User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 503 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 503

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    So basically this game is all the good stuff you liked about Mario when you were a kid, when you were a teen, and now if you're an adult like me, all the stuff you would hope to see. It's basically waay good graphics and gameplay, music and some cute storylines, packed into a promising new console. yeh
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This game does not just remake new super mario bros it revamps it. Sure it may not be perfect but no game is and this game truily feels like the perfect 2d mario game with good challange, gameplay, diffrent modes, wii u multiplayer/touch control, online, and the hd with a classic mario feel.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This game is the side scrolling Mario game we have wanted at long last. The game is a great single player game as well as an amazing co-op game which is hard to come across! I enjoy playing single player on the wiiu pad nearly as much as on the TV with 3 other players, the Wiiu pad being used for the boost mode is great fun! Weither you are helping or trolling with the wiiu pad it is allThis game is the side scrolling Mario game we have wanted at long last. The game is a great single player game as well as an amazing co-op game which is hard to come across! I enjoy playing single player on the wiiu pad nearly as much as on the TV with 3 other players, the Wiiu pad being used for the boost mode is great fun! Weither you are helping or trolling with the wiiu pad it is all fun and just as great as actually playing the game so I concider this game 5 player. The world map is fun and the addition of the baby yoshis is fantastic! The new squirle power-up is like 3D land's tanooki suit but even more suited for a side scrolling game! The art style and graphics are beautiful and it is a unique and fresh take on the side scrolling mario games, I'd say this is the first legit mario side scroller since super mario world! It isn't just about co-op and fun it is also just a welly done game in general! Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    This game is the pinnacle of the New Super Mario Bros. series. Nintendo refines almost every favourable mechanic and includes them in the release. Mario Bros. U has a great over-world, clever level design, and plenty of single-player and multi-player to keep everyone busy. The only fault are the reused music and the familiar level styles but overall, Nintendo creates a platformer thatThis game is the pinnacle of the New Super Mario Bros. series. Nintendo refines almost every favourable mechanic and includes them in the release. Mario Bros. U has a great over-world, clever level design, and plenty of single-player and multi-player to keep everyone busy. The only fault are the reused music and the familiar level styles but overall, Nintendo creates a platformer that defines the genre and the series. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Great game that feels more like the old 16 bit counterparts then the less-than-great Wii & DS entries. The added Challenge mode and Boost Rush are SERIOUS FUN and push this game from a high low 9 to a 10. Seriously, finally adding some new, and not gimmicky modes to the Mario Bros formula is a step in the right direction, FINALLY! :)
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This game does not just remake new super mario bros it revamps it. Sure it may not be perfect but no game is and this game truily feels like the perfect 2d mario game with good challange, gameplay, diffrent modes, wii u multiplayer/touch control, online, and the hd with a classic mario feel.
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It takes the perfect platforming Mario formula, and adds new features that breathe new life in an already amazing game series. The controls are top-notch; they are tight and responsive, and just the perfect degree of control you would expect from a Mario game. The level design is the best yet in the series. The graphics are incredible. Mario in 1080p looksThis game is a masterpiece. It takes the perfect platforming Mario formula, and adds new features that breathe new life in an already amazing game series. The controls are top-notch; they are tight and responsive, and just the perfect degree of control you would expect from a Mario game. The level design is the best yet in the series. The graphics are incredible. Mario in 1080p looks outstanding, and the amount of detail in every background is breathtaking. The game has a large world map, sort of like what is in Super Mario World. There are not a lot of new power-ups this time around, but it's definitely quality over quality. The new squirrel suit (I think that's what it is) is one of the best power-ups I've ever used in a Mario game. You can hold the jump button to glide in the air, and shake the wii remote to gain some extra height. The extra modes are incredible, and add a ton of replay value in this game. Finally, we have a challenge mode where Mario veterans are able do speed runs, coin-collecting runs, etc., and it's just a lot of fun. The game automatically saves your best run so you can watch your triumph at any time. All in all, this game is highly recommended, and one of the best games of the year. Expand
  8. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    After New Super Mario Bros. 2, I was a bit worried that the New Mario franchise had run its course, and that there would be no more innovation in the series. Oh my goodness I was wrong. NSMBU is quite possible the best game in the franchise. Its easy to learn controls, great level design, challenging extra modes, and tons of unlockables make it perfect for anyone who has ever enjoyed anyAfter New Super Mario Bros. 2, I was a bit worried that the New Mario franchise had run its course, and that there would be no more innovation in the series. Oh my goodness I was wrong. NSMBU is quite possible the best game in the franchise. Its easy to learn controls, great level design, challenging extra modes, and tons of unlockables make it perfect for anyone who has ever enjoyed any video game. If is, in my opinion, the best Wii U launch title, and one you should definitely pick up. Expand
  9. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    An excellent entry in the 2D side scrolling New Mario Bros. series. The game looks and plays great and is a blast either single player or with friends along.
