New Super Luigi U Wii U

New Super Luigi U Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: To continue the fun of New Super Mario Bros. U for Wii U, Nintendo is letting Luigi take over in new downloadable content that is coming in the Year of Luigi that provides alternate versions of the game's more than 80 stages. Players can freely change between the New Super Luigi U and NewTo continue the fun of New Super Mario Bros. U for Wii U, Nintendo is letting Luigi take over in new downloadable content that is coming in the Year of Luigi that provides alternate versions of the game's more than 80 stages. Players can freely change between the New Super Luigi U and New Super Mario Bros. U stages. These Luigi-focused stages provide a whole new level of game-play challenge and will be available for purchase as a single download. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    94
    If you’ve felt like some of the old-school magic has been missing from Super Mario games lately, let Luigi guide you through some of the most satisfying platform gaming ever designed.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    85
    Luigi U is absolutely worth playing if you enjoyed the original Mario U… or any Mario for that matter.
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    83
    If you rush to the goal for each level you’ll be done with this in a few hours, give or take a couple hours for your level of skill. But if you’re a big fan of Mario platformers, and have been looking for some amped up difficulty, New Super Luigi U certainly does the trick.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Nintendo has always lagged behind when it comes to online offerings, so the quality of New Super Luigi U is reassuring. It may recycle tons of content from the main game, but more Mario platforming action is rarely a bad thing. As a fan of New Super Mario Bros. U, I enjoyed these new twists on the decades-old format.
  5. The platforming equivalent of rubbing your tummy and patting your head while your childhood enemies tickle your armpits with a dead pigeon. Luigi U is cute, but scattershot in its approach. Mario remains the 2D king... for now.
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    75
    New Super Luigi U manages to show some clever ideas in terms of level design, but its quick run based structure and déjà-vu feeling makes it a good - but not astounding - content to play.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    60
    It's not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination: the level design is still a cut above so many of Nintendo's peers. But by the series' consistently high standards, it qualifies as a disappointment.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 53
  2. Negative: 3 out of 53
  1. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    A Grate DLC For Getting My Birthday 10/10

    One Of The Best DLCS Of New Super Mario Bros U, Good To Play As Luigi In Single Player Seance
    A Grate DLC For Getting My Birthday 10/10

    One Of The Best DLCS Of New Super Mario Bros U, Good To Play As Luigi In Single Player Seance Luigi's Mansion, Also Recommend To Play This Game With Family And Friends.
    Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    I gave New Super Mario Bros. U a 10 out of 10 because I found it to be original, yet classic, mechanically perfect, and a very good challenge.I gave New Super Mario Bros. U a 10 out of 10 because I found it to be original, yet classic, mechanically perfect, and a very good challenge. New Super Luigi U follows suit brilliantly! It's original, but retains its classic feel. The mechanics work wonderfully all of the time. And the challenge was utterly fulfilling. The time-limit of the levels have all been shortened to 100s (as opposed to the usual 300s) and with good reason. While New Super Luigi U is challenging, the levels are easily able to be completed within the 100s time-limit, provided Luigi keeps up a steady gait. I managed to complete it 100% and there was never a dull moment. If you love New Super Mario Bros. U, or any 2D Super Mario game for that matter, you'll adore New Super Luigi U. The DLC is well worth its value as the content will have you entertained for countless hours. It's pretty obvious to me that Nintendo have these 2D Super Mario games down pat, spicing them up with new features in each successive release, while maintaining that original Super Mario Bros.-type feel. And New Super Luigi U is definitely no exception. Oh, bellissimo! Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know andThis is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know and love. Luigi jumps farther but slides around more than Mario but this creates a lot of hectic fun. The levels are much more difficult than the ones in NSMBU but their short length never makes them feel impossible to complete. Even one or two small flukes will put you within range of the finish line. The levels are faster and some of them are truly the best Mario levels I have ever played. It feels like the developers were having fun and they came up with some pretty wild ideas that translated into awesome courses. The addition of Nabbit is great for beginners in multiplayer. The game doesn't do much else that is new but the amount of content is staggering for a $20 price tag and it is an absolute must buy for fans of the series. I went into this with certain doubts as the Mario formula can feel a bit stale from time to time but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of creativity and effort that the devs put into this package. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    This gets a 9. Simply because it is definitely as good as New Super Mario Bros U, which i gave a 9 as well. This added extra levels, and aThis gets a 9. Simply because it is definitely as good as New Super Mario Bros U, which i gave a 9 as well. This added extra levels, and a challenge that is just as frustrating and addicting as the NSMBU. This is DLC...DLC! I can't recall DLC that didn't leave me feeling slightly ripped off. If you've beat NSMBU, then you owe it to yourself to get this. Yes its DLC, but it feels like a whole new game. Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2016
    8
    When a new game gets "DLC," what do you often think that DLC is? A new level/weapon, a cosmetic change, or a small new game mode, right? Or,When a new game gets "DLC," what do you often think that DLC is? A new level/weapon, a cosmetic change, or a small new game mode, right? Or, at most, it's a small expansion with a little of all of those things, right? Right. Not "New Super Luigi U," though; building on the formula from "New Super Mario Bros. U," "Luigi U" is a full-fledged game in and of itself, with 8 worlds to travel to, just like in "Mario Bros. U."
    Being a slightly-different version of "Mario U," there's a lot to like about "Luigi U" from the jump: the gorgeous visuals, the polished gameplay, and the great level design. And with new "Luigi physics" (slippery movement, and flutter jump), the game feels pretty different. That, and it retains the fun and frantic multiplayer modes from "Mario U." That's a lot out of a simple "DLC expansion" but it's because of this that "Luigi U" shines. Unfortunately, the game stills awfully similar to "Mario U," and the difficulty has been jacked-up A LOT, to the point that newcomers to the platformer genre might want to start with something else. Even so, if you can find it for a decent price, "New Super Luigi U" is a nice, polished expansion and a solid addition to your Wii U library.
    Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    A very fun and challenging game. Shorter level and more dieing. Fun and more than worth the 30 bucks I paid for it. An excellent addition toA very fun and challenging game. Shorter level and more dieing. Fun and more than worth the 30 bucks I paid for it. An excellent addition to the series! Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    1
    Same thing as New Super Mario Bros
    DO NOT BUY
    Oh and i like to put in there Like 1 Same Levels Just made Different 2 To much money for a
    Same thing as New Super Mario Bros
    DO NOT BUY
    Oh and i like to put in there
    Like
    1 Same Levels Just made Different
    2 To much money for a DLC
    ( sorry if im wrong its just what i think)
    Collapse

See all 53 User Reviews