Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 354 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nintendo Land is a theme park featuring 12 different attractions, each with its own play on a Nintendo franchise. Each attraction features it's own special gameplay experiences made possible by the Wii U controller. Depending on the particular attraction, players can compete individually orNintendo Land is a theme park featuring 12 different attractions, each with its own play on a Nintendo franchise. Each attraction features it's own special gameplay experiences made possible by the Wii U controller. Depending on the particular attraction, players can compete individually or against other players, or even team up to play cooperatively. Up to 5 players can participate in dynamic multiplayer modes in select attractions. The experiences change each time, depending on whether players are using the GamePad, holding a Wii Remote or just watching others play on the TV screen. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    100
    Nintendo Land's strongest selling point, though, is just how easy it is to jump right into these games.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    86
    Nintendo Land highlights the potential of the Wii U console, especially when it comes to the capabilities of the GamePad that is definitely a very impressive gaming controller. By combining elements of the 3DS and a Tablet with streamlined Nintendo controls, this game not only plays well but gives the player and players some great single and multiplayer excitement. Add in high scores, trophies and lots of unlockables and this may be the future of gaming! Brilliant!
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In a wonderful cartoon world populated by Mii characters, the players are able to play twelve different games, inspired by Nintendo biggest franchise, from Super Mario to Zelda. Nintendo Land is the perfect bundle game for the imminent launch of the new Nintendo console. We suggest the game to all the Wii U buyers, Nintendo fans, and casual gamers.
  4. 80
    Nice set of mini-games with a visible touch of the Nintendo spirit. Nothing good for lone-wolves to be found here but family sessions should be satisfied. [Christmas 2012]
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    78
    If you're buying the Premium version, Nintendo Land is a great addition, but if you're buying the basic one, keep in mind this game is meant to be played with friends and family. One way or another, Nintendo Land is a title every Wii U user should, at least, try.
  6. Dec 1, 2012
    70
    Nintendo Land's defining quality is how it teaches the Wii U system to the player without making it complicated. This unfortunately also means depth is sacrificed.
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    50
    A strong heritage results in a bland mix of mini games. To only include three competitive games (which happens to be the best thing in this compilation) is just insane, especially when the majority of the others goes from "pretty okay" to "horrible".

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 88
  2. Negative: 1 out of 88
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun.Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun. Definetly a nice addition with the deluxe model. I would even go to say that this game IS worth 59,99$. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    My relatives come over to the house just to play this game. We have an absolute blast together. There is no other experience out there quiteMy relatives come over to the house just to play this game. We have an absolute blast together. There is no other experience out there quite like it. Typically the person on the gamepad is put in a much different role to the other players and more often than not in the role of an 'enemy'. After each game we pass the pad to the next player in the circle and continue on. Hours can pass so quick without notice. There are also solo games which use the gamepad in very unique and fun ways. But these too are not just single player and a second player can help out with a wii mote. I couldn't fault any of the games in particular but I would say that Metroid Blaster was definitely my most played and the game I had the most fun with. Take the game for what it is, a fun game designed for bringing people together and you will get hours of entertainment. If you want a purely single player experience that exhibits all of the games qualities then this is not the game for you. But hey, that's just my opinion, I still did have a blast playing some of the solo games on my own. This is my most played wii U game to date. Its replay value is off the chart. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    This game is a a very good attempt at showing just what the Wii u is all about. With 6 different multiplayer modes and innovative use of theThis game is a a very good attempt at showing just what the Wii u is all about. With 6 different multiplayer modes and innovative use of the gamepad Nintendo has again proven that it is a champion if local multiplayer and entertainment. The gamepad is a big highlight showing how up to 5 players can seamlessly and comfortably compete. The gamepad also feels right at home along side Wii-motes in Nintendo land. The games are all unique and fun and perfext for party sittuations. All in all this is a rather brilliant example of what the wiiu is all about. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    Nintendo Land is a fun 'first game' for the Wii U, that show case its abilities quite well to Wii U owners. However, despite the fun I hadNintendo Land is a fun 'first game' for the Wii U, that show case its abilities quite well to Wii U owners. However, despite the fun I had with this game, it does not have that immediate 'pull' that Wii Sports had many years ago for the Wii. Hence, many casual fans may dismiss this game. Even Nintendo admitted that this game, fun and polished as it is, is not a a system seller. Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    come on people who review it badly IT'S A PARTY GAME DIRECTED AT KIDS! ages 4-9. It is obviously innovative since it defines the consolecome on people who review it badly IT'S A PARTY GAME DIRECTED AT KIDS! ages 4-9. It is obviously innovative since it defines the console (along with ZombiU). And it is very fun. sure it lacks story and depth 2 things THAT IT DOESN'T NEED TO HAVE AT ALL. although i do think they could of done more with it and maybe make Donkey Kong's Crash Course not so Fricken BRUTAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Anyway it is a great game. lol :p Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    If I bought this game alone, would it be worth $59.99? Probably not. But it is a great deal when you buy the Wii U deluxe set. This game comesIf I bought this game alone, would it be worth $59.99? Probably not. But it is a great deal when you buy the Wii U deluxe set. This game comes with it, and for a small amount of mini-games, it has quite a lot more content than the average collection. The mini-games are very amusing. This is a better game to come with a console at launch than Wii Sports. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    4
    Nintendo Land is the Wii U's equivalent to Wii Sports. A collection of mini games that can be played in single or multi-player; designed toNintendo Land is the Wii U's equivalent to Wii Sports. A collection of mini games that can be played in single or multi-player; designed to demonstrate the key features of Nintendo's new console. There are two key differences with these games. 1. Wii Sports came bundled free with each console. Nintendo Land is being sold separately as a full priced retail release. 2. Wii Sports was actually quite fun. Nintendo Land isn't. There's twelve games in total, I'm not going to go into bloated detail but each one is based on a Nintendo franchise, i.e. Mario, Zelda etc. Instead of featuring the actual characters of those games, Mii's are used, which in my opinion slightly spoils the visual aesthetics. Just like Wii Sports all of the games lack depth which wouldn't be such a problem but for the awkward controls. Captain Falcon's Twister Race has you hold the tablet controller out in front of you and use it to steer which makes your arms ache within seconds and just isn't responsive enough. Balloon trip has you frantic-ly swiping at the touch screen as if it wouldn't be more fun and accurate to use the buttons. Donkey Kong's Crash Course was probably my favourite, but even then I had to give up due to the over fussy controls. And even then I wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much if it wasn't for the excellent retro visuals and music which is the one thing Nintendo has done well here. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.