  10. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I am giving this game a 10 because I feel it deserves a 10. My wife and I are having an absolute BLAST playing this game. We have had it since launch day and are only half-way through. We have actually been taking the time to try to collect all of the Star Coins and find all the secret levels as we progress, rather than go back after we finish the game. Honestly, I haven't had thisI am giving this game a 10 because I feel it deserves a 10. My wife and I are having an absolute BLAST playing this game. We have had it since launch day and are only half-way through. We have actually been taking the time to try to collect all of the Star Coins and find all the secret levels as we progress, rather than go back after we finish the game. Honestly, I haven't had this much fun in a Mario game since Super Mario World on the SNES. New Super Mario Bros. Wii was fun, and New Super Mario Bros. 2 on 3DS was a nice change to the usual focus, but I don't think they hold a candle to the amount of fun NSMBU has provided. Level design feels fresh, the secrets are pretty well-hidden, and power-ups and Yoshi's really add to the charm. Expand
  11. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    This game is very entertaining. Nintendo does not disappoint in their latest Mario side scroller. The place where this games shines is in interaction among friends, family, and even complete strangers. Not only is it great fun to have five players sitting on a couch stomping on turtle and mushroom heads, the integration with Miiverse allows user to create images or text (often hilarious)This game is very entertaining. Nintendo does not disappoint in their latest Mario side scroller. The place where this games shines is in interaction among friends, family, and even complete strangers. Not only is it great fun to have five players sitting on a couch stomping on turtle and mushroom heads, the integration with Miiverse allows user to create images or text (often hilarious) that describes their experience with any given level. I would highly recommend this game to any Wii U owner. Expand
  12. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't beThis is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Expand
  13. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    My past involving 2D Super Mario games hasn't been good. Playing them would always lead me to eventual frustration and abandonment of the game altogether. I liked the games, but I never loved them. I simply wasn't skilled enough, nor patient enough, to continue on and finish the game. That is, until I started playing New Super Mario Bros. U. This game is the most indulgent experience inMy past involving 2D Super Mario games hasn't been good. Playing them would always lead me to eventual frustration and abandonment of the game altogether. I liked the games, but I never loved them. I simply wasn't skilled enough, nor patient enough, to continue on and finish the game. That is, until I started playing New Super Mario Bros. U. This game is the most indulgent experience in the series to date. The content is enormous. The designs are flawless. And the quality...oh, bellissimo! I knew I would like this game, but I never suspected I would love it this much. I've also gotten 100% completion something I would never dream was possible for me in a 2D Mario adventure and I'm still wanting to play more. The New Super Luigi U content destined to come out later this year cannot arrive soon enough, and will effectively double the content of an already-mammoth game. If you're considering picking up a Wii U, and you can't decide which game to choose, pick New Super Mario Bros. U. Even if 2D Mario adventures aren't your cup of tea, you won't be disappointed with the content-cost ratio. Plus the multiplayer is absolutely hilarious. Expand
  14. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Mario it's Mario!Good gameplay but Mario it's the same from 10 years..Same story(save the princess) and go on..good impact with the new gamepad on wii u..On tv you can see finally Mario in HD (if you have a plasma/led/lcd TV)
  15. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    What can I say, it's Nintendo and it's Mario. New Super Mario Bros U is the first HD Mario ever and it looks amazing. The new controller works great, and you can play through the entire game without a TV, just use the display on the gamepad. The music is what you expect in a Mario game, and so are the levels. You can play up to five players. Four playing with Wiimotes and one playing withWhat can I say, it's Nintendo and it's Mario. New Super Mario Bros U is the first HD Mario ever and it looks amazing. The new controller works great, and you can play through the entire game without a TV, just use the display on the gamepad. The music is what you expect in a Mario game, and so are the levels. You can play up to five players. Four playing with Wiimotes and one playing with the gamepad in Boost Mode where you can help the other players by placing platforms. If love like Mario, you'll love this game. Expand
  16. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    The perfect platformer! You might think i am lying but test it for yourself. The gameplay is tight and accurate as always, There are tons of things to do and the graphics are awesome. I literally spent hours over hours playing this to 100% completion. The formula works again, with style. The multiplayer, while very fun, is not perfect though. Sometimes it feels the other players actuallyThe perfect platformer! You might think i am lying but test it for yourself. The gameplay is tight and accurate as always, There are tons of things to do and the graphics are awesome. I literally spent hours over hours playing this to 100% completion. The formula works again, with style. The multiplayer, while very fun, is not perfect though. Sometimes it feels the other players actually get in the way of the 1st player, but it's still a great experience. Overall, Probably the best wii u game to date. Expand
  17. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    New Super Mario Bros U is the successor of Super Mario World, probably one of the best 2D Mario with Super Mario Bros 3 and Super Mario World. If you have the Wii U and if you love Mario, I think you need to play this game.
  18. May 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Como siempre, los juegos de aventura de Nintendo destacando en entretención. Gran versión, diseño y gráficos espectaculares. Yo estoy 100% conforme y lo recomiendo a todos los que aun no se deciden, en especial para compartir con la novia o tus hermanos. Que sensación más agradable poder jugar con los 5 integrantes de mi familia este clásico de clásico.
    Tal vez lo único no muy atractivo es el uso del Gamepad, creo que está demás el poder agregar elementos de ayuda, debiese haber sido control para un personaje más.
    Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    In my opinion New Super Mario Bros. U is The Best 2D Mario Game Ever Made! Take it from someone who loved super mario world and still plays it. NSMBU has it beat. Level are fun and get pretty challenging. the multiplayer changes the game in a cool way. not to mention the Challenge modes will keep you coming back for for! I'm glad nintendo started packing this game in with the system, causeIn my opinion New Super Mario Bros. U is The Best 2D Mario Game Ever Made! Take it from someone who loved super mario world and still plays it. NSMBU has it beat. Level are fun and get pretty challenging. the multiplayer changes the game in a cool way. not to mention the Challenge modes will keep you coming back for for! I'm glad nintendo started packing this game in with the system, cause it is a system seller like super Mario World was! Expand
  20. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Great game, been a console gamer without a wii, I haven't played a 2D mario game since the snes years. Beautiful game, one of the best 2D platformers out there. Maybe the only modern platformer that really works well. Great job nintendo with the level design. Too bad too many 2D mario games in 2 years, spoiled this game for many.
  21. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    I beat it in only 2 days! It is a must play game. This time, it's really challenging. Best game of 2012 in my personal opinion. Better than Assassin's Creed 3.
  22. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    This game is perfect. Of the New Super Mario Bros line of games, this one is the best, by far. The visuals are gorgeous, the soundtrack is wonderful, and the levels are impeccably designed. The game is overall insanely difficult, especially the challenges, but I kept coming back even after all the frustration because watching the replay of yourself make a perfect run through a challenge isThis game is perfect. Of the New Super Mario Bros line of games, this one is the best, by far. The visuals are gorgeous, the soundtrack is wonderful, and the levels are impeccably designed. The game is overall insanely difficult, especially the challenges, but I kept coming back even after all the frustration because watching the replay of yourself make a perfect run through a challenge is just so dang satisfying. Expand
  23. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    One of the best Games on the Wii U , Graphics Look Stunning , Its Old School Mario at its Best , definitely worth picking up a wii u to play all the mario games so far , mario kart 8 , new super luigi , mario 3d world ...
  24. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most captivating innovative titles released in a long time. Much better than that "hardcore" cinematic dreck Sony and Microsoft release... Directed by Satouwa Iwata himself he brings you an absolutely incredible game running at 1080p/90FPS filled to the brim with personality and insane secrets that keep you coming back for more and more. Each enemy has a different designThis is one of the most captivating innovative titles released in a long time. Much better than that "hardcore" cinematic dreck Sony and Microsoft release... Directed by Satouwa Iwata himself he brings you an absolutely incredible game running at 1080p/90FPS filled to the brim with personality and insane secrets that keep you coming back for more and more. Each enemy has a different design to help you on your way and the story is so ground breaking... But I will not spoil!

    The worlds are extremely creative and have never been done before in any medium. When have you've jumped on flying octopus monkeys in cyber space while chasing a yellow carrot? Never! That's what. The music... Man, I can't even explain just how well done that music is. Recorded in the same studio as Mario Galaxy it really boils the tension and mood the story takes as you rescue your lover from an evil satan-like demon and his hellspawn.

    I cannot express it in words... Buy a Wii U and get this game. You will not regret it one bit! It's by far one of the most truly unique games and Mr. iwata himself ensured this... Don't waste your money on a Playstation 4 which has literally no games and just indies and an Xbox One which apparently steals your information. No! You gotta get this game with a Wii U.
