Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This second installment of the mashup of classic Nintendo games features challenges from later NES games like Super Mario Bros. 3, Kirby’s Adventure and Metroid. Just like NES Remix, the sequel includes stages from the original games with new challenges, as well as modified stages that introduce new elements. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    85
    With bite size nibbles of the most challenging or salient aspects of what made these games great, NES Remix 2 also delivers more iconic and well-recognized games from the library that made Nintendo famous.
  2. Apr 22, 2014
    81
    Simply stated, NES Remix 2 is a real sequel’s sequel, with stronger games, weirder remixes and better bonuses. Players who’d like an interactive history lesson and anyone with fondness for old-school Nintendo could do far worse than romancing these ROMs.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    80
    It revived my love for a number of classics, and showed me precisely how and why they worked so well. There's life and depth to these titles, and that shines particularly well when they're so artfully and cleverly jumbled together.
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    75
    Another fun and massive minigame collection for hardcore gamers. Maybe lacks in the innovation side, but still a very addictive experience.
  5. Jun 3, 2014
    70
    Narrowly surpasses its predecessor. [Issue#148, p.126]
  6. Apr 25, 2014
    70
    I enjoyed my time with NES Remix 2, but it’s ultimately a shallow experience.
  7. Apr 25, 2014
    50
    The thing that really crushes the game, though, is this: There are "convenient" links to the eShop to buy the full versions of the included games from within NES Remix 2 itself. Absolutely not, Nintendo. Absolutely not.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. May 27, 2014
    10
    This is everything, as advertised! The "remix" are a bunch of mini games (WarioWare style) set in classic Nintendo worlds, that are completed with an emphasis on speed. I'm having a blast going through old SMB3 levels and having a fresh take on Dr Mario, Kirby, etc. Really fun, and also really social with the Mii Universe posts and stamps and tie-ins. Really good job, Nintendo! This is a download I'm really glad I made. Collapse
  2. May 27, 2014
    0
    Imagine that you bought a game, but after you finished a level it would link you to older version of the game but the full version. Nintendo quality.