Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NINJA GAIDEN 3: Razor's Edge promises to be a leaner, tighter experience than the original game. Significantly reduced scripted sequences, streamlined game flow, and improved A.I. complement an array of new features exclusive to the Wii U console.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    80
    Fans of frantic action and beat 'em up style fighting will be overawed by how intense Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge is.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    A standout effort as Wii U launch titles go, but it's also a welcome improvement to a game that sorely needed a kick. Team Ninja heard the complaints about Ninja Gaiden 3 and came back with an exceptional revision in Razor's Edge, one that lives up to the high standards set by other games in the series, reinvigorating its combat with fresh variety and a real challenge.
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    76
    It's far from perfect and best viewed with "launch goggles" on, but Razor's Edge's unflinching action and unabashed violence is a great sign for the Wii U as a core gamer's platform.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    The updated Wii U version improves on many issues that irked fans when Ninja Gaiden 3 originally launched, but repetitious battles and a hokey story knock the experience down a few notches. [Dec 2012, p.86]
  5. Jan 13, 2013
    70
    Razor's Edge is a better game than the original Ninja Gaiden 3 and a worthy option for Wii U users.
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    60
    Razor’s Edge delivers more content and more gore compared to the original, but nonetheless the fearless Ryu Hayabusa is still miles away from his former self.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    Ninja Gaiden: Razor's Edge still remains the weakest title in the Ninja Gaiden trilogy, but additions like the Ayane missions and balancing tweaks make the game a decent, gloriously gory action title...The weak story, repeat enemies, and frame-rate issues still hold the bloody title back from the greatness of its prestigious pedigree.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    When I first played this game on Xbox 360, I really didn't like it. It had a lot of problems and it was overall very disappointing. Well all those problems are now fixed, there's a few extra features, and this game is incredible. The Wii U version is the only version you should play of this game. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    This version is so much better than the Xbox & PS3 version. I'm now able to cut up my enemies and have lots of blood splattered across the screen. Too bad there're more jaggies and low-res background textures, due to the weak Wii U processor. There''s also slowdown when lots of enemies appear on-screen. Hope this version will make it to the PC or PS4 because it's not worth buying the weak Wii U system. I was so disappointed that it was not more powerful and the PS3. I'm waiting for PS4. Currently, I'm on PC now. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Great game. Difficulty is actually quite high. I didn't expect the bosses to be quite so... daunting. lol

    Having not played a NG game
    since the NES days, I went into this not knowing what to expect, and kinda cautious about what had happened to the series over the decades. I was not disappointed, in fact, I'd say I'm impressed. Visually, it's a very pretty game. Ayane, and Ryu and co all look very good. The voice overs are great, and overall, it's a wonderful game.

    So far, I've played only the campaign, but it's great. Worth a try? Definitely.
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Awesome entry into the Ninja Gaiden Series, if you want a hard game that will really make you angry enough to want to keep dealing with the stress then this game/ series is for you, the online multiplayer feature is also fun as well, very rarely do i lag although it is kind of hard to find people to play with. All the problems from the 360 version of it have been adressed and fixed as well, decent assortment of weapons to pick from. I would say if your into the hack n slash genre or never played a game like this before start with NG3: Razors Edge Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    I think the only reason the user score for this game isn't any higher is because there's some idiots out there who think this is the same game that came out for the 360 and PS3. How wrong they are. Having never played Ninja Gaiden before, I had no idea how big of a treat I was in for when I played this game. The first thing that needs to be mentioned is the gameplay. The last time I had such a good time with a hack-and-slash game was with No More Heroes 2, and not only is this game faster than it, it's also a lot bloodier than it. The story is very engaging and I felt like I really wanted to save the world from these pricks who are tearing the world apart just to prove that ninjas are outdated (they're wrong, anyway. ;D). With the bonus Ayane levels, the Chapter Challenge Mode and the online modes, I've dumped almost thirty hours into this game and I still haven't found everything. That shows you just how engaging it is. It's safe to say that Team Ninja definitely brought their A-game to this remake, because if you haven't played it, don't listen to me ramble on about it! Go buy it!

    Just try not to throw your control at the screen because while this game is incredibly fun, GOOD GOD IS IT HARD!!!
    Collapse
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Just picked up the game today and I love it! Finally, the Ninja Gaiden we have to come to love and know is back. Never thought I'd play Ninja Gaiden 3 based off the abysmal demo I played on the 360 and all the negative reviews tore it to shreds, but Razor's Edge has fixed a lot (almost all) of it's problems!

    PROS
    -Customizable weapons alongside leveling system
    -Bloody/Gore like excessive ridiculous over the top limb slicing gore
    -It is amazing to play this on your gamepad
    -Really hard in a good old school way
    -looks beautiful

    CONS
    -framerate slows down when multiple enemies are surrounding you, I experienced this right from the get-go in the London level
    -Story is meh
    -So far I couldn't find anyone online to play with. Not a good sign
    -Hard to keep up with combos on gamepad

    Overall, I'm very satisfied buying it and I can't wait to beat it. I hope people give Razor's Edge a chance, it's worthy of your time
    Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    Not quite the return to form I would hope to see, but a staggering improvement nonetheless. Combat is fast, tense, and unforgiving. You're provided with a wide variety of weapons and abilities to spice up the experience, and the constant slew of new and ever more threatening enemies keeps you on your toes. Boss fights were a bit of a mixed bag, but the ones that I enjoyed were quite thrilling. The amount of content in the game leaves little room for disappointment. The only issues I have with the game are that the camera can at times be somewhat uncooperative, and the designs of the levels are a bit too straight-forward. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews