New Super Mario Bros. U Wii U

New Super Mario Bros. U Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 658 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle isIt was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle is under attack with the Princess trapped inside—and the heroes have been cast out to the four corners of the Mushroom Kingdom. Will they make it back in time to save the day? Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    95
    There are curmudgeons out there who will skip this game because of the liberal Mario throwbacks, but they're missing the forest for the trees. Inventive level design, loads of content, and the shockingly profound boost mode make this one of the best 2D platformers out there.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros U is truly a "new" game in the series. A Must Buy for every Mario fan on the Planet.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    85
    Nintendo rediscovers fun for the core gamer: New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly surprising, but delivers quite a challenge with its classic jump & run roots.
  5. Games Master UK
    Nov 17, 2012
    82
    We were surprised, excited and twinkly-eyed during an excellent finale. [Christmas 2012, p.28]
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The latest entry in the endless Mario series is hardly "new" in concept, but doesn't fail to entertain and to represent yet another excellent platformer.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    60
    Everything about New Super Mario Bros. U is pretty exciting, except the game itself. Is it possible that this is the best game in the "New" series to date--not to mention one of the best exclusive Wii U games on the market, by default--and at the same time kind of flatly uninteresting? Apparently so. The game is perfectly well made for what it is, and I had plenty of fun playing it in short bursts here and there, but at this point the series' by-the-numbers design philosophy is starting to lend the name "New Super Mario Bros." a degree of unintentional irony.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 141
  1. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    Older series' with such a huge swath of fans have a difficult job. They have to both satisfy existing fans by giving them what they expect,Older series' with such a huge swath of fans have a difficult job. They have to both satisfy existing fans by giving them what they expect, while simultaneously innovating enough so that fans don't roll their eyes at the "same old game, repackaged." As any series grows older and older, this tightrope, per se, gets thinner and thinner. With a game as old as Mario, that wire is basically a piece of spaghetti (yes, that's an Italian joke and no, I don't care.)
    Knowing this, I tried to divorce myself of prior Marios as I played this game and pretend (as best I could) that it was the first in the series. I knew the mental trick wouldn't work entirely, but perhaps it could give me some fresh perspective on what is a very well executed title.
    The story is simple enough: you are Mario, your friends have been captured, and now you have to recapture the mushroom kingdom level by level in order to rescue them. But nobody plays Mario for the story, so let's talk about the rest of the game:
    Graphics are crisp as Mario makes his HD debut, with bright and inviting colors that will immerse you in the 2D world. The music is vintage and the sound effects are satisfying (the woo hoos, the boink as you stomp an enemy koopa, and the whoosh of the flying suit are all fun. I must say, though, the sound of grabbing a star coin (Ching!) is especially satisfying, as is the huge applause you garner when grabbing all three. I seriously could almost feel the pleasure sensor in my brain trigger as I accomplished this feat.)
    Game play is responsive and fluid with almost zero bugs. Mario has all kinds of cool moves to utilize, too -- the jump, the running jump, the double jump, the wall bounce, the ground and pound, the throw, the slide, various powerup moves -- and you'll need them all to get all the unlockables.
    The unlockables brings me to another great aspect of Mario, which is fluid difficulty. As a long time gamer I love super challenging games, but I do sometimes have to knock games that aren't in some way inviting to a novice. What's great about Mario is that even though it has no adjustable difficulty setting, players can adjust it themselves depending on how they want to clear a level. For instance, beating a level while gaining zero stars is somewhere between easy and medium, beating a level while getting all 3 stars is typically between medium and hard, and beating a level while earning all 3 stars as well as unlocking the secret exit is somewhere between hard and extreme.
    I'd have liked one or two more special suits, though the flying squirrel was a blast. Aside from that I really don't have any other negatives.
    Super Mario U, IMO, is a must own title for Wii U users.
    Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want IThis is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    If you have ever played a Mario game, you already know what this game is. It has the same core as mario did, but this game adds new mechanicsIf you have ever played a Mario game, you already know what this game is. It has the same core as mario did, but this game adds new mechanics throughout the game to stop it from being a redesigned New Super Mario Bros. The new concepts, like the falling head statues, are welcome and make this one of the bet games Mario has to offer. If you put all nostalgia aside, and look at this game as a single release for quality, you'll know that this is one of Mario's best adventures thus far. If your looking for some redemption on New Super Mario Bros 2, this game is it. It shines as a diamond in the pile of similar mario games. If you enjoy good fun games, treat yourself to this game. Collapse
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I love that Nintendo still releases side-scrolling Mario games. Super Mario Bros. 3 is one of my favorite games, and I still enjoy playingI love that Nintendo still releases side-scrolling Mario games. Super Mario Bros. 3 is one of my favorite games, and I still enjoy playing its style of gaming. New Super Mario Bros. U takes on the traditional formula with added HD graphics, a new power-up, challenge modes, and most importantly all-new levels.

    Nintendo's focus was on gameplay and it hit the nail on the head. First and foremost it is important to note that NSMBU is an extremely fun game. The storyline is essentially non-existent, the graphics are improved but nothing to rave about, and the challenge modes are a nice addition, but this game prides itself on side-scrolling goodness and Nintendo does it best.

    Simply, if you like side-scrolling platforming, you'll love NSMBU as it perfectly executes the genre.
    Expand
  5. HMK
    Jan 26, 2013
    8
    After 3 games that desperately tried to revitalize the core Super Mario Bros game play and style Nintendo has released New Super Mario Bros. UAfter 3 games that desperately tried to revitalize the core Super Mario Bros game play and style Nintendo has released New Super Mario Bros. U on the heels of New Super Mario Bros. 2, after the passing performance it Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    Let's sum-up my feelings about this game, considering i had New Super Mario Bros. Wii

    Positive: -Graphics *-* ! I really find myself
    Let's sum-up my feelings about this game, considering i had New Super Mario Bros. Wii

    Positive:
    -Graphics *-* ! I really find myself looking at the decor and saying it's beautiful.
    -It still pleasant and funny !
    -There are some new interesting mechanics
    -The baby yoshis is a nice add
    -Catching Nabbit is quite easy but adds a bit more challenge
    -The new games in the toad houses

    Negative:
    -It may be me but i had the feeling the levels were quite short
    -It's much easier if you already experienced super mario bros on Wii, and it feels more like a New super mario bros Wii 2 than a brand new game
    -Indeed, more innovation wouldn't have be bad

    That's almost all i have to say. In conclusion, it's a really nice game, but i suggest that if you're hesitating between this game and another platformer (like DKtropical freeze which is coming soon), you'd better buy the other game. Yep, i'd put Mario Bros U as a secondary game for Wii U even if it's very good !
    Also, i mut precise that i bought it with New Super Luigi U (which i didn't experienced yet) and i think it has the capacity (with what i saw from it) to offset New Super Mario Bros. U problems. One last thing, i suggest you buy the version with NSLU included, it's cheaper from what i saw.
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2015
    0
    I am very disappointed in Nintendo for making this game. It plays almost exactly the same as the New SMB for Wii--same sound effects, sameI am very disappointed in Nintendo for making this game. It plays almost exactly the same as the New SMB for Wii--same sound effects, same music, same graphics (except the upgrade to HD which is not that dramatic given the graphical style of mario games. Miyamoto said he wanted to release a mario game with each new console, which I agree with, but please do so by making a completely new game, not by just increasing the difficultu and adding a few things. I don't need my mario games to become ever more complex. I just need them to be FUN. And New SMB Wii U is simply not fun if you've already played New SMB Wii. Expand

See all 141 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.