NES Remix Wii U

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    70
    There's enough good will and thoughtful design to spur players through all 204 challenges therein. [Issue#144, p.108]
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    70
    NES Remix is a fun time waster that had me reliving the memories of my childhood once again.
  3. A brilliant idea, handled carelessly. Some of these oldies are far from golden, but with some fine-tuning, a sequel would be very welcome indeed.
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    70
    Despite the glaring exclusion of other NES favorites, the no-mercy difficulty, and some bland challenges, NES Remix will resonate positively with any NES fan who welcomes a taste of the past and the feeling of satisfaction you get from the mastery retro games require to win.
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    70
    As with many reconstituted products, NES Remix is immediately delicious, but inspires an obsession that it can't sustain for long.
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    70
    This will truly appeal to those who lived through the years during which these games were first served up to the masses, the hardy old-timers who would recognise a Power Glove with a knowing wink.
  7. Jan 8, 2014
    60
    What began as a celebration ends with nostalgia’s bubble being cruelly pricked.
  8. Dec 30, 2013
    60
    Cutting these venerable NES games into challenges helps to learn their gameplay mechanics and relive some memorable moments, while the Remixes refresh this experience through surprising presentation tweaks and principles twists. But NES Remix lacks inspiration and consistency to stand as a definitive tribute to this fundamental era.
  9. Dec 20, 2013
    60
    At $15, NES Remix is a pricey piece of packaged nostalgia. For me, playing through these mini-challenges and unlocking new stages and new games was an enjoyable whirlwind tour of some of my fondest gaming memories. But then again, I've been on this vacation before.
  10. Dec 20, 2013
    60
    A great idea that fails to capitalise on the full extent of Nintendo’s 8-bit legacy, although whether that’s through greed or foolishness isn’t yet clear.
  11. Dec 19, 2013
    65
    NES Remix is a fun little distraction for a while, and brings back plenty of memories. Some of those memories are great, and others are along the lines of remembering how much Ice Climbers sucks. This isn’t a must-play highlight for the Wii U eShop, but it’s worth spending some time with if you grew up with an NES controller in your hand.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    It's a really fun, simple game, that is worth your money if you enjoy retro games. It offers a nice challenge and is very cheap. It can get aIt's a really fun, simple game, that is worth your money if you enjoy retro games. It offers a nice challenge and is very cheap. It can get a little repetitive, but for the most part, it offers great variety in what it has. Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Similar to the WarioWare games (which I loved), this game presents fun, frantic microgames in some of the coolest 8-bit worlds. There's a goodSimilar to the WarioWare games (which I loved), this game presents fun, frantic microgames in some of the coolest 8-bit worlds. There's a good amount of challenge and diversity to be found here. Should keep you entertained for quite a while and well worth 15$!

    My complaints are just input support (ONLY Wiipad) and I just want more content. Hopefully, they release a ton of DLC for this game because it would be perfect for that.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Super fun and addictive. Flashbacks of some of the best games of all time. A history lesson in game design that everybody that plays videoSuper fun and addictive. Flashbacks of some of the best games of all time. A history lesson in game design that everybody that plays video games should take, and it's only $15. I can't think of any game at this price point I enjoyed so much besides Hotline Miami. Far too low of a metacritic rating. Full Review »