Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NINJA GAIDEN 3: Razor's Edge promises to be a leaner, tighter experience than the original game. Significantly reduced scripted sequences, streamlined game flow, and improved A.I. complement an array of new features exclusive to the Wii U console.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    80
    Fans of frantic action and beat 'em up style fighting will be overawed by how intense Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge is.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    A standout effort as Wii U launch titles go, but it's also a welcome improvement to a game that sorely needed a kick. Team Ninja heard the complaints about Ninja Gaiden 3 and came back with an exceptional revision in Razor's Edge, one that lives up to the high standards set by other games in the series, reinvigorating its combat with fresh variety and a real challenge.
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    76
    It's far from perfect and best viewed with "launch goggles" on, but Razor's Edge's unflinching action and unabashed violence is a great sign for the Wii U as a core gamer's platform.
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    The updated Wii U version improves on many issues that irked fans when Ninja Gaiden 3 originally launched, but repetitious battles and a hokey story knock the experience down a few notches. [Dec 2012, p.86]
  5. Jan 13, 2013
    70
    Razor's Edge is a better game than the original Ninja Gaiden 3 and a worthy option for Wii U users.
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    60
    Razor’s Edge delivers more content and more gore compared to the original, but nonetheless the fearless Ryu Hayabusa is still miles away from his former self.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    Ninja Gaiden: Razor's Edge still remains the weakest title in the Ninja Gaiden trilogy, but additions like the Ayane missions and balancing tweaks make the game a decent, gloriously gory action title...The weak story, repeat enemies, and frame-rate issues still hold the bloody title back from the greatness of its prestigious pedigree.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    This version is so much better than the Xbox & PS3 version. I'm now able to cut up my enemies and have lots of blood splattered across theThis version is so much better than the Xbox & PS3 version. I'm now able to cut up my enemies and have lots of blood splattered across the screen. Too bad there're more jaggies and low-res background textures, due to the weak Wii U processor. There''s also slowdown when lots of enemies appear on-screen. Hope this version will make it to the PC or PS4 because it's not worth buying the weak Wii U system. I was so disappointed that it was not more powerful and the PS3. I'm waiting for PS4. Currently, I'm on PC now. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    When I first played this game on Xbox 360, I really didn't like it. It had a lot of problems and it was overall very disappointing. Well allWhen I first played this game on Xbox 360, I really didn't like it. It had a lot of problems and it was overall very disappointing. Well all those problems are now fixed, there's a few extra features, and this game is incredible. The Wii U version is the only version you should play of this game. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    If you're looking for the pinnacle in hardcore action with plenty of gore and violence, then Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge is the game for you.If you're looking for the pinnacle in hardcore action with plenty of gore and violence, then Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge is the game for you. This version of NG3 is an enhanced port with plenty of new features including new playable characters and stages. The additions to the game make Razor's Edge on the Wii U the definitive version of the game. The action is fast paced and non-stop. There's a great upgrade feature to help you along in the game and customize your play-style depending on what weapon you prefer. The boss fights are epic and difficult, as is the entire game. The soundtrack is great, the voice acting is good and the graphics look good too. The GamePad allows for off-tv play and there's also an online mode. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    its a shame that these new features aren't in the other consoles, then it would have a low score back then, but this game fix all the annoyingits a shame that these new features aren't in the other consoles, then it would have a low score back then, but this game fix all the annoying things about Ninja gaiden 3 & added new features that fans always loved about the series. Features like boss battles from the past, gore, co-op, other playable characters, more weapons & attack. If you haven't gotten NG3 on ps3 or 360 yet & love blood & violence, i suggest you picked it up, for those who have played it already & won't get the game, they'll miss out.

    BTW even though the gamepad doesn't add anything new, the fact that you can play IN the gamepad instead of the tv is enough
    Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    Ninja Gaiden 3 fell short at trying to make the series more open to non-fans, by removing much of what made the series so great. Now, 7 monthNinja Gaiden 3 fell short at trying to make the series more open to non-fans, by removing much of what made the series so great. Now, 7 month later, the game has been remade as a launch title for Nintendo Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Just picked up the game today and I love it! Finally, the Ninja Gaiden we have to come to love and know is back. Never thought I'd play NinjaJust picked up the game today and I love it! Finally, the Ninja Gaiden we have to come to love and know is back. Never thought I'd play Ninja Gaiden 3 based off the abysmal demo I played on the 360 and all the negative reviews tore it to shreds, but Razor's Edge has fixed a lot (almost all) of it's problems!

    PROS
    -Customizable weapons alongside leveling system
    -Bloody/Gore like excessive ridiculous over the top limb slicing gore
    -It is amazing to play this on your gamepad
    -Really hard in a good old school way
    -looks beautiful

    CONS
    -framerate slows down when multiple enemies are surrounding you, I experienced this right from the get-go in the London level
    -Story is meh
    -So far I couldn't find anyone online to play with. Not a good sign
    -Hard to keep up with combos on gamepad

    Overall, I'm very satisfied buying it and I can't wait to beat it. I hope people give Razor's Edge a chance, it's worthy of your time
    Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2015
    3
    Worst camera of all time. You can't turn off cam auto move. The cam always does whatever it wants to, just rip out the right stick from yourWorst camera of all time. You can't turn off cam auto move. The cam always does whatever it wants to, just rip out the right stick from your controller to never ever get tempted to use it while fighting.

    The character moves around like I don't know, anything but a ninja. This guy just feels slow and not responsive. Juliet from Lolipop Chansaw feels more like a ninja because the controlls feel more fluent.

    In NG3 it feels like all movement is kind of in some sort of a fixed grid, you need to wait for all animations to end and they feel long. Sometimes after attacking and then running away a little bit you can't attack right away. You have to actively stop and turn around to attack in the direction that you want, it's not enough to quick press the direction followed by the attack button.

    Graphics are ok. Sound and music: Ok. The game has slowdowns which explains why they had to lower the enemy count and are selling it as something good because the enemies are now harder in this version ... what ever, it still has slow downs that are painful.

    The first stage is ok until you reach the part with all the smoke or fog and you don't know where to go, enemies come out of nowhere and with the controlls feeling stif as I said ... I just stopped playing. I still have to beat Bayonetta 2. I've beaten Bayoneta 1 some time ago and I think I'll just do that now before I destroy my controller. I have no patience for NG3. It's the first and last Ninja Gaiden game that I bought.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews