New Super Luigi U Wii U

New Super Luigi U Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 291 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: To continue the fun of New Super Mario Bros. U for Wii U, Nintendo is letting Luigi take over in new downloadable content that is coming in the Year of Luigi that provides alternate versions of the game's more than 80 stages. Players can freely change between the New Super Luigi U and NewTo continue the fun of New Super Mario Bros. U for Wii U, Nintendo is letting Luigi take over in new downloadable content that is coming in the Year of Luigi that provides alternate versions of the game's more than 80 stages. Players can freely change between the New Super Luigi U and New Super Mario Bros. U stages. These Luigi-focused stages provide a whole new level of game-play challenge and will be available for purchase as a single download. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    94
    If you’ve felt like some of the old-school magic has been missing from Super Mario games lately, let Luigi guide you through some of the most satisfying platform gaming ever designed.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    85
    Luigi U is absolutely worth playing if you enjoyed the original Mario U… or any Mario for that matter.
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    83
    If you rush to the goal for each level you’ll be done with this in a few hours, give or take a couple hours for your level of skill. But if you’re a big fan of Mario platformers, and have been looking for some amped up difficulty, New Super Luigi U certainly does the trick.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Nintendo has always lagged behind when it comes to online offerings, so the quality of New Super Luigi U is reassuring. It may recycle tons of content from the main game, but more Mario platforming action is rarely a bad thing. As a fan of New Super Mario Bros. U, I enjoyed these new twists on the decades-old format.
  5. The platforming equivalent of rubbing your tummy and patting your head while your childhood enemies tickle your armpits with a dead pigeon. Luigi U is cute, but scattershot in its approach. Mario remains the 2D king... for now.
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    75
    New Super Luigi U manages to show some clever ideas in terms of level design, but its quick run based structure and déjà-vu feeling makes it a good - but not astounding - content to play.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    60
    It's not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination: the level design is still a cut above so many of Nintendo's peers. But by the series' consistently high standards, it qualifies as a disappointment.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 55
  2. Negative: 3 out of 55
  1. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome for anyone who beat or loved Mario u. The courses are shorter, but I like them that way. It was interesting to see howThis game is awesome for anyone who beat or loved Mario u. The courses are shorter, but I like them that way. It was interesting to see how Nintendo could come up with different courses so fast. The price is awesome: $20 for a game that is just as big as the main game. The map is the same, which is the only thing I didn't like. Since Mario isn't in the game, he is replaced by Nabbit the invincible bunny, who is immune to almost everything. Nabbit was a good addition to the game because this game is much harder than Mario u, but by using Nabbit it's about the same. Buy Mario u first, then pick this up. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    I gave New Super Mario Bros. U a 10 out of 10 because I found it to be original, yet classic, mechanically perfect, and a very good challenge.I gave New Super Mario Bros. U a 10 out of 10 because I found it to be original, yet classic, mechanically perfect, and a very good challenge. New Super Luigi U follows suit brilliantly! It's original, but retains its classic feel. The mechanics work wonderfully all of the time. And the challenge was utterly fulfilling. The time-limit of the levels have all been shortened to 100s (as opposed to the usual 300s) and with good reason. While New Super Luigi U is challenging, the levels are easily able to be completed within the 100s time-limit, provided Luigi keeps up a steady gait. I managed to complete it 100% and there was never a dull moment. If you love New Super Mario Bros. U, or any 2D Super Mario game for that matter, you'll adore New Super Luigi U. The DLC is well worth its value as the content will have you entertained for countless hours. It's pretty obvious to me that Nintendo have these 2D Super Mario games down pat, spicing them up with new features in each successive release, while maintaining that original Super Mario Bros.-type feel. And New Super Luigi U is definitely no exception. Oh, bellissimo! Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know andThis is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know and love. Luigi jumps farther but slides around more than Mario but this creates a lot of hectic fun. The levels are much more difficult than the ones in NSMBU but their short length never makes them feel impossible to complete. Even one or two small flukes will put you within range of the finish line. The levels are faster and some of them are truly the best Mario levels I have ever played. It feels like the developers were having fun and they came up with some pretty wild ideas that translated into awesome courses. The addition of Nabbit is great for beginners in multiplayer. The game doesn't do much else that is new but the amount of content is staggering for a $20 price tag and it is an absolute must buy for fans of the series. I went into this with certain doubts as the Mario formula can feel a bit stale from time to time but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of creativity and effort that the devs put into this package. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    New Super Luigi U is a solid DLC Pack with a fresh feel to it, despite the story and world map being close to identical from New Super MarioNew Super Luigi U is a solid DLC Pack with a fresh feel to it, despite the story and world map being close to identical from New Super Mario Bros. U. The game actually felt newer in certain ways compared to the original game. The levels are completely re-designed and are much shorter than the original game but have a bit of a fast pace feel to it sometime which is not a bad thing. There is also a difficultly boost that is noticeable if you've played New Super Mario Bros. U. Surprisingly worth the $20 for a digital buy ($30 for retail without New Super Mario Bros. U). If you liked/loved New Super Mario Bros. U you will most likely like or love this game, especially if you are a Luigi fan! Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2016
    8
    There is nothing that dramatically separates this from New Super Mario Bros U - Luigi controls a little differently and the courses areThere is nothing that dramatically separates this from New Super Mario Bros U - Luigi controls a little differently and the courses are centered around speed runs - but it is essentially an expansion pack. That isn't a bad thing considering how fantastic the core game is. Who is going to complain about more of a good thing? Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    While this game does other some unique features we all have to realize what is happening! This "DLC" is just an excuse for Nintendo not toWhile this game does other some unique features we all have to realize what is happening! This "DLC" is just an excuse for Nintendo not to make games that we truly want like Legend of Zelda:Majora's Mask HD Remake, Earthbound 2, Donkey Kong 64-2 or Donkey Kong U, and Luigi's Mansion 2: The U Edition. Get on it Nintendo Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    1
    Same thing as New Super Mario Bros
    DO NOT BUY
    Oh and i like to put in there Like 1 Same Levels Just made Different 2 To much money for a
    Same thing as New Super Mario Bros
    DO NOT BUY
    Oh and i like to put in there
    Like
    1 Same Levels Just made Different
    2 To much money for a DLC
    ( sorry if im wrong its just what i think)
    Expand

See all 55 User Reviews