weapons or recourse against your enemies. Never unlocking anything new or making meaningful progression. The lack of any car personalization or view are sorely missed. The open end world seems huge at first, but quickly gets repetitive with only a few unique objects. The gate and billboard smashing is uninspiring and too easy.

    Online play is a lot more fun, as the rubberband AI is gone so heads-up racing is fun, but do to the lack of good control, its really just about avoiding the walls or following the course guide correctly. I would of rather just paid $30-40 for the online version and forget the whole 'most wanted' story line that really is pointless.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    I don't understand how this game is receiving such positive reviews. The controls are garbage and THERE'S NOT LOCAL-MULTIPLAYER. IN A RACING GAME. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? Combine that with an interminable introduction/training sequence with un-skippable cutscenes and a bored "sexy" narrator reading lines that sound like they were written by a 15 year old and you have the WORST racing game I have every played in my life. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews