Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    86
    Nintendo builds a funny theme-park for Wii U, probably the best option to discover the GamePad and the asymmetric gameplay. Crazy when played with friends; still good when played alone. It's a must have.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    66
    In the end Nintendo Land can't fascinate as Wii Sports did when Wii launched. From time to time it shows what the new touchpad controls have to offer, but most of the time it is more reminiscent of WiiPlay. And if you don't have friends to support you in the few minigames that are actually fun, the entertainment is short lived.
  3. 80
    Nintendo Land oozes with familiarity and might even alert some of the most ardent players to gems they may have missed. With that in mind I have a number of Pikmin games to acquire and devour.
  4. 80
    If this review hasn't spelled it out for you already, there is a lot of content and potential included in this package to make it more than worth your while and keep you coming back for more as Nintendo Land is a pretty darn good game.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Definitely has a more long-lasting appeal than Wii Sports, but also has a much higher learning curve.
  6. Dec 18, 2012
    90
    Nintendo Land is indeed a pleasant surprise. Not only does it do a great job at demonstrating just about every one of the Wii U's features, but it also delivers on some incredibly fun experiences, particularly in multiplayer
  7. Jan 9, 2013
    90
    If it wasn't for a few duds, this game would be incredible, but even still, it's the best game to show off your WiiU and a great experience to play with some friends.
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    It manages to do a lot with the system without, I believe, even scratching the service of what more focused and dedicated videogames could achieve. It's a game meant to excite you more about the system you just purchased, and that is what it does. Well worth checking out, at any rate.
  9. Nov 30, 2012
    82
    For all its similarities, Nintendo Land is a wholly different experience from the Wii and Wii Sports-and that isn't necessarily a bad thing. While the presentation and concepts still exude a casual shell, the real meat of the experience is deceptively deep and unmistakably challenging. It's no "killer app" launch title, but it's no slouch, either.
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is a completely unique game unlike anything else available on other consoles, combining the way the Smash Bros. games used Nintendo's history with the innovation of Wii Sports.
  11. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    Could Nintendo have made similar cuts, sliced out singleplayer, and left us with the perfect party game? The shadow of missed opportunity occasionally looms over Nintendo Land, but as with any good theme park, there are moments where you'll yell, scream and laugh yourself silly. Just add friends.
  12. Nov 16, 2012
    65
    Nintendo Land is charming in concept and execution, but it's also a game that doesn't have the depth or gameplay offerings to really reach its full potential. As a pack-in game, it's great; as a $60 retail game, it's horribly overpriced.
  13. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    It's not just half a dozen great diversions and a few more besides; it's sweet fan service that celebrates Nintendo's catalogue with more heart and less calculation than we've seen of late. Better yet, it reclaims the used and abused mini-game compilation from the hollow hinterlands of the casual cash-in, lovingly restores it and puts it back where it belongs - amid the hustle, the buzz, the urgent appeal of the arcade.
  14. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    It´s a nice little time sink for a single player and a real blast in a group of friends or family. All of these games cater far more to the needs of the classic gamer than Wii Sports ever did and at the same time they manage to show of the capabilities of the new gamepad pretty well. It's not the revelation the Wii once was, on those first evenings after you brought it home. But its an endearingly crafted piece of quality software.
  15. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is something that goes beyond the simple teaching of the new features of the console and the controller. It makes you want to go on with the next attraction. It's a title that will give you much more than just one night with friends, in fact, you'll probably enjoy it better on your own. Too bad for some recycled mechanics and for some attractions less successful than others.
  16. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    The most interesting is that the twelve attractions somehow spread through all functions of the GamePad, accommodating different rules in different games. Each game is thus a unique and challenging experience.
  17. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    The clear purpose of Nintendo Land is to play with more people: it's a step forward in the party game genre and also a new (and great) way of having fun with some friends.
  18. Nov 29, 2012
    50
    A strong heritage results in a bland mix of mini games. To only include three competitive games (which happens to be the best thing in this compilation) is just insane, especially when the majority of the others goes from "pretty okay" to "horrible".
  19. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In a wonderful cartoon world populated by Mii characters, the players are able to play twelve different games, inspired by Nintendo biggest franchise, from Super Mario to Zelda. Nintendo Land is the perfect bundle game for the imminent launch of the new Nintendo console. We suggest the game to all the Wii U buyers, Nintendo fans, and casual gamers.
