Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: To continue the fun of New Super Mario Bros. U for Wii U, Nintendo is letting Luigi take over in new downloadable content that is coming in the Year of Luigi that provides alternate versions of the game's more than 80 stages. Players can freely change between the New Super Luigi U and New Super Mario Bros. U stages. These Luigi-focused stages provide a whole new level of game-play challenge and will be available for purchase as a single download. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    94
    If you’ve felt like some of the old-school magic has been missing from Super Mario games lately, let Luigi guide you through some of the most satisfying platform gaming ever designed.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    85
    Luigi U is absolutely worth playing if you enjoyed the original Mario U… or any Mario for that matter.
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    83
    If you rush to the goal for each level you’ll be done with this in a few hours, give or take a couple hours for your level of skill. But if you’re a big fan of Mario platformers, and have been looking for some amped up difficulty, New Super Luigi U certainly does the trick.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Nintendo has always lagged behind when it comes to online offerings, so the quality of New Super Luigi U is reassuring. It may recycle tons of content from the main game, but more Mario platforming action is rarely a bad thing. As a fan of New Super Mario Bros. U, I enjoyed these new twists on the decades-old format.
  5. The platforming equivalent of rubbing your tummy and patting your head while your childhood enemies tickle your armpits with a dead pigeon. Luigi U is cute, but scattershot in its approach. Mario remains the 2D king... for now.
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    75
    New Super Luigi U manages to show some clever ideas in terms of level design, but its quick run based structure and déjà-vu feeling makes it a good - but not astounding - content to play.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    60
    It's not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination: the level design is still a cut above so many of Nintendo's peers. But by the series' consistently high standards, it qualifies as a disappointment.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    We need more DLCS like this on wii u. it's blowing super mario out of the effing water. if you haven't played this shell out the measly 20 bucks and get on it! it'll revamp your whole view of the series and the console. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    This game feels very similar to NSMBU, but it's a DLC, what do you expect. I personally prefer this version, as it is harder. I suggest this game to any fan of difficult games, but warn those who aren't that good at video games to use Nabbit. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know and love. Luigi jumps farther but slides around more than Mario but this creates a lot of hectic fun. The levels are much more difficult than the ones in NSMBU but their short length never makes them feel impossible to complete. Even one or two small flukes will put you within range of the finish line. The levels are faster and some of them are truly the best Mario levels I have ever played. It feels like the developers were having fun and they came up with some pretty wild ideas that translated into awesome courses. The addition of Nabbit is great for beginners in multiplayer. The game doesn't do much else that is new but the amount of content is staggering for a $20 price tag and it is an absolute must buy for fans of the series. I went into this with certain doubts as the Mario formula can feel a bit stale from time to time but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of creativity and effort that the devs put into this package. Collapse
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    I feel like this game has gotten a bad rap. Luigi U takes the 80 something levels in Mario U and redesigns them all. It uses the same game engine, the same world map, and the same worlds but each individual level is completely different. The levels are about half as long as in Mario U, but there is no half way mark and you only have 100 seconds for each level so it feels like your racing the clock Luigi U has different physics then Mario. Luigi jumps higher, is more slippery, and can hang in the air longer then Mario. The reasons that I like Luigi U better then Mario are. First, Its much more difficult and the difficulty makes it a more enjoyable game. Second, Luigi U has more creative level design, The levels seem a lot less bland then in Mario U. Third, is bang for your buck. Luigi U is $20 if you get it as dlc. It took me 17 and a half hours to play through the game (getting every star coin and secret exit but only using a guide if I couldn't get it on my own). $20 for 17.5 hours in just the first play through is pretty good, and a much better dollar to time ratio then Mario U. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    When I first played this with my friend, I had pretty low expectations. I thought it was gonna be hard and not fun because there are only 100 seconds in each level. Well, I've gotta say. Speed running is really fun in this game. Although me and my friend struggled trying to get everything 100%, it was still pretty fun. I would recommend playing this game if you like a challenge and speed running. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    Very good but very hard only play if you are really a hardcore Mario fan because the DLC makes the game a million times harder (unless you only play as Nabit). Though it is an incredible value because of how much the courses change. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    1
    Same thing as New Super Mario Bros DO NOT BUY Oh and i like to put in there Like 1 Same Levels Just made Different 2 To much money for a DLC
    ( sorry if im wrong its just what i think)
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews