User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 434

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    There is really nothing to say here. If you like 2-D Mario you are gonna like this. It looks great in HD even though some of the backgrounds are a tad boring, the control is fine but it in a 2-D Mario game. The multiplyer which I have only played with one other person is decent but not a big game changer. Actually it feels like a cheat when someone puts up a pad for you. I like the mode where the screen goes faster to make the game harder although it picks up the pace after a few hours of play. The story sucks. The music is lame. It is just normal Mario. It feels like I have played this before and I have. On the DS and the Wii. It is a good game but I could live without it and since it is the only exclusive for the system I currently own that is a disappointment. It is a solid Mario game but it isn't as good as Donkey Kong Country Returns and is not even close to the brilliant and more beautiful Rayman Origins. But it is a 2-D Mario game and for most fans it will be enough. Good game. But nothing special or new. I really like the new blue cases. But I was told the Wii U would have a trophy system. Where is it? Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This game does not just remake new super mario bros it revamps it. Sure it may not be perfect but no game is and this game truily feels like the perfect 2d mario game with good challange, gameplay, diffrent modes, wii u multiplayer/touch control, online, and the hd with a classic mario feel.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This game is the side scrolling Mario game we have wanted at long last. The game is a great single player game as well as an amazing co-op game which is hard to come across! I enjoy playing single player on the wiiu pad nearly as much as on the TV with 3 other players, the Wiiu pad being used for the boost mode is great fun! Weither you are helping or trolling with the wiiu pad it is all fun and just as great as actually playing the game so I concider this game 5 player. The world map is fun and the addition of the baby yoshis is fantastic! The new squirle power-up is like 3D land's tanooki suit but even more suited for a side scrolling game! The art style and graphics are beautiful and it is a unique and fresh take on the side scrolling mario games, I'd say this is the first legit mario side scroller since super mario world! It isn't just about co-op and fun it is also just a welly done game in general! Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    This game could be worse, but not much worse. This is a Mario Bros. game, which is such a popular franchise because of their addictive game play stemming from tight controls, without tight control. Want to run, for example? Then you better have half the screen in front of you before you start. I don't know if this is because of the game itself or because of the game pad, but it makes the game nearly unplayable. The bottom line is that I would only recommend this game for kids. Kids young enough to not know the difference between good and bad games, because that's who this game was made for. If you really want to play a newer Mario game do yourself a favor and get Super Mario 3D Land for the 3DS instead. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    In my opinion this game is a throwback from a bygone era. I will never understand the heaps of love bestowed upon the Mario Franchise. Each game, is a rehash of the game before. In addition the game does nothing to showcase the graphical power of the Wii-U. It's time to do something different with Mario, I would have preferred to see something creative like the Super Mario RPG with an action RPG twist as opposed to this game. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    more of the same but great family fun. the move to hd is something I really wanted to see when playing .wii on a big screen. the added gamepad block thing is such an insult.
  8. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    My girlfriend, bro and myself had some fun times, some good laughs and beat a few levels, too. Being with Nintendo since the NES, I may be a little biased but we're definitely impressed!
  9. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    Side scrolling platform fun at its best, grab four of your friends and overcome challenges in multiple worlds each with their own special spin. The story line hasn't changed much from our childhood; Bowser has kidnapped the princess while Mario & Co. are out to save the day. Yoshi makes an appearance along with baby Yoshi
  10. Dec 8, 2012
    1
    It's wonderful to note that this is the same game with some extra gimmicks. Nothing is developed in this game, nothing feels new or refreshed, nothing introduced as a new concept. it has good feel and great graphics, but if the gameplay is redundant, the music is redundant, the game feels old, what's the damn point of even buying it. I don't recommend if you don't want more of the same from cash-cow mario team. Expand
  11. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    What can I say, it's Nintendo and it's Mario. New Super Mario Bros U is the first HD Mario ever and it looks amazing. The new controller works great, and you can play through the entire game without a TV, just use the display on the gamepad. The music is what you expect in a Mario game, and so are the levels. You can play up to five players. Four playing with Wiimotes and one playing with the gamepad in Boost Mode where you can help the other players by placing platforms. If love like Mario, you'll love this game. Expand
  12. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    Nothing new here. The game just as good on dolphin emulator with some minor anti aliasing and 720p upscaling. I really dont see a need for this game. Seems like they just wanted something to release the console with a game of their own. The whole 2d sidescroller is becoming a bit tiering to be honest. There is no chance Id buy another for a few years. The Luigi DLC just feels like their milking it. The only reason Id buy it is the lack of game coming up. If they release the DLC at 5dollars I might do it. Expand
  13. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It takes the perfect platforming Mario formula, and adds new features that breathe new life in an already amazing game series. The controls are top-notch; they are tight and responsive, and just the perfect degree of control you would expect from a Mario game. The level design is the best yet in the series. The graphics are incredible. Mario in 1080p looks outstanding, and the amount of detail in every background is breathtaking. The game has a large world map, sort of like what is in Super Mario World. There are not a lot of new power-ups this time around, but it's definitely quality over quality. The new squirrel suit (I think that's what it is) is one of the best power-ups I've ever used in a Mario game. You can hold the jump button to glide in the air, and shake the wii remote to gain some extra height. The extra modes are incredible, and add a ton of replay value in this game. Finally, we have a challenge mode where Mario veterans are able do speed runs, coin-collecting runs, etc., and it's just a lot of fun. The game automatically saves your best run so you can watch your triumph at any time. All in all, this game is highly recommended, and one of the best games of the year. Expand
  14. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    There are not problems in the New formula, but New Super Mario Bros. U it's too short, really simple and there is not much to do. It's a good game to begin to understand the Wii U. Clearly, this was the Wii U game that I spent more time to reviewing, yeah, and I finished fastly and bored. It's a good challenge, a great 2D game. It looks awesome in HD, showing us a new future in the series. Using the Gamepad to place blocks anywhere was a bit confusing and sometimes I noted that this use is forced. A solid game in conclusion. But Nintendo could do a challenger game and longer, maybe a new Super Mario game in 3D. Although the level design is impressive and has greats co-op and multiplayer modes, just skipping the blocks, please. Collapse
  15. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I love that Nintendo still releases side-scrolling Mario games. Super Mario Bros. 3 is one of my favorite games, and I still enjoy playing its style of gaming. New Super Mario Bros. U takes on the traditional formula with added HD graphics, a new power-up, challenge modes, and most importantly all-new levels.

