Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    Beyond the jump to HD, New Super Mario Bros U isn't a great showpiece for the console, but it's one the kings of the 2D platformer genre.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    85
    Nintendo rediscovers fun for the core gamer: New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly surprising, but delivers quite a challenge with its classic jump & run roots.
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    90
    Everyone gets a chance to play and interact and have fun. Really, that’s what Nintendo excels at, getting everyone involved and allowing childish enthusiasm to file down the sharp corners of the vexation of adulthood and life experience. New Super Mario Bros. U does that very thing.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    85
    As a multiplayer scrolling platformer, NSMBU successfully ad libs from a well worn Mario script to produce an evolution of the 2D platformer and importantly, a step forward for quality multiplayer games on the Wii U.
  5. 88
    In the end it's a great game with some new challenges and it is a bright light for what we have in store as Nintendo's newest console begins its life cycle.
  6. Nov 21, 2012
    94
    It doesn't push boundaries, but it reminds us all that Mario will always be the king of the 2D platformer genre, even long after that genre has been buried beneath decades of gaming history.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros. U succeeds in delivering classic 2D Mario gameplay in a more visually appealing and complete package than ever before and is simply a blast to play both alone or with friends.
  8. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    New Super Mario Bros. U definitely plays things safe and mostly sticks to the framework established by the "New" offshoot series established back on the DS, but the tougher design and beautiful look make it a great Mario game no matter how you look at it.
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    85
    Players know exactly what they're getting with this one -- an entertaining and incomplex bit of gaming that provides challenge and smirks in equal measure. While certainly a "safe" game to launch with, it is by no means unremarkable and the only people who would fail to have fun are those with a fundamental aversion to Mario or platformers in general.
  10. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    In spite of a somewhat lazy presentation, New Super Mario Bros. U manages to captivate with just the right balance of fun, challenge, and variety. Perhaps it doesn't leverage much of what makes the Wii U different, but via masterful implementation of the basics, it's the closest thing to SNES Mario that we've seen in over 15 years.
  11. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Outside of multiplayer, New Super Mario Bros. U offers little in the way of innovation, focusing instead on delivering tightly-designed levels, which look superb and can be played when the television is in use.
  12. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Beyond the obvious aesthetic appeal of the jump to HD, New Super Mario Bros U doesn't make a particularly convincing case for Nintendo's new console, and there's very little here that couldn't have been done on Wii. But if it isn't a great showpiece for the console, it may have to settle for being a very good Mario game, perhaps the finest of the plumber's side-scrolling adventures since his 16bit heyday.
  13. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    A love-letter to the days of Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, New Super Mario Bros. U's multiplayer modes, insane platforming, and beautiful HD graphics offer more than enough to provide hours of fun for gamers of all stripes.
  14. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    Is the plumber's Wii U debut as good as his recent 3D outings? Not quite, but for the New Super Mario Bros. series, it's a real step forward in detailing, imagination and character.
  15. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Nintendo crafts levels like no one else. They take their well-known motifs and themes and don't necessarily surprise you every time, but they always excel at reshaping them in a highly lovable and entertaining fashion. If that´s what you want out of New Super Mario Bros U, this is the best humanly possible result. That this might not be enough for some fans of the franchise speaks volumes about the three decades that princess spent in "another castle".
  16. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The latest entry in the endless Mario series is hardly "new" in concept, but doesn't fail to entertain and to represent yet another excellent platformer.
  17. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    It's the best 2D Super Mario since Super Mario World.
  18. Dec 6, 2012
    90
    Wii U gets the best possible Mario, the one we've been enjoying for many years.
  19. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros. U may not revolutionize the genre and doesn't show us what flashy stuff the new console has to offer. But the playful level design, well balanced difficulty level and flawless control are more than enough to make this into one of the best games in the genre. This is 2D-plattforming at its finest, and a must buy for anyone who owns a Wii U.
  20. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros U is truly a "new" game in the series. A Must Buy for every Mario fan on the Planet.
  21. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    New Super Mario Bros. U is a solid game, but one whose core experience is as conservative as can be and the level design, graphics, and sound are nearly identical to previous entries. The co-op features, however, are excellent, as are the new challenge modes.
  22. Nov 18, 2012
    93
    After playing through New Super Mario Bros. 2 on 3DS a few months ago, I was concerned that the "New" series had run its course. The levels didn't feel as fresh and the coin collection gimmick didn't make much of an impact. I feared this dip in quality signaled stormy skies for New Super Mario Bros. U on Nintendo's next home console, but I couldn't have been more wrong.
  23. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    As far as launch titles go, you can't beat a Mario game, and the same is true here.
  24. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    While it seems that all the games, even the most forgivable ones, feel the need to have a twist in them to break or turn upside down an established code, how can one with "retro" and a certain "opposition to change" both carved into its DNA surprise? In New Super Mario Bros. U, the princess doesn't get kidnapped, it's the hero that gets booted outside the castle to the far end of the realm. But it doesn't change anything: the game is a clear declaration that one does not need to change what already works perfectly.
  25. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    The first Mario game for Nintendo's new home console is as great, challenging and beautiful as was expected. It's obvious that Nintendo played a safe bet here, but a bet that is rewarding for any Mario fan.
  26. Feb 13, 2013
    75
    New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly a groundbreaking release. But it is a beautifully-presented demonstration of the franchise's fundamentals, with just enough extra content to hold back accusations of creative bankruptcy.
  27. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    His moustache remains the same, but other than that Mario finally went for a new and modern look. New Super Mario Bros. U does honor the history of the old plumber and brings back all the known characters and worlds, which are now more alive than ever. The graphical leap also allows for more experimentation with gameplay, which shows in a more challenging and fresh platformer than you might expect.
  28. Dec 1, 2012
    70
    New Super Mario Bros U is a Mario game – through and through. In some ways, this is the best game in the "New"-series thus far, with well designed levels, a lengthy campaign, and a plethora of hidden secrets around every twist and turn. The game offers plenty. It's also pretty much the same game we played in 2009, with some small changes, and can at times seem superfluous.
  29. Nov 17, 2012
    82
    We were surprised, excited and twinkly-eyed during an excellent finale. [Christmas 2012, p.28]
  30. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Mario's Wii U debut will no doubt attract the usual detractors and jaded observers, but there's more to this than rigid routine. It just all depends on what you want from it.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 107
  2. Negative: 7 out of 107
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    There is really nothing to say here. If you like 2-D Mario you are gonna like this. It looks great in HD even though some of the backgrounds are a tad boring, the control is fine but it in a 2-D Mario game. The multiplyer which I have only played with one other person is decent but not a big game changer. Actually it feels like a cheat when someone puts up a pad for you. I like the mode where the screen goes faster to make the game harder although it picks up the pace after a few hours of play. The story sucks. The music is lame. It is just normal Mario. It feels like I have played this before and I have. On the DS and the Wii. It is a good game but I could live without it and since it is the only exclusive for the system I currently own that is a disappointment. It is a solid Mario game but it isn't as good as Donkey Kong Country Returns and is not even close to the brilliant and more beautiful Rayman Origins. But it is a 2-D Mario game and for most fans it will be enough. Good game. But nothing special or new. I really like the new blue cases. But I was told the Wii U would have a trophy system. Where is it? Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    In my opinion this game is a throwback from a bygone era. I will never understand the heaps of love bestowed upon the Mario Franchise. Each game, is a rehash of the game before. In addition the game does nothing to showcase the graphical power of the Wii-U. It's time to do something different with Mario, I would have preferred to see something creative like the Super Mario RPG with an action RPG twist as opposed to this game. Full Review »