  20. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    Although I had an absolute blast playing Mario Chase for a few rounds, I'm already bored with it. With only a few similar standout games, the collection doesn't captivate as much as it could.
  21. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    This may not be game of the year, but it doesn't try to be. What it does try to be is an ode to Nintendo's rich history and an introduction to the Wii U's capabilities and control potential. In those efforts, it succeeds greatly.
  22. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is available as a pack-in with the Wii U Deluxe Set, but it's a good enough game on its own to warrant a purchase for anyone buying the Wii U Basic Set. Plus, it's an effective tool for users as they learn the ins and outs of the Wii U GamePad. There's plenty of value in that alone and having an entire theme park of fun games based on Nintendo's best franchises makes the deal that much sweeter. Sweet enough to call Nintendo Land a must-own for new Wii U owners.
  23. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land is exactly what it set out to be: a mini-game compilation to show off how fun local multiplayer can be with two screens. None of the mini-games is bad; some are but a tutorial to the GamePad, not really interesting, others are pure genius.
  24. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    The Wii-controller was instantly understandable thanks to Wii Sports. Nintendo Land doesn't do exactly that for the GamePad, but it does show that it can be a great addition to games, especially with friends. Thanks to an original concept – a theme park based on 12 Nintendo games – which is well executed, this is more than a simple minigame collection.
  25. Dec 1, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land's defining quality is how it teaches the Wii U system to the player without making it complicated. This unfortunately also means depth is sacrificed.
  26. Nov 17, 2012
    86
    An essential purchase for party lovers that whets the Nintendo appetite. Bring friends. [Christmas 2012, p.84]
  27. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    When the game works, it's one of the finest party games on offer, but Nintendo's confusion in what it wants to achieve with the Wii U GamePad results in an erratic compilation short on hits
  28. Dec 28, 2012
    60
    This is an interesting, but inconsistent mix of twelve mini-games that are meant to teach you how Wii U works. Nintendo Land is up to that task, however, the game is not entertaining enough.
  29. Nov 15, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land epitomizes the minigame-compilation genre - occasional flashes of brilliance surrounded by things you just don't want to exist.
  30. Nov 17, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land isn't just a fine showcase of the Wii U's capabilities, though it certainly is that. It's also a great game in its own right.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 75
  2. Negative: 2 out of 75
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun. Definetly a nice addition with the deluxe model. I would even go to say that this game IS worth 59,99$. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This is what I love about Nintendo. They're a huge company that aren't afraid of being the first to jump into uncharted territory. With the Wii U Tablet's original control scheme, and incredibly tight gyro setup, Nintendoland flourishes. This is the game I wanted bundled with my system. Throwing kudos to many of Nintendo's own franchises, Nintendoland provides justice to each and every minigame included in the package. I loved that I was able to use my own Mii that I originally created on my 3DS as my main character. I also enjoyed the free world they created where you can wander around with your character. The option of having up to 5 players is very intriguing as well. Nintendo in HD graphics is as stunning as I hoped it would be, and I have nothing but high hopes for future releases with the Wii U. Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    4
    Nintendo Land is the Wii U's equivalent to Wii Sports. A collection of mini games that can be played in single or multi-player; designed to demonstrate the key features of Nintendo's new console. There are two key differences with these games. 1. Wii Sports came bundled free with each console. Nintendo Land is being sold separately as a full priced retail release. 2. Wii Sports was actually quite fun. Nintendo Land isn't. There's twelve games in total, I'm not going to go into bloated detail but each one is based on a Nintendo franchise, i.e. Mario, Zelda etc. Instead of featuring the actual characters of those games, Mii's are used, which in my opinion slightly spoils the visual aesthetics. Just like Wii Sports all of the games lack depth which wouldn't be such a problem but for the awkward controls. Captain Falcon's Twister Race has you hold the tablet controller out in front of you and use it to steer which makes your arms ache within seconds and just isn't responsive enough. Balloon trip has you frantic-ly swiping at the touch screen as if it wouldn't be more fun and accurate to use the buttons. Donkey Kong's Crash Course was probably my favourite, but even then I had to give up due to the over fussy controls. And even then I wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much if it wasn't for the excellent retro visuals and music which is the one thing Nintendo has done well here. Full Review »