Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    87
    A brilliant show of what Nintendo's new console and tablet controller are capable of, and has far more depth and content then you'd expect from a mini-game collection.
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land isn't just a fine showcase of the Wii U's capabilities, though it certainly is that. It's also a great game in its own right.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Definitely has a more long-lasting appeal than Wii Sports, but also has a much higher learning curve.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    Although I had an absolute blast playing Mario Chase for a few rounds, I'm already bored with it. With only a few similar standout games, the collection doesn't captivate as much as it could.
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    It's not just half a dozen great diversions and a few more besides; it's sweet fan service that celebrates Nintendo's catalogue with more heart and less calculation than we've seen of late. Better yet, it reclaims the used and abused mini-game compilation from the hollow hinterlands of the casual cash-in, lovingly restores it and puts it back where it belongs - amid the hustle, the buzz, the urgent appeal of the arcade.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    67
    It's certainly a game that can be fun with a group, but as a single player experience I found it lacking. It does a great job of showcasing new system elements, but also comes up short in fully realizing that theme park look Nintendo was going for.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is available as a pack-in with the Wii U Deluxe Set, but it's a good enough game on its own to warrant a purchase for anyone buying the Wii U Basic Set. Plus, it's an effective tool for users as they learn the ins and outs of the Wii U GamePad. There's plenty of value in that alone and having an entire theme park of fun games based on Nintendo's best franchises makes the deal that much sweeter. Sweet enough to call Nintendo Land a must-own for new Wii U owners.
  8. Nov 17, 2012
    86
    An essential purchase for party lovers that whets the Nintendo appetite. Bring friends. [Christmas 2012, p.84]
  9. Dec 3, 2012
    75
    Nintendo Land becomes a great game only when played with at lest 2 friends, and even in this case it never shows the scope or genius of the best Nintendo efforts. It's just a good party game.
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    Non-fans will be confused by references to little played NES and Game & Watch games. Oppositely, Nintendo fanboys will enjoy the references, but won't like settling for imitations of games like F-Zero and Zelda instead of the real thing. In spite of all that, Nintendo Land is great introduction to the Wii U, even if it lacks the longevity of Wii Sports.
  11. Nov 23, 2012
    78
    If you're buying the Premium version, Nintendo Land is a great addition, but if you're buying the basic one, keep in mind this game is meant to be played with friends and family. One way or another, Nintendo Land is a title every Wii U user should, at least, try.
  12. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    This may not be game of the year, but it doesn't try to be. What it does try to be is an ode to Nintendo's rich history and an introduction to the Wii U's capabilities and control potential. In those efforts, it succeeds greatly.
  13. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    Could Nintendo have made similar cuts, sliced out singleplayer, and left us with the perfect party game? The shadow of missed opportunity occasionally looms over Nintendo Land, but as with any good theme park, there are moments where you'll yell, scream and laugh yourself silly. Just add friends.
  14. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    When the game works, it's one of the finest party games on offer, but Nintendo's confusion in what it wants to achieve with the Wii U GamePad results in an erratic compilation short on hits
  15. Nov 29, 2012
    60
    If you're likely to get together with at least two friends and have the required extra hardware, there's enough here to warrant a purchase - just know that you're essentially buying the game for three incredibly fun party games. If you're going to be playing solo, there are better options available for the Wii U.
  16. Nov 26, 2012
    86
    Nintendo builds a funny theme-park for Wii U, probably the best option to discover the GamePad and the asymmetric gameplay. Crazy when played with friends; still good when played alone. It's a must have.
  17. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    Intended as a colorful and welcoming invitation for new Wii U owners, Nintendo Land succeeds as a broadly enjoyable tutorial on the myriad features and abilities of the console and its unique GamePad controller. [Dec 2012, p.72]
  18. Dec 13, 2012
    80
    Your level of enjoyment will hinge on how often you can play this game with friends. When there are plenty of people around this game is a blast. Playing it solo can still be a lot of fun, but it feels like some of the magic is lost.
  19. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is a great game to understand what the new Wii U GamePad is capable of. The 12 attractions are very different from each others and guaranteed a unique gameplay experience. Every mini-game is inspired by Nintendo most famous characters, such as Mario, Metroid and Zelda. Perfect if played in multiplayer or co-op, it's a must own game for Wii U users and for party game lovers.
  20. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    It manages to do a lot with the system without, I believe, even scratching the service of what more focused and dedicated videogames could achieve. It's a game meant to excite you more about the system you just purchased, and that is what it does. Well worth checking out, at any rate.
