Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    85
    Luigi's own adventure is probably one of the largest DLC packets on the market. The whole New Super Mario U has been remixed, the difficulty level has been tuned, and the slim main character is totally different from the plump plumber. This add-on is well worth the money. [Sept 2013]
  2. 80
    An unexpected expansion pack for the New Super Mario Bros. U brings new levels, a new hero, more intense gameplay, and higher difficulty level. It's a shame the multiplayer game is a fail. [Issue#232]
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    86
    If you have some resistance against frustration and want a short but intensive trip into the New Super Mario Bros. Universe, you should keep that addition in mind.
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Even if the contents of New Super Luigi U reminds you of the original game that is really not a problem. This expansion is filled with great new material in the form of challenging and well designed levels and the simple yet game changing Luigi controls. A must own for all fans of platform games.
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    70
    At first glance, New Super Luigi U looks exactly the same as New Super Mario Bros. U. New Super Luigi U feels almost the same as the prequel, but with shorter levels and less time to finish them it has it's strengths in the levels with high amounts of speed and timed jumps.
  6. Aug 12, 2013
    70
    New Super Luigi U offers a far greater challenge than any of the previous entries in the New Super Mario Bros. series but little else new beyond the altered physics.
  7. Aug 11, 2013
    80
    New Super Luigi U is a great idea from a Nintendo still trying new ways to make DLC and one that works really well for its purpose.
  8. Jul 29, 2013
    80
    New Super Mario Bros U crushed into a nugget of pure challenge, but at a cost. [Sept 2013, p.74]
  9. Jul 28, 2013
    70
    Merely an expensive luxury. [Issue#137, p.119]
  10. Jul 22, 2013
    75
    At $49.95, Luigi U is still pretty steep as far as DLC goes, and it’s probably not vital unless you really love the original game and just can’t get enough.
  11. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Too me, all platformer releases from Nintendo should be a direct feed to the best innovation the company can offer. This gets someway up the flagpole but falls short of hitting the top.
  12. Jul 19, 2013
    60
    Gamers who love a good challenge are bound to be satisfied with this collection of levels. Anyone else - whether they're as casual as it comes or even longtime fans of the series - may not be so enamoured with the spike in difficulty and lack of originality.
  13. Jul 15, 2013
    90
    Luigi’s expansion is as big as a whole new game filled of playful and innovative level design. The significantly higher difficulty level is welcome and feels like atribute to The Lost Levels, and if you’ve ever liked challenging platform games New Super Luigi U is a must have.
  14. Jul 14, 2013
    70
    In this case, downsized levels and curtailed countdowns hardly equate to a lessening of comprehensive value. Luigi in the hero role, especially with his irregular locomotion, may still take some getting used to, but in the case of New Super Luigi U, the irritations are well worth the rewards.
  15. Jul 12, 2013
    83
    If you rush to the goal for each level you’ll be done with this in a few hours, give or take a couple hours for your level of skill. But if you’re a big fan of Mario platformers, and have been looking for some amped up difficulty, New Super Luigi U certainly does the trick.
  16. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    With New Super Luigi U, Nintendo showed us once more that game design is its main concern. Even though it seems that the developers only tweaked small bits of the game, like Luigi's movement or the length of some levels, at the end those small changes really impact the whole experience. This DLC adds a lot of content to the original game, although some things feel rushed, like the story that justifies Luigi's being the protagonist in the first place.
  17. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    New Super U Luigi provides no other modes and no additional challenges that can be found on the Super Mario version, which limits the content of the game. However, as an expansion, the 82 levels provide plenty of hours of fun with a greater difficulty.
  18. Jul 10, 2013
    85
    Luigi U is absolutely worth playing if you enjoyed the original Mario U… or any Mario for that matter.
  19. Jul 9, 2013
    80
    A rather expansive DLC pack, New Super Luigi U actually stands up well on its own. It offers up a healthy challenge and plenty of fun for those who enjoyed New Super Mario Bros. U and games past.