    Nintendo's focus was on gameplay and it hit the nail on the head. First and
    foremost it is important to note that NSMBU is an extremely fun game. The storyline is essentially non-existent, the graphics are improved but nothing to rave about, and the challenge modes are a nice addition, but this game prides itself on side-scrolling goodness and Nintendo does it best.

    Simply, if you like side-scrolling platforming, you'll love NSMBU as it perfectly executes the genre.
    Expand
  16. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    This is the first Mario that makes me want to play all the time since Super Mario 3. Children love it and can help a lot without having to catch up all the time and I can play on my own and truly enjoy it. I am impressed and already glad I bought the Wii U.
  17. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    Nintendo may be playing it fast and loose with the word 'New' as this is the 4th entry in the New Super Mario Bros. series and not much has changed. Looking at screenshots or listening to the music each version is virtually indistinguishable. However, this is the best version yet. Polished to perfection, great level design, tight controls, timeless game play, NSMB U has it all. And don't be fooled by the cheerful and colourful visuals this game provides a decent challenge which unlike so many modern games requires a bit of genuine skill to master. Loads of extra challenge modes sweeten the deal further. Could Nintendo have pushed the boat out a bit further with the music and art design? Yes, but the game play will always be the most important thing. Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    This is a great side scrolling mario. Graphics are amazing, very smooth and very much on par with the current gen of consoles if not better. Gameplay is typical mario with some great additions. This is a must own if you like mario / own a Wii U. The zones and levels are great and lots of detail put into this. I just hope nintendo's next mario is out of the new super mario bros genre and is more like a 64 style. 9/10. Expand
  19. Feb 18, 2013
    8
    2D mario in its absolute basic, fantastic form. not alot added, not alot taken away, just straight foward, bang on, 2d platforming. And i woulndt have it any other way. It does bother me a bit that all of the new super mario bros. games are so damn similair, but i would definitely say this game is the best in the series. some new locations, some old revisted locations, new powerups, and new multiplayer and challenge options. nintendo knew the simple phrase "if its not broken, dont fix it" and it applies so well to this game. It would have been nice to see somthing brand new with mario's launch on the wii u, but this game is just fine. I have alot of fond christmas day memories of playing this, and its by far one of my favorite Wii U games. This is 2d mario done best, good graphics, good music, memorable set pieces, lousy story (which doesnt really apply to this game, as mario isnt built around a story), but as the first and foremost, fun gameplay. and the gameplay is where it counts. i found the twist of being thrown away and needing to work your way back to the castle to be interesting. I would reccomend this to any mario fan, platforming fan, or wii u owner. A great representation of with whats to come with mario in the near future! Expand
  20. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This game does not just remake new super mario bros it revamps it. Sure it may not be perfect but no game is and this game truily feels like the perfect 2d mario game with good challange, gameplay, diffrent modes, wii u multiplayer/touch control, online, and the hd with a classic mario feel.
  21. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    This Game may be another 2-D , but the game feels very fresh. Adding the challenge mode gives veterans a new interest and the visuals are just stunning. Overall this is a great game.
  22. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Well, New Super Mario Bros. are going to be next Call of Duty - almost everything was before, but the game is really satisfying, so it was on DS and Wii.
  23. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    The level design has much improved over the last NSMB games and the gorgeous and dynamic over world really ties the world together nicely. The main probably with this game is it's uninspired graphics and sub par music. Also if you are unlike myself and don't enjoy chaotic multiplayer with your friends, you may want to avoid the multiplayer aspect of the game
  24. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    After New Super Mario Bros. 2, I was a bit worried that the New Mario franchise had run its course, and that there would be no more innovation in the series. Oh my goodness I was wrong. NSMBU is quite possible the best game in the franchise. Its easy to learn controls, great level design, challenging extra modes, and tons of unlockables make it perfect for anyone who has ever enjoyed any video game. If is, in my opinion, the best Wii U launch title, and one you should definitely pick up. Expand
  25. Dec 2, 2012
    5