  21. Nov 30, 2012
    60
    Nintendo Land isn't a bad game, for free. As something that is included with the system, as long as you bought the deluxe model, this makes for an interesting tech demo, letting you and your friends try out different methods of how a game can be played on the Wii U. There is some fun to be had, but it's short lived, mainly due to lack of content, and not all of the content will be fun to everyone.
  22. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In a wonderful cartoon world populated by Mii characters, the players are able to play twelve different games, inspired by Nintendo biggest franchise, from Super Mario to Zelda. Nintendo Land is the perfect bundle game for the imminent launch of the new Nintendo console. We suggest the game to all the Wii U buyers, Nintendo fans, and casual gamers.
  23. Jan 23, 2013
    85
    An entertaining minigame collection. The games are quite well fleshed out. [Jan 2013]
  24. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is a pretty cool Wii U feature-demo, which introduces the new gamepad with all it's innovations for the player. The games are pretty cool, but there are only 12 included, and only a few are damn fun. If there were more games and an easy-mode for untrained gamers, the game would be more entertaining.
  25. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is something that goes beyond the simple teaching of the new features of the console and the controller. It makes you want to go on with the next attraction. It's a title that will give you much more than just one night with friends, in fact, you'll probably enjoy it better on your own. Too bad for some recycled mechanics and for some attractions less successful than others.
  26. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Nintendo Land is both a wonderful celebration of Nintendo's past and an exciting glimpse into its future, but more importantly it is incredibly, riotously fun. It's one of the best local multiplayer experiences ever crafted, and playing with friends is a guaranteed great time. There's also a surprising amount of depth to the single-player offerings, and Miiverse integration means you're never really on your own. It definitely taps into the nostalgia vein - and this is fan service par excellence - but it's also just pure entertainment.
  27. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    The Wii-controller was instantly understandable thanks to Wii Sports. Nintendo Land doesn't do exactly that for the GamePad, but it does show that it can be a great addition to games, especially with friends. Thanks to an original concept – a theme park based on 12 Nintendo games – which is well executed, this is more than a simple minigame collection.
  28. 85
    Single-player attractions may have some flaws, but for now, Nintendo Land is the quintessential multiplayer game that everyone should at least check out.
  29. Nov 23, 2012
    80
    A clever demonstration of all the Wii U's features and, more importantly, a mini-game collection that can keep any gamer – from casual to hardcore – equally entertained.
  30. Nov 18, 2012
    69
    It's hard to see Nintendo Land becoming anywhere near the sensation that Wii Sports was. It requires too much equipment for the modes that last, and the rest can be quickly milked of their entertainment value. It proves that Nintendo is capable of creating addicting one-dollar games, but at 60 bucks, it's not priced to sell. As a pack-in for the deluxe version of the console it's a nice extra that shows what the Wii U is capable of.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 349 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun. Definetly a nice addition with the deluxe model. I would even go to say that this game IS worth 59,99$. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This is what I love about Nintendo. They're a huge company that aren't afraid of being the first to jump into uncharted territory. With the Wii U Tablet's original control scheme, and incredibly tight gyro setup, Nintendoland flourishes. This is the game I wanted bundled with my system. Throwing kudos to many of Nintendo's own franchises, Nintendoland provides justice to each and every minigame included in the package. I loved that I was able to use my own Mii that I originally created on my 3DS as my main character. I also enjoyed the free world they created where you can wander around with your character. The option of having up to 5 players is very intriguing as well. Nintendo in HD graphics is as stunning as I hoped it would be, and I have nothing but high hopes for future releases with the Wii U. Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    4
    Nintendo Land is the Wii U's equivalent to Wii Sports. A collection of mini games that can be played in single or multi-player; designed to demonstrate the key features of Nintendo's new console. There are two key differences with these games. 1. Wii Sports came bundled free with each console. Nintendo Land is being sold separately as a full priced retail release. 2. Wii Sports was actually quite fun. Nintendo Land isn't. There's twelve games in total, I'm not going to go into bloated detail but each one is based on a Nintendo franchise, i.e. Mario, Zelda etc. Instead of featuring the actual characters of those games, Mii's are used, which in my opinion slightly spoils the visual aesthetics. Just like Wii Sports all of the games lack depth which wouldn't be such a problem but for the awkward controls. Captain Falcon's Twister Race has you hold the tablet controller out in front of you and use it to steer which makes your arms ache within seconds and just isn't responsive enough. Balloon trip has you frantic-ly swiping at the touch screen as if it wouldn't be more fun and accurate to use the buttons. Donkey Kong's Crash Course was probably my favourite, but even then I had to give up due to the over fussy controls. And even then I wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much if it wasn't for the excellent retro visuals and music which is the one thing Nintendo has done well here. Full Review »