Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In a wonderful cartoon world populated by Mii characters, the players are able to play twelve different games, inspired by Nintendo biggest franchise, from Super Mario to Zelda. Nintendo Land is the perfect bundle game for the imminent launch of the new Nintendo console. We suggest the game to all the Wii U buyers, Nintendo fans, and casual gamers.
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    80
    There's a good possibility that if you're interested in getting a Wii U at all, you'll end up with Nintendo Land anyway, since the game is bundled with the deluxe package that includes the black version of the console, four times as much internal storage, and a two-year discount on eShop games. That whole package is $10 less than buying the basic white Wii U model and Nintendo Land separately, and the good news is, Nintendo Land provides enough rousing minigames--provided you've got the players and the hardware--and a convincing enough case for the new control scheme to make it a worthwhile companion piece alongside your new Wii U.
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land isn't just a fine showcase of the Wii U's capabilities, though it certainly is that. It's also a great game in its own right.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is a completely unique game unlike anything else available on other consoles, combining the way the Smash Bros. games used Nintendo's history with the innovation of Wii Sports.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    It's not just half a dozen great diversions and a few more besides; it's sweet fan service that celebrates Nintendo's catalogue with more heart and less calculation than we've seen of late. Better yet, it reclaims the used and abused mini-game compilation from the hollow hinterlands of the casual cash-in, lovingly restores it and puts it back where it belongs - amid the hustle, the buzz, the urgent appeal of the arcade.
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    It's massive, but disposable; grotesque, yet striking; commodified, but affecting. Not everything in Nintendo Land works, but what it does well, no one else is even trying.
  7. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    The complexity of the GamePad makes it best suited for people who know their way around a video game, at least at first. Tying some of the fun to recognition of familiar Nintendo series helps the right initial audience self-select.
  8. Nov 23, 2012
    78
    If you're buying the Premium version, Nintendo Land is a great addition, but if you're buying the basic one, keep in mind this game is meant to be played with friends and family. One way or another, Nintendo Land is a title every Wii U user should, at least, try.
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    75
    It may not be at the top of your play list in the long term, but as an ensemble it's well worth a look - particularly if you have a fondness for the various included Nintendo franchises.
  10. Dec 3, 2012
    75
    Nintendo Land becomes a great game only when played with at lest 2 friends, and even in this case it never shows the scope or genius of the best Nintendo efforts. It's just a good party game.
  11. Nov 30, 2012
    75
    If you frequently entertain guests, Nintendo Land is an invaluable party staple. If you're a solo gamer, it's a much harder sell.
  12. Nov 16, 2012
    75
    Planed to act as a demonstration of Wii U's capabilities, Nintendo Land is actually more than that. Despite a great number of basic mini-games, this product features three fantastic concepts based on Mario, Luigi's Mansion and Animal Crossing's worlds. As fun as Mario Kart, these mini-games can justify the purchase of Nintendo Land alongside the Wii U.
  13. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    There are a few dud mini-games, but Nintendo Land does a good job at highlighting the strengths of the new system and the potential of asymmetric multiplayer. [Feb 2013, p.64]
  14. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    Intended as a colorful and welcoming invitation for new Wii U owners, Nintendo Land succeeds as a broadly enjoyable tutorial on the myriad features and abilities of the console and its unique GamePad controller. [Dec 2012, p.72]
  15. Dec 1, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land's defining quality is how it teaches the Wii U system to the player without making it complicated. This unfortunately also means depth is sacrificed.
  16. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land offers a unique gameplay experience which benefits from the new Wii U controller. The play value for single players is quite short, but you can spend hours in the different multiplayer attractions.
  17. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land is exactly what it set out to be: a mini-game compilation to show off how fun local multiplayer can be with two screens. None of the mini-games is bad; some are but a tutorial to the GamePad, not really interesting, others are pure genius.
  18. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    Could Nintendo have made similar cuts, sliced out singleplayer, and left us with the perfect party game? The shadow of missed opportunity occasionally looms over Nintendo Land, but as with any good theme park, there are moments where you'll yell, scream and laugh yourself silly. Just add friends.
  19. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    When the game works, it's one of the finest party games on offer, but Nintendo's confusion in what it wants to achieve with the Wii U GamePad results in an erratic compilation short on hits
  20. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land epitomizes the minigame-compilation genre - occasional flashes of brilliance surrounded by things you just don't want to exist.
  21. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    It manages to do a lot with the system without, I believe, even scratching the service of what more focused and dedicated videogames could achieve. It's a game meant to excite you more about the system you just purchased, and that is what it does. Well worth checking out, at any rate.
