Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 505 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle isIt was just another dinner at the castle with Mario, Luigi, Toad, and Princess Peach... Until suddenly the vicious Koopa fleet invades Mushroom kingdom airspace and launches a full-scale assault! With Bowser at the helm and his Koopalings each in their own custom airships, the castle is under attack with the Princess trapped inside—and the heroes have been cast out to the four corners of the Mushroom Kingdom. Will they make it back in time to save the day? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    95
    There are curmudgeons out there who will skip this game because of the liberal Mario throwbacks, but they're missing the forest for the trees. Inventive level design, loads of content, and the shockingly profound boost mode make this one of the best 2D platformers out there.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros U is truly a "new" game in the series. A Must Buy for every Mario fan on the Planet.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    85
    Nintendo rediscovers fun for the core gamer: New Super Mario Bros. U is hardly surprising, but delivers quite a challenge with its classic jump & run roots.
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    82
    We were surprised, excited and twinkly-eyed during an excellent finale. [Christmas 2012, p.28]
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    The latest entry in the endless Mario series is hardly "new" in concept, but doesn't fail to entertain and to represent yet another excellent platformer.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    60
    Everything about New Super Mario Bros. U is pretty exciting, except the game itself. Is it possible that this is the best game in the "New" series to date--not to mention one of the best exclusive Wii U games on the market, by default--and at the same time kind of flatly uninteresting? Apparently so. The game is perfectly well made for what it is, and I had plenty of fun playing it in short bursts here and there, but at this point the series' by-the-numbers design philosophy is starting to lend the name "New Super Mario Bros." a degree of unintentional irony.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 119
  1. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    One of the best Games on the Wii U , Graphics Look Stunning , Its Old School Mario at its Best , definitely worth picking up a wii u to playOne of the best Games on the Wii U , Graphics Look Stunning , Its Old School Mario at its Best , definitely worth picking up a wii u to play all the mario games so far , mario kart 8 , new super luigi , mario 3d world ... Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want IThis is the first new super mario brothers that I don't feel is lacking. It looks beautiful and the gamelplay is as good as ever. But want I like most is the ammount of content. I feel like there is so much to do and the challenge and rush mode is something that keeps bringing me back. I'd be suprised if you had a wii u and didn't have this game. If you don't have it, get it, you won't be disappointed Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    The game is simply fun to play. It's a classic Mario game with some new twists and turns. Having the gamepad as a 2nd screen and being ableThe game is simply fun to play. It's a classic Mario game with some new twists and turns. Having the gamepad as a 2nd screen and being able to play the game on the gamepad by itself is a thing gamers have been dreaming of for quite some time. Throw in the new challenge modes that are available and you have a game that has some nice alternatives to try out once you are done with the main story mode. Overall I really enjoyed this game and have had a blast playing it. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I love that Nintendo still releases side-scrolling Mario games. Super Mario Bros. 3 is one of my favorite games, and I still enjoy playingI love that Nintendo still releases side-scrolling Mario games. Super Mario Bros. 3 is one of my favorite games, and I still enjoy playing its style of gaming. New Super Mario Bros. U takes on the traditional formula with added HD graphics, a new power-up, challenge modes, and most importantly all-new levels.

    Nintendo's focus was on gameplay and it hit the nail on the head. First and foremost it is important to note that NSMBU is an extremely fun game. The storyline is essentially non-existent, the graphics are improved but nothing to rave about, and the challenge modes are a nice addition, but this game prides itself on side-scrolling goodness and Nintendo does it best.

    Simply, if you like side-scrolling platforming, you'll love NSMBU as it perfectly executes the genre.
    Expand
  5. HMK
    Jan 26, 2013
    8
    After 3 games that desperately tried to revitalize the core Super Mario Bros game play and style Nintendo has released New Super Mario Bros. UAfter 3 games that desperately tried to revitalize the core Super Mario Bros game play and style Nintendo has released New Super Mario Bros. U on the heels of New Super Mario Bros. 2, after the passing performance it Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2013
    8
    A very fun game to play. HD graphics and very detailed. Crisp sound. The thing is that it is the same thing OVER and OVER again, but still,A very fun game to play. HD graphics and very detailed. Crisp sound. The thing is that it is the same thing OVER and OVER again, but still, great game and fun to play. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    1
    I remember when new mario games by Nintendo EAD were always genre defying AAA epics. It literally feels like i've beaten this game before andI remember when new mario games by Nintendo EAD were always genre defying AAA epics. It literally feels like i've beaten this game before and it literally feels like Nintendo is lazier than ever.

    Too lazy to go with a 4th character instead using a color palette swapped toad, too lazy for actual minibosses reminicent of the yoshis island series, to lazy to put any real heart into their new mario games instead pimping out a cheap SUB-PAR completely acceptable standard product unlike in the olden days before wii fit, wii sports, wii play, and wii party when nintendo actually thought they had to put effort and content into their games for them to sell.
    Expand

See all 119 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.