Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Outside of multiplayer, New Super Mario Bros. U offers little in the way of innovation, focusing instead on delivering tightly-designed levels, which look superb and can be played when the television is in use.
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Outside of marveling at the graphics in some select stages and bouncing around with four friends on your HDTV, how much longevity does NSMB U have? A good deal, thanks mostly to the dozens of minigames designed to appeal to the more skilled Mario players out there.
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    77
    No matter how much content is recycled here, New Super Mario Bros. U is a gem in Wii U’s launch line-up. Problem is, there is nothing that sets it apart from a long line of its predecessors.
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    75
    New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly a groundbreaking release. But it is a beautifully-presented demonstration of the franchise's fundamentals, with just enough extra content to hold back accusations of creative bankruptcy.
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    75
    New Super Mario Bros. U introduces too few new ideas to push the platform genre forward in a way a Mario-game normally does, but nonetheless it's a great game. The level design is outstanding, the multiplayer is fantastically chaotic and the varied Challenge Mode increases the life expectancy of the game. It doesn't matter if you're a solo gamer or like to dabble in multiplayer fun; New Super Mario Bros. U is a safe option to combine with the purchase of a Wii U.
  6. Dec 1, 2012
    70
    New Super Mario Bros U is a Mario game – through and through. In some ways, this is the best game in the "New"-series thus far, with well designed levels, a lengthy campaign, and a plethora of hidden secrets around every twist and turn. The game offers plenty. It's also pretty much the same game we played in 2009, with some small changes, and can at times seem superfluous.
  7. New Super Mario Bros. U boasts a few new innovations, but ultimately this is the same Mario we've seen many times before. It's still a lot of fun, but it may not nudge a wavering gamer to rush out and buy the new console.
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    New Super Mario Bros. U is a solid game, but one whose core experience is as conservative as can be and the level design, graphics, and sound are nearly identical to previous entries. The co-op features, however, are excellent, as are the new challenge modes.
  9. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    It's frenetic and anarchic, but hardly the stuff that will convince you to buy a Wii U. Come on, Mr Miyamoto: let's have a proper Mario game for the Wii U. And a Zelda, and a Metroid, and a Pikmin, and a Donkey Kong and so on.
  10. Nov 18, 2012
    60
    Everything about New Super Mario Bros. U is pretty exciting, except the game itself. Is it possible that this is the best game in the "New" series to date--not to mention one of the best exclusive Wii U games on the market, by default--and at the same time kind of flatly uninteresting? Apparently so. The game is perfectly well made for what it is, and I had plenty of fun playing it in short bursts here and there, but at this point the series' by-the-numbers design philosophy is starting to lend the name "New Super Mario Bros." a degree of unintentional irony.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 110
  2. Negative: 7 out of 110
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    There is really nothing to say here. If you like 2-D Mario you are gonna like this. It looks great in HD even though some of the backgrounds are a tad boring, the control is fine but it in a 2-D Mario game. The multiplyer which I have only played with one other person is decent but not a big game changer. Actually it feels like a cheat when someone puts up a pad for you. I like the mode where the screen goes faster to make the game harder although it picks up the pace after a few hours of play. The story sucks. The music is lame. It is just normal Mario. It feels like I have played this before and I have. On the DS and the Wii. It is a good game but I could live without it and since it is the only exclusive for the system I currently own that is a disappointment. It is a solid Mario game but it isn't as good as Donkey Kong Country Returns and is not even close to the brilliant and more beautiful Rayman Origins. But it is a 2-D Mario game and for most fans it will be enough. Good game. But nothing special or new. I really like the new blue cases. But I was told the Wii U would have a trophy system. Where is it? Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    In my opinion this game is a throwback from a bygone era. I will never understand the heaps of love bestowed upon the Mario Franchise. Each game, is a rehash of the game before. In addition the game does nothing to showcase the graphical power of the Wii-U. It's time to do something different with Mario, I would have preferred to see something creative like the Super Mario RPG with an action RPG twist as opposed to this game. Full Review »