  22. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    Although I had an absolute blast playing Mario Chase for a few rounds, I'm already bored with it. With only a few similar standout games, the collection doesn't captivate as much as it could.
  23. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    Non-fans will be confused by references to little played NES and Game & Watch games. Oppositely, Nintendo fanboys will enjoy the references, but won't like settling for imitations of games like F-Zero and Zelda instead of the real thing. In spite of all that, Nintendo Land is great introduction to the Wii U, even if it lacks the longevity of Wii Sports.
  24. Nov 18, 2012
    69
    It's hard to see Nintendo Land becoming anywhere near the sensation that Wii Sports was. It requires too much equipment for the modes that last, and the rest can be quickly milked of their entertainment value. It proves that Nintendo is capable of creating addicting one-dollar games, but at 60 bucks, it's not priced to sell. As a pack-in for the deluxe version of the console it's a nice extra that shows what the Wii U is capable of.
  25. Nov 26, 2012
    67
    It's certainly a game that can be fun with a group, but as a single player experience I found it lacking. It does a great job of showcasing new system elements, but also comes up short in fully realizing that theme park look Nintendo was going for.
  26. Nov 30, 2012
    66
    In the end Nintendo Land can't fascinate as Wii Sports did when Wii launched. From time to time it shows what the new touchpad controls have to offer, but most of the time it is more reminiscent of WiiPlay. And if you don't have friends to support you in the few minigames that are actually fun, the entertainment is short lived.
  27. Nov 16, 2012
    65
    Nintendo Land is charming in concept and execution, but it's also a game that doesn't have the depth or gameplay offerings to really reach its full potential. As a pack-in game, it's great; as a $60 retail game, it's horribly overpriced.
  28. Dec 28, 2012
    60
    This is an interesting, but inconsistent mix of twelve mini-games that are meant to teach you how Wii U works. Nintendo Land is up to that task, however, the game is not entertaining enough.
  29. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    Nintendo Land isn't a bad game, for free. As something that is included with the system, as long as you bought the deluxe model, this makes for an interesting tech demo, letting you and your friends try out different methods of how a game can be played on the Wii U. There is some fun to be had, but it's short lived, mainly due to lack of content, and not all of the content will be fun to everyone.
  30. Nov 29, 2012
    60
    If you're likely to get together with at least two friends and have the required extra hardware, there's enough here to warrant a purchase - just know that you're essentially buying the game for three incredibly fun party games. If you're going to be playing solo, there are better options available for the Wii U.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 87
  2. Negative: 1 out of 87
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun.Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun. Definetly a nice addition with the deluxe model. I would even go to say that this game IS worth 59,99$. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This is what I love about Nintendo. They're a huge company that aren't afraid of being the first to jump into uncharted territory. With theThis is what I love about Nintendo. They're a huge company that aren't afraid of being the first to jump into uncharted territory. With the Wii U Tablet's original control scheme, and incredibly tight gyro setup, Nintendoland flourishes. This is the game I wanted bundled with my system. Throwing kudos to many of Nintendo's own franchises, Nintendoland provides justice to each and every minigame included in the package. I loved that I was able to use my own Mii that I originally created on my 3DS as my main character. I also enjoyed the free world they created where you can wander around with your character. The option of having up to 5 players is very intriguing as well. Nintendo in HD graphics is as stunning as I hoped it would be, and I have nothing but high hopes for future releases with the Wii U. Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    4
    Nintendo Land is the Wii U's equivalent to Wii Sports. A collection of mini games that can be played in single or multi-player; designed toNintendo Land is the Wii U's equivalent to Wii Sports. A collection of mini games that can be played in single or multi-player; designed to demonstrate the key features of Nintendo's new console. There are two key differences with these games. 1. Wii Sports came bundled free with each console. Nintendo Land is being sold separately as a full priced retail release. 2. Wii Sports was actually quite fun. Nintendo Land isn't. There's twelve games in total, I'm not going to go into bloated detail but each one is based on a Nintendo franchise, i.e. Mario, Zelda etc. Instead of featuring the actual characters of those games, Mii's are used, which in my opinion slightly spoils the visual aesthetics. Just like Wii Sports all of the games lack depth which wouldn't be such a problem but for the awkward controls. Captain Falcon's Twister Race has you hold the tablet controller out in front of you and use it to steer which makes your arms ache within seconds and just isn't responsive enough. Balloon trip has you frantic-ly swiping at the touch screen as if it wouldn't be more fun and accurate to use the buttons. Donkey Kong's Crash Course was probably my favourite, but even then I had to give up due to the over fussy controls. And even then I wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much if it wasn't for the excellent retro visuals and music which is the one thing Nintendo has done well here. Full Review »