Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. 90
    If you can get behind the notion of old school difficulty and adore the WarioWare formula, NES Remix will hit all the right notes.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    90
    Simple, addictive, and incredibly replayable, NES Remix is one of the smartest games Nintendo has made in ages. No one in gaming (save perhaps Sega) owns as rich a back catalog as Nintendo, and this is a great way to rework all those musty black-box NES games into a form that feel palatable to a contemporary audience.
  3. Dec 19, 2013
    90
    It would be simple to write off NES Remix as something only die-hard retro gamers would enjoy, but developer indies zero is really on to something here — the 200+ challenges are short enough to be interesting and fun to replay, but not long enough to outstay their welcome.
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    85
    NES Remix is an instant classic easy to learn but challenging to finish. Great game with some of the best NES games. However, this kind of product needs leaderboards and some classic games like Super Mario Bros 3 or Kid Icarus.
  5. Feb 16, 2014
    83
    A brilliant reminder of Ninty's design genius, hampered by iffy game selection. [March 2014, p.83]
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    83
    NES Remix is defined more by the sum of its parts than its individual pieces, so have no hesitation in jumping headfirst into this excellent retro experience.
  7. Feb 11, 2014
    80
    NES Remix takes most of the NES' early library of first party games, and fractions them into small tasks that help to revisit the most satisfying moments of each, as well as "remixes" some into new types of gameplay involving all sorts of cool and surprising elements.
  8. Feb 6, 2014
    80
    NES Remix is a shameless appeal to nostalgia with a great premise and tons of fun, varied gameplay perfect for anyone who yearns for the 8-bit era.
  9. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    Nes Remix define a new way to enjoy retrogaming.
  10. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    NES Remix is a toast to the good old times. It succeeds in evoking memories of the NES classics, and it shows, in a certain way, how a collection of games can be a good substitute of some of the titles available on Virtual Console.
  11. Jan 12, 2014
    80
    One of the best downloadable games for the Wii U. It feels fresh regardless of its visuals, and even if not perfect it will still provide several hours of entertainment while summoning your childhood's memories. Go for it if you've grown up with your loyal NES close to you.
  12. Dec 31, 2013
    80
    NES Remix feels like Wario Ware without Wario. There's lot of fun with these simple games that keep the player waiting for the next surprise or the next remix. Now we want SNES Remix!
  13. Dec 23, 2013
    80
    Even with some bumps, it reinvigorated my interest in classic gaming and kept me glued to my gamepad. I felt like I was really learning mechanics the entire time I was playing — and those skills were put to the test in creative, devious ways.
  14. Dec 20, 2013
    80
    It’s a clever and challenging way to experience the classics without just retreading old ground.
  15. Dec 27, 2013
    79
    NES Remix is a joyful and smart collection. It has limited depth, but it's a perfect fit for some relaxed sofa-gaming sessions.
  16. Feb 10, 2014
    75
    If you are getting a Wario Ware 9-Volt games vibe, you are on the right track. If you like your old-school gaming challenging, and you don’t mind a few minor hiccups, NES Remix is worth a trip down memory lane.
  17. Jan 26, 2014
    75
    NES Remix is such a simple concept yet it works exceedingly well.
  18. Dec 28, 2013
    75
    It misses an extra push to become a great playable tribute, but still is a fun way of (re)discover these NES classics.
  19. Dec 27, 2013
    75
    NES Remix is a solid, fun but ultimately forgettable trip on the nostalgia road.
  20. Dec 23, 2013
    75
    A must-have minigame collection for hardcore gamers, especially the ones that enjoyed the glorious 8 bit NES era.
  21. Dec 19, 2013
    75
    Let me make this clear -- if you find yourself playing any of these games yearly, whether it's for nostalgia or because you think they're genuinely good games, you will love NES Remix.
  22. A brilliant idea, handled carelessly. Some of these oldies are far from golden, but with some fine-tuning, a sequel would be very welcome indeed.
  23. Feb 12, 2014
    70
    There's enough good will and thoughtful design to spur players through all 204 challenges therein. [Issue#144, p.108]
  24. Jan 29, 2014
    70
    NES Remix is a fun time waster that had me reliving the memories of my childhood once again.
  25. Jan 22, 2014
    70
    Despite the glaring exclusion of other NES favorites, the no-mercy difficulty, and some bland challenges, NES Remix will resonate positively with any NES fan who welcomes a taste of the past and the feeling of satisfaction you get from the mastery retro games require to win.
  26. Jan 17, 2014
    70
    As with many reconstituted products, NES Remix is immediately delicious, but inspires an obsession that it can't sustain for long.
  27. Jan 10, 2014
    70
    This will truly appeal to those who lived through the years during which these games were first served up to the masses, the hardy old-timers who would recognise a Power Glove with a knowing wink.
  28. Dec 19, 2013
    65
    NES Remix is a fun little distraction for a while, and brings back plenty of memories. Some of those memories are great, and others are along the lines of remembering how much Ice Climbers sucks. This isn’t a must-play highlight for the Wii U eShop, but it’s worth spending some time with if you grew up with an NES controller in your hand.
  29. Jan 8, 2014
    60
    What began as a celebration ends with nostalgia’s bubble being cruelly pricked.
  30. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    Cutting these venerable NES games into challenges helps to learn their gameplay mechanics and relive some memorable moments, while the Remixes refresh this experience through surprising presentation tweaks and principles twists. But NES Remix lacks inspiration and consistency to stand as a definitive tribute to this fundamental era.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    It's a really fun, simple game, that is worth your money if you enjoy retro games. It offers a nice challenge and is very cheap. It can get aIt's a really fun, simple game, that is worth your money if you enjoy retro games. It offers a nice challenge and is very cheap. It can get a little repetitive, but for the most part, it offers great variety in what it has. Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Similar to the WarioWare games (which I loved), this game presents fun, frantic microgames in some of the coolest 8-bit worlds. There's a goodSimilar to the WarioWare games (which I loved), this game presents fun, frantic microgames in some of the coolest 8-bit worlds. There's a good amount of challenge and diversity to be found here. Should keep you entertained for quite a while and well worth 15$!

    My complaints are just input support (ONLY Wiipad) and I just want more content. Hopefully, they release a ton of DLC for this game because it would be perfect for that.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Super fun and addictive. Flashbacks of some of the best games of all time. A history lesson in game design that everybody that plays videoSuper fun and addictive. Flashbacks of some of the best games of all time. A history lesson in game design that everybody that plays video games should take, and it's only $15. I can't think of any game at this price point I enjoyed so much besides Hotline Miami. Far too low of a metacritic rating. Full Review »