Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    91
    Nintendo's approach here strikes a great balance in all areas, ranging from its difficulty to design to enemies and bosses.
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    85
    It's consistently charming, often challenging, and an excellent illustration of that which makes Mario games so special. Nintendo seemingly recaptured traditional, distilled platforming, but also incorporated a newfound attention to modern gaming trends and expectations.
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    94
    It doesn't push boundaries, but it reminds us all that Mario will always be the king of the 2D platformer genre, even long after that genre has been buried beneath decades of gaming history.
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    93
    After playing through New Super Mario Bros. 2 on 3DS a few months ago, I was concerned that the "New" series had run its course. The levels didn't feel as fresh and the coin collection gimmick didn't make much of an impact. I feared this dip in quality signaled stormy skies for New Super Mario Bros. U on Nintendo's next home console, but I couldn't have been more wrong.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    Is the plumber's Wii U debut as good as his recent 3D outings? Not quite, but for the New Super Mario Bros. series, it's a real step forward in detailing, imagination and character.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    91
    All in all, I found New Super Mario Bros. U to be a very rewarding, fun breath of fresh air for the series that does a pretty good job of showcasing new elements found in the Wii U system. It's certainly a step up in terms of visuals, and looks great both on the big screen and on the Wii U Game Pad.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    As far as launch titles go, you can't beat a Mario game, and the same is true here.
  8. Nov 17, 2012
    82
    We were surprised, excited and twinkly-eyed during an excellent finale. [Christmas 2012, p.28]
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Outside of marveling at the graphics in some select stages and bouncing around with four friends on your HDTV, how much longevity does NSMB U have? A good deal, thanks mostly to the dozens of minigames designed to appeal to the more skilled Mario players out there.
  10. Dec 2, 2012
    85
    The New Super Mario Bros series finds its dimension in the home consoles, where it becomes an amazing multiplayer game. But it has nothing to share with the innovation, brilliance or quality of its ancestors, and its single player is poor compared not only to Super Mario World, but also to the recent Donkey Kong Country Returns.
  11. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    New Super Mario Bros. U is a solid game, but one whose core experience is as conservative as can be and the level design, graphics, and sound are nearly identical to previous entries. The co-op features, however, are excellent, as are the new challenge modes.
  12. Nov 27, 2012
    81
    It needs to evolve, but still it's a great game. It's easily become one of the best games on Wii U, however, we can and we will ask for a step forward in the series.
  13. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Beyond the obvious aesthetic appeal of the jump to HD, New Super Mario Bros U doesn't make a particularly convincing case for Nintendo's new console, and there's very little here that couldn't have been done on Wii. But if it isn't a great showpiece for the console, it may have to settle for being a very good Mario game, perhaps the finest of the plumber's side-scrolling adventures since his 16bit heyday.
  14. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Mario's Wii U debut will no doubt attract the usual detractors and jaded observers, but there's more to this than rigid routine. It just all depends on what you want from it.
  15. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    A fantastic game hindered by a disappointing opening act. It feels like a game of present and past, where the first half reminds us why today's games greatly miss the second half's nostalgic excellence.
  16. Feb 21, 2013
    90
    Everyone gets a chance to play and interact and have fun. Really, that’s what Nintendo excels at, getting everyone involved and allowing childish enthusiasm to file down the sharp corners of the vexation of adulthood and life experience. New Super Mario Bros. U does that very thing.
  17. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    Beyond the jump to HD, New Super Mario Bros U isn't a great showpiece for the console, but it's one the kings of the 2D platformer genre.
  18. Dec 14, 2012
    81
    New Super Mario Bros. U may not be the most innovative Mario platformer, but it's incredibly polished and a lot of fun. [Dec 2012, p.68]
  19. Jan 22, 2013
    86
    A solid entry in the Mario franchise. It doesn't do anything to shake up the formula, but I think this is one of those franchises that have proven time and time again that you don't mess with a good thing.
  20. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros. U is maybe the best platform of the "New" series due to an inspired level design and lots of game modes. The Challenges are just what hardcore Mario fans were looking for, and are capable of pointing out the best elements of one of the most refined gameplays ever created. The last Mario adventure is, without doubt, a killer app. for the Wii U, even without an intensive use of the Wii U Gamepad.
  21. Dec 27, 2012
    80
    The New Super Mario Bros series was never one to defy expectations, but rather build upon years of refined nostalgia. New Super Mario Bros. U is formulaic Mario and is a delightfully fun time for it.
  22. Nov 15, 2012
    85
    Players know exactly what they're getting with this one -- an entertaining and incomplex bit of gaming that provides challenge and smirks in equal measure. While certainly a "safe" game to launch with, it is by no means unremarkable and the only people who would fail to have fun are those with a fundamental aversion to Mario or platformers in general.
  23. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    New Super Mario Bros. U combines good old features with fresh and entertaining elements. The result is a stunning and thrilling jump'n'run experience for up to five gamers.
  24. Jan 23, 2013
    90
    Although Mario's newest adventure isn't the most innovative platformer, the game sticks to the basics and does them right. The chaotic multiplayer mode, sweet graphics and excellent controls ensure, that the plumber stays on the throne. [Jan 2013]
  25. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros U is truly a "new" game in the series. A Must Buy for every Mario fan on the Planet.
  26. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    Everyone with a Wii U should buy this good platform title. It's a 2D Mario adventure in high definition. But the game doesn't use the GamePad in a good and innovative way.
  27. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The latest entry in the endless Mario series is hardly "new" in concept, but doesn't fail to entertain and to represent yet another excellent platformer.
  28. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    His moustache remains the same, but other than that Mario finally went for a new and modern look. New Super Mario Bros. U does honor the history of the old plumber and brings back all the known characters and worlds, which are now more alive than ever. The graphical leap also allows for more experimentation with gameplay, which shows in a more challenging and fresh platformer than you might expect.
  29. 95
    New Super Mario Bros. U is close to the ideal 2D Mario game hinted at by the debut of New Super Mario Bros. seven years ago. It's a more sincere follow-up to Super Mario World than any previous game, and even if its innovations are muted and on the periphery, this is the evolution the series needed. It's a simple question, really: Do you like 2D Mario? If so, play this game. It is that damn good.
  30. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros. U may not offer the cataclysmic genre shift that many badly crave, but it's the gem of the Wii U launch lineup and a must-have purchase.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 110
  2. Negative: 7 out of 110
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    There is really nothing to say here. If you like 2-D Mario you are gonna like this. It looks great in HD even though some of the backgrounds are a tad boring, the control is fine but it in a 2-D Mario game. The multiplyer which I have only played with one other person is decent but not a big game changer. Actually it feels like a cheat when someone puts up a pad for you. I like the mode where the screen goes faster to make the game harder although it picks up the pace after a few hours of play. The story sucks. The music is lame. It is just normal Mario. It feels like I have played this before and I have. On the DS and the Wii. It is a good game but I could live without it and since it is the only exclusive for the system I currently own that is a disappointment. It is a solid Mario game but it isn't as good as Donkey Kong Country Returns and is not even close to the brilliant and more beautiful Rayman Origins. But it is a 2-D Mario game and for most fans it will be enough. Good game. But nothing special or new. I really like the new blue cases. But I was told the Wii U would have a trophy system. Where is it? Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    In my opinion this game is a throwback from a bygone era. I will never understand the heaps of love bestowed upon the Mario Franchise. Each game, is a rehash of the game before. In addition the game does nothing to showcase the graphical power of the Wii-U. It's time to do something different with Mario, I would have preferred to see something creative like the Super Mario RPG with an action RPG twist as opposed to this game. Full Review »