    Mario's first adventure in the world of 1080p HD. The crisp clear image is beautiful and the Wii U makes way for some fun new mechanics. Unfortunately the lack of online co-op and the exhausted NSMB formula holds the game back from being anything spectacular.
  26. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    My past involving 2D Super Mario games hasn't been good. Playing them would always lead me to eventual frustration and abandonment of the game altogether. I liked the games, but I never loved them. I simply wasn't skilled enough, nor patient enough, to continue on and finish the game. That is, until I started playing New Super Mario Bros. U. This game is the most indulgent experience in the series to date. The content is enormous. The designs are flawless. And the quality...oh, bellissimo! I knew I would like this game, but I never suspected I would love it this much. I've also gotten 100% completion something I would never dream was possible for me in a 2D Mario adventure and I'm still wanting to play more. The New Super Luigi U content destined to come out later this year cannot arrive soon enough, and will effectively double the content of an already-mammoth game. If you're considering picking up a Wii U, and you can't decide which game to choose, pick New Super Mario Bros. U. Even if 2D Mario adventures aren't your cup of tea, you won't be disappointed with the content-cost ratio. Plus the multiplayer is absolutely hilarious. Expand
  27. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    I think people are giving low scores to this game because they say it looks and feels like all the other games in the "New Super Mario Bros." series. But if you look at the game on its own and you don't compare it to the others in the series, you have a solid game that feels fresh and fun. And for God's sake, how can this game score lower than Mighty Switch Force! Hyper Drive Edition?
  28. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    If you've played any of the other New Super Bros games (or any other 2D Mario for that matter) then you know exactly what to expect. It's the same gameplay with a few nice little additions, which means it's still terrific (with a lot borrowed from Mario 3). Playing it with friends is by far the best way to play this game. Trust me, if you only play it by yourself you're not getting the most out of the game. The time trials and extra challenges are a nice diversion from the single player mode, but playing the main game with others is the way to go Expand
  29. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Don't get fooled by low score reviews from some Nintendo haters.
    There is absolutely no way this game should get any bad review.
    In worst case, this game still should get positive review.
    It's Mario Bros at it's finest and it never looked this good. The game play is nothing new really, but we all love it, so why to change if this is not broken. Graphics look gorgeous, HD is mind
    blowing.
    The only things that keep me away from giving this game 10/10 are:

    - it could be bit longer, I got through game reasonably quickly (thanks there are bonuses and hidden gems to keep you playing even if you beat it first time)
    - I think it's small bit easier than other Mario games (I mean difficulty level)

    Now, I'll give you serious advice. Go and buy this game. This new Mario is a complete must have for any Mario fan, and for anyone else it's still one of the best 2D platformers available on any game system ever.
    I have played on consoles over 15 years now, so you could trust me on this :-)

    Merry Xmas :)
    Expand
  30. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    It's super Mario in HD. The gameplay doesn't need any explaining, but the graphics are superb. No real great gameplay features, but Mario doesn't really need any. My only wish would be for some online play, if we had that it would be a 10.
  31. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    There are not problems in the New formula, but New Super Mario Bros. U it's too short, really simple and there is not much to do. It's a good game to begin to understand the Wii U. Clearly, this was the Wii U game that I spent more time to reviewing, yeah, and I finished fastly and bored. It's a good challenge, a great 2D game. It looks awesome in HD, showing us a new future in the series. Using the Gamepad to place blocks anywhere was a bit confusing and sometimes I noted that this use is forced. A solid game in conclusion. But Nintendo could do a challenger game and longer, maybe a new Super Mario game in 3D. Although the level design is impressive and has greats co-op and multiplayer modes, just skipping the blocks, please. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    90
    Everyone gets a chance to play and interact and have fun. Really, that’s what Nintendo excels at, getting everyone involved and allowing childish enthusiasm to file down the sharp corners of the vexation of adulthood and life experience. New Super Mario Bros. U does that very thing.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    77
    No matter how much content is recycled here, New Super Mario Bros. U is a gem in Wii U’s launch line-up. Problem is, there is nothing that sets it apart from a long line of its predecessors.