  20. The platforming equivalent of rubbing your tummy and patting your head while your childhood enemies tickle your armpits with a dead pigeon. Luigi U is cute, but scattershot in its approach. Mario remains the 2D king... for now.
  21. 77
    For 20 bucks you get some intense and challenging playtime, and that is not a bad deal at all.
  22. Jul 4, 2013
    90
    As a "DLC" and at a price point of just $20 New Super Luigi U should already be on your hard drive. Yes, it's that good!
  23. Jul 4, 2013
    70
    Mario is missing but that doesn't necessarily makes Super Luigi U a bad game. On the contrary, his absence makes some room for Luigi so that he can express a surprisingly hardened personality through diabolically designed levels.
  24. Jul 3, 2013
    90
    You get a whole new slew of 80 levels that takes about as long as the main game to get through, and has even more to do because it’s just so amazingly difficult. While some of the visual elements feel a little pasted-in, New Super Luigi U adds enough fresh things to an already excellent base game to be more than worth your time.
  25. This is a Mario platformer in which multiplayer – as in multiple characters on screen at the same time – isn’t much fun.
  26. Jul 3, 2013
    70
    If you’re ready for the heightened difficulty of solo play in New Super Luigi U, then you’ll find it rewarding. Otherwise, it’s a taxing platformer that’s only made more rage-inducing in multiplayer.
  27. Jul 2, 2013
    70
    Only for fans of the original New Super Mario Bros. U that still enjoy Nintendo's extensive know-how about making 2D platform videogames.
  28. Jul 1, 2013
    85
    This is a big DLC. It's so big that, graphics aside, it could very well be a standalone platform game. The price isn't cheap, but there is a lot of high quality content. Nintendo's level design is inspired and there's a lot to chew for hardcore platform fans.
  29. Jun 30, 2013
    84
    The adventure may not have changed, but the challenge sure has.
  30. Jun 30, 2013
    80
    New Super Luigi U is a big expansion. You get 82 redesigned levels and extra challenging gameplay for twenty Euros. Controlling Luigi takes some getting used to though. But when you hit that ideal line through the levels it does deliver on satisfaction. You do finish these levels much faster than in New Super Mario Bros. U due time limits, so don't expect it to entertain you as long as the original.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know and love. Luigi jumps farther but slides around more than Mario but this creates a lot of hectic fun. The levels are much more difficult than the ones in NSMBU but their short length never makes them feel impossible to complete. Even one or two small flukes will put you within range of the finish line. The levels are faster and some of them are truly the best Mario levels I have ever played. It feels like the developers were having fun and they came up with some pretty wild ideas that translated into awesome courses. The addition of Nabbit is great for beginners in multiplayer. The game doesn't do much else that is new but the amount of content is staggering for a $20 price tag and it is an absolute must buy for fans of the series. I went into this with certain doubts as the Mario formula can feel a bit stale from time to time but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of creativity and effort that the devs put into this package. Full Review »
  2. Xef
    Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I loved New Super Mario Bros. U but I felt that it wasn't worth $60.
    Now here we have New Super Luigi. U, which I like even more because of
    the increased difficulty, revamped stages and Nabbit as a playable character for my girlfriend and little sister since they aren't that good in video games. Best of all? Only $20! or $30 if you don't have SMBU, I played it at a friends house and will personally wait for the physical release because I just love that green box and it'll look quiet unique in my nothing but blue Wii U collection. Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    New super Luigi U is pure gold. From the moment I finished the first level, I knew I was in for a treat. My main beef with New Super Mario Bros U was that it was way too easy. Now, with the help of Luigi, I finally have a REALLY challenging mario game to play. As everyone says, Nabbit is great. He's the perfect character for younger siblings, or in my case, my girlfriend. She still has a little trouble timing jumps, which is the only way Nabbit can die, but our deaths only end in laughter, not frustration. For those who thought New Super Mario Bros U was too easy, or if they simply want more, New Super Luigi U is an amazing game that should not be overlooked. It's called DLC, but I've never seen DLC as complete as this one. With 83 levels and plenty of challenge, it's easy to see why this game is not "Just another Mario". I'd easily call it better than the game it comes from. Full Review »