Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 492 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle is under attack with the Princess trapped inside—and the heroes have been cast out to the four corners of the Mushroom Kingdom. Will they make it back in time to save the day? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    95
    There are curmudgeons out there who will skip this game because of the liberal Mario throwbacks, but they're missing the forest for the trees. Inventive level design, loads of content, and the shockingly profound boost mode make this one of the best 2D platformers out there.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros U is truly a "new" game in the series. A Must Buy for every Mario fan on the Planet.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    85
    Nintendo rediscovers fun for the core gamer: New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly surprising, but delivers quite a challenge with its classic jump & run roots.
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    82
    We were surprised, excited and twinkly-eyed during an excellent finale. [Christmas 2012, p.28]
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The latest entry in the endless Mario series is hardly "new" in concept, but doesn't fail to entertain and to represent yet another excellent platformer.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    60
    Everything about New Super Mario Bros. U is pretty exciting, except the game itself. Is it possible that this is the best game in the "New" series to date--not to mention one of the best exclusive Wii U games on the market, by default--and at the same time kind of flatly uninteresting? Apparently so. The game is perfectly well made for what it is, and I had plenty of fun playing it in short bursts here and there, but at this point the series' by-the-numbers design philosophy is starting to lend the name "New Super Mario Bros." a degree of unintentional irony.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 118
  1. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    I just finished the first player story mode and I have to say -- I am impressed! It was easy to learn, but difficult to master. Some levels I died more than I'd like to admit -- but I always got a chuckle reading other players' postings to miiverse. Overall, I'd give this a 10/10. Next up -- New Super Luigi U!!! Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    New Super Mario Bros. U is a safe game that doesn't really show off the power of Nintendo's new home console. The gamepad isn't used in a new and inventive way, the graphics are in HD, but only in 720p, not 1080p, (which, after playing Rayman Ledgends, baffles me) and in terms of Mario games, this one doesn't do anything super special. However, it does do something that the "New" series has struggled to do for the past 6 years, and that is to really make a Mario game that isn't just good and or even great, but to make a 2D platforming Mario game that recaptures what the original Mario games had on the NES and SNES and make it amazing and maybe even better. This game, NSMBU, is easily the best of the "New" series and, in my opinion, is one of the best Mario games out there and if you have a Wii U, you NEED to get this game. It's a fun game that is actually challenging, another thing the other games in the "New" series have struggled to do. It has enough original ideas to make in feel fresh, and it has enough of the old concepts to make it fell like a true Mario game. Going back to the challenge aspect, the game is hard. It's not the kind of hard that will make you want to eat a toxic mushroom, but ti's the kind of hard that will make you think, "should I throw the controller on the floor and buy a new system, or should I just try to resist?" And the integration with Miiverse is fantastic. Let's say you die on a level 10 times (which WILL happen). A little prompt will come up asking, "Would you like to post your thoughts about this course to Miiverse," or, "would you like to write a letter to Bowser about this course on Miiverse," or a few other questions. It's nice to say, "Don't do ______ because of ______," or see someone say "DEAR BOWSER: I HATE YOU!!!" That being said, did I see some inappropriate drawings and words? Yes, I did. To summarize, New Super Mario Bros. U is the best game in the "New" series, and is a fantastic game in general. Not only that, but it is one of the best Mario games out there, which is welcome after New Super Mario Bros. 2. However, the game is a safe game, and not one that dares to push the limits of the system or Mario. So, if you're looking for a fun Mario game or a fantastic 2D platforming adventure, PICK THIS GAME UP. However, if you're looking for something that is truly monumental and defines the Wii U and what it can do, or is a Mario game that will be remembered as the holy grail of Mario games for eons to come, you might want to wait for the next 3D Mario game that might come out this year or the year after that. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I love that Nintendo still releases side-scrolling Mario games. Super Mario Bros. 3 is one of my favorite games, and I still enjoy playing its style of gaming. New Super Mario Bros. U takes on the traditional formula with added HD graphics, a new power-up, challenge modes, and most importantly all-new levels.

    Nintendo's focus was on gameplay and it hit the nail on the head. First and foremost it is important to note that NSMBU is an extremely fun game. The storyline is essentially non-existent, the graphics are improved but nothing to rave about, and the challenge modes are a nice addition, but this game prides itself on side-scrolling goodness and Nintendo does it best.

    Simply, if you like side-scrolling platforming, you'll love NSMBU as it perfectly executes the genre.
    Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    It's a New Super Mario Bros. game. There isn't much else to say. If you like Mario games than you will like this one. The kids like it, I like it, my wife likes it. Good graphics and controls as usual. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    This game is fun, but it is not as good as the Wii version. The game looks great in HD, is loads of fun in co-op and the levels are well designed. However, this game gets very boring after beating the main campaign and there are very few levels that are worth repeating. But the game is enjoyable, just not a must own. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    1
    I remember when new mario games by Nintendo EAD were always genre defying AAA epics. It literally feels like i've beaten this game before and it literally feels like Nintendo is lazier than ever.

    Too lazy to go with a 4th character instead using a color palette swapped toad, too lazy for actual minibosses reminicent of the yoshis island series, to lazy to put any real heart into their new mario games instead pimping out a cheap SUB-PAR completely acceptable standard product unlike in the olden days before wii fit, wii sports, wii play, and wii party when nintendo actually thought they had to put effort and content into their games for them to sell.
    Expand

See all 118 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.