    Expand
  25. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    I just finished the first player story mode and I have to say -- I am impressed! It was easy to learn, but difficult to master. Some levels I died more than I'd like to admit -- but I always got a chuckle reading other players' postings to miiverse. Overall, I'd give this a 10/10. Next up -- New Super Luigi U!!!
  26. Nov 24, 2014
    10
    Wii U sale a la luz con un excelente juego de lanzamiento, este Mario supera al de Wii con mejores niveles, mas creativos, y ver a Mario por primera vez en HD, el OST es muy bueno y parece un Super Mario World HD, es un excelente juego, un Mario por excelencia, hermosos paisajes, mundos, y la batalla final es épica.

    Lo único malo es que para ser un juego de Miyamoto y para Wii U no trae
    Wii U sale a la luz con un excelente juego de lanzamiento, este Mario supera al de Wii con mejores niveles, mas creativos, y ver a Mario por primera vez en HD, el OST es muy bueno y parece un Super Mario World HD, es un excelente juego, un Mario por excelencia, hermosos paisajes, mundos, y la batalla final es épica.

    Lo único malo es que para ser un juego de Miyamoto y para Wii U no trae nada de innovador con el game pad, poner plataformas te aburre después de jugar 2 niveles, muy pobre el uso de game pad. este juego es de 9.5 pero no puedo calificarlo así
    Expand
  27. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    The game not only comes free for many of the Wii U's skews, but it's also a valuable game still marketed at nearly full price today, because you just can't beat Nintendo quality. The side-scrolling adventure is fun with 1-5 players and has a very fast paced, methodical nature. It's worlds are vibrantly colored and varied, and the game has a lot to keep you coming back for more.
  28. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Don't think that this is "Just another Mario game", sure it's the same 2D side-scrolling gameplay that are in the other 2D Mario games but the fantastic level design and challenge help this game feel fresh. The game looks gorgeous and the soundtrack is fantastic (although it's not as good as other Mario games). As far as Wii U features go aside from using the touch screen in the menu youDon't think that this is "Just another Mario game", sure it's the same 2D side-scrolling gameplay that are in the other 2D Mario games but the fantastic level design and challenge help this game feel fresh. The game looks gorgeous and the soundtrack is fantastic (although it's not as good as other Mario games). As far as Wii U features go aside from using the touch screen in the menu you can play the entire game on the gamepad, but the game looks so good on the big screen nobody will blame you if you never look at the pad, it's helpful on bathroom breaks though. The only real use for the gamepad functionality is in multiplayer. You can have the gamepad player place blocks onscreen to jump on which can really save your bacon on some of the more difficult levels. Multiplayer is at it's best when it's two players and one of them is using the gamepad, get more than two together and the game turns into a chaotic, albeit humorous, mess. To play this game with more than two people and actually make some progress you need to communicate, or else game time can turn into fight night. The game packs a lot of content not only do you have the lengthy story mode you also have various challenge modes which will keep you playing after you beat the story mode. The only real issue I have with this game is the amount of recycled bosses, I swear I fought the same boss at least half a dozen times. If your a Mario fan, 2D platformer fan, or just like good, challenging games than you should really consider picking this up. Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    This is the first Mario that makes me want to play all the time since Super Mario 3. Children love it and can help a lot without having to catch up all the time and I can play on my own and truly enjoy it. I am impressed and already glad I bought the Wii U.
  30. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    First off, the squirrel suit is awesome...They added some nice extra modes in this to extend the fun beyond what some of the previous NSMB games have had. The visuals look really nice on the wii u. The music feels like they stepped it up a bit in this versus the previous games which I thought had pretty cheesy circus music. This is another solid platformer with a nice challenge to it.First off, the squirrel suit is awesome...They added some nice extra modes in this to extend the fun beyond what some of the previous NSMB games have had. The visuals look really nice on the wii u. The music feels like they stepped it up a bit in this versus the previous games which I thought had pretty cheesy circus music. This is another solid platformer with a nice challenge to it. If you are trying to figure out what wii u game to get...you can't really go wrong with this one. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    90
    Everyone gets a chance to play and interact and have fun. Really, that’s what Nintendo excels at, getting everyone involved and allowing childish enthusiasm to file down the sharp corners of the vexation of adulthood and life experience. New Super Mario Bros. U does that very thing.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    77
    No matter how much content is recycled here, New Super Mario Bros. U is a gem in Wii U’s launch line-up. Problem is, there is nothing that sets it apart from a long line of its predecessors.