Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    73
    Its smaller levels, restrictive time limit, and floaty physics work well as a challenge mode add-on to an already terrific game. But as fun as it often is, this still feels more like an addendum to NSMBU – a remix, rather than something new that stands on its own.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    Never have levels been this short, nor the emphasis on perfection so explicit, and these elements work in New Super Luigi U's favor.
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    86
    New Super Luigi U is the kind of game the Wii U needs. It’s familiar enough to bring in long-time Nintendo fans; it’s new enough to bring in the newcomers; and it’s challenging and rewarding enough to keep people playing.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Nintendo has always lagged behind when it comes to online offerings, so the quality of New Super Luigi U is reassuring. It may recycle tons of content from the main game, but more Mario platforming action is rarely a bad thing. As a fan of New Super Mario Bros. U, I enjoyed these new twists on the decades-old format.
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    60
    It's not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination: the level design is still a cut above so many of Nintendo's peers. But by the series' consistently high standards, it qualifies as a disappointment.
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    83
    If you rush to the goal for each level you’ll be done with this in a few hours, give or take a couple hours for your level of skill. But if you’re a big fan of Mario platformers, and have been looking for some amped up difficulty, New Super Luigi U certainly does the trick.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    For the price, and if you’re up to the challenge, you can’t go wrong with New Super Luigi U.
  8. Jul 29, 2013
    80
    New Super Mario Bros U crushed into a nugget of pure challenge, but at a cost. [Sept 2013, p.74]
  9. Jul 3, 2013
    70
    If you’re ready for the heightened difficulty of solo play in New Super Luigi U, then you’ll find it rewarding. Otherwise, it’s a taxing platformer that’s only made more rage-inducing in multiplayer.
  10. Jun 25, 2013
    75
    New Super Luigi U manages to show some clever ideas in terms of level design, but its quick run based structure and déjà-vu feeling makes it a good - but not astounding - content to play.
  11. Jun 25, 2013
    75
    A great addition for those who enjoyed the original version. It may be expensive if considered a mere DLC, but it holds many, many hours of fun.
  12. Jun 24, 2013
    60
    At its best, New Super Luigi U is an exhilarating test of skill, but on occasion it dangerously approximates a fan-made ROM hack, mistakenly believing that an increased enemy count equates to satisfying design. Some will undoubtedly find its challenge inviting, but others will rightly expect more ingenuity from Nintendo than this.
  13. Jun 27, 2013
    80
    New Super Luigi U is a fantastic package for the $19.99 price tag. There are a ton of new levels, and the unique mechanics create a whole new experience.
  14. Jul 28, 2013
    70
    Merely an expensive luxury. [Issue#137, p.119]
  15. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    It would have been nice to see more additions, perhaps a few new areas and some different bosses (all the boss fights are the same as in the parent title, which is disappointing), and an extra 50 seconds per level might not have hurt to have a dawdle for secret areas and star coins. Despite these caveats, it proves just how smart and ahead of the pack Nintendo are with level design and gameplay.
  16. Jun 21, 2013
    81
    Nintendo shows that they also can create good additional content. 82 completely new levels with a slightly improved difficulty and a smarter design. Highly recommended for skilled gamers and people that needed more platformer fun in their Wii U consoles.
  17. Jul 9, 2013
    80
    A rather expansive DLC pack, New Super Luigi U actually stands up well on its own. It offers up a healthy challenge and plenty of fun for those who enjoyed New Super Mario Bros. U and games past.
  18. Jun 24, 2013
    94
    If you’ve felt like some of the old-school magic has been missing from Super Mario games lately, let Luigi guide you through some of the most satisfying platform gaming ever designed.
  19. Jun 21, 2013
    85
    New Super Luigi U is an awesome DLC, a collection of 83 fragments of pure game design that is able to amaze, frustrate and, in the end, satisfy every gamer. It seems that every level is packed with content, but maybe it's just the forced fast pace that gamers have to embrace.
  20. Jun 30, 2013
    84
    The adventure may not have changed, but the challenge sure has.
  21. Jun 21, 2013
    80
    If you loved New Super Mario Bros. U., getting Luigi U is a no-brainer, as it features a collection of superior levels and an interesting re-work of Luigi as a character.
  22. Sep 16, 2013
    86
    If you have some resistance against frustration and want a short but intensive trip into the New Super Mario Bros. Universe, you should keep that addition in mind.
  23. Oct 5, 2013
    85
    Luigi's own adventure is probably one of the largest DLC packets on the market. The whole New Super Mario U has been remixed, the difficulty level has been tuned, and the slim main character is totally different from the plump plumber. This add-on is well worth the money. [Sept 2013]
  24. Jun 24, 2013
    85
    Despite a shorter adventure, the sense of challenge and the high density make this Add-On highly recommended.
  25. Jun 25, 2013
    85
    Luigi is absolutely the guy. This game is cheap and a must buy voor Wii U owners.
  26. 80
    New Super Luigi U makes for a package that feels more like a full expansion pack than just another piece of DLC.
  27. Jun 30, 2013
    75
    New Super Luigi 2 is actually a completely new game with dozens of levels. The abruptness of the shorter levels won't sit right with everyone, but do ramp up the difficulty. It's a shame though that it reuses all of the New Super Mario Bros. U art-assets and doesn't offer any new environments. This can be looked over though, by whoever can't get enough of qualitative strong platform adventures.
  28. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    The sense of the old is thankfully tempered by a fresh feel and clever level design, however, and even if the adventure won't last long for those without completionist instincts, it's fun while it lasts.
  29. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    A strange set of priorities and a peculiarly high price make Nintendo’s big DLC experiment a hard sell for all but the most committed platform fans.
  30. Jul 3, 2013
    90
    You get a whole new slew of 80 levels that takes about as long as the main game to get through, and has even more to do because it’s just so amazingly difficult. While some of the visual elements feel a little pasted-in, New Super Luigi U adds enough fresh things to an already excellent base game to be more than worth your time.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 200 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know and love. Luigi jumps farther but slides around more than Mario but this creates a lot of hectic fun. The levels are much more difficult than the ones in NSMBU but their short length never makes them feel impossible to complete. Even one or two small flukes will put you within range of the finish line. The levels are faster and some of them are truly the best Mario levels I have ever played. It feels like the developers were having fun and they came up with some pretty wild ideas that translated into awesome courses. The addition of Nabbit is great for beginners in multiplayer. The game doesn't do much else that is new but the amount of content is staggering for a $20 price tag and it is an absolute must buy for fans of the series. I went into this with certain doubts as the Mario formula can feel a bit stale from time to time but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of creativity and effort that the devs put into this package. Full Review »
  2. Xef
    Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I loved New Super Mario Bros. U but I felt that it wasn't worth $60.
    Now here we have New Super Luigi. U, which I like even more because of
    the increased difficulty, revamped stages and Nabbit as a playable character for my girlfriend and little sister since they aren't that good in video games. Best of all? Only $20! or $30 if you don't have SMBU, I played it at a friends house and will personally wait for the physical release because I just love that green box and it'll look quiet unique in my nothing but blue Wii U collection. Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    New super Luigi U is pure gold. From the moment I finished the first level, I knew I was in for a treat. My main beef with New Super Mario Bros U was that it was way too easy. Now, with the help of Luigi, I finally have a REALLY challenging mario game to play. As everyone says, Nabbit is great. He's the perfect character for younger siblings, or in my case, my girlfriend. She still has a little trouble timing jumps, which is the only way Nabbit can die, but our deaths only end in laughter, not frustration. For those who thought New Super Mario Bros U was too easy, or if they simply want more, New Super Luigi U is an amazing game that should not be overlooked. It's called DLC, but I've never seen DLC as complete as this one. With 83 levels and plenty of challenge, it's easy to see why this game is not "Just another Mario". I'd easily call it better than the game it comes from. Full Review »