Pikmin 3 Wii U

Pikmin 3 Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 609 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pikmin 3 is a reimagined, mass-action strategy title from the critically acclaimed Pikmin series. Players take control of 3 explorers and an array of cute Pikmin in a struggle for survival. By exploiting the unique abilities of these little Pikmin creatures, players solve puzzles, battlePikmin 3 is a reimagined, mass-action strategy title from the critically acclaimed Pikmin series. Players take control of 3 explorers and an array of cute Pikmin in a struggle for survival. By exploiting the unique abilities of these little Pikmin creatures, players solve puzzles, battle dangerous predators and forage for food needed to save the explorers' home planet. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Pikmin 3 might not be the game that gets people rushing to buy a Wii U, but it certainly should be.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    The ending may not be the best thing ever, but it can't tarnish the incredible enjoyment you'll get out of Pikmin 3. This is probably the best game yet on Wii U.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is a great refinement of the original formula and is still a joy to play. But after nine years we expected some more content, and the final stage is really disappointing.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is the game that should have launched the Wii U. Its combination of calming atmosphere and strategic gameplay create a unique and mesmerising experience while it lasts. While it may be over too soon for some players it still remains by far the best first party game currently available for Nintendo’s latest system.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    85
    Pikmin 3 is a fantastic game that oozes with charm. The levels are short enough that they scream “just one more day”. It also helps that game play is so tight, and the design feels so good. While it may not be my most anticipated franchise from the Nintendo stables, I cannot help but fall in love with the quirky Koppites and their quest for food. Pikmin 3 is one of the best reasons to own a Wii U so far.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Pikmin 3 is a cute game with plenty of soul. It takes the concept from the two previous games one step further with the way it combines tactics with roleplaying. In terms of graphics this is probably the most beautiful game the world has ever seen on a Nintendo console.
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    60
    The new flying pikmin are a nifty twist for how they break the level design.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 140
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Really good game. It is certainly the best game on the wii u since its release. This game should also increase the popularity of the wii uReally good game. It is certainly the best game on the wii u since its release. This game should also increase the popularity of the wii u among consumers. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    This game takes everything that was good about the first 2 pikmins and improves upon them. I love pikmin and it is a franchise i hopeThis game takes everything that was good about the first 2 pikmins and improves upon them. I love pikmin and it is a franchise i hope continues throughout Nintendo's life.
    Pros:
    I love the new rock and winged pikmin.
    The music is charming and goes well with the moods of the game.
    The graphics are beautiful and the artstyle is fantastic.
    Boss battles are fun and very rewarding
    Cons:
    The days are far too short and i feel that the length of them takes you out of the immersion of the game.
    The controls can be a little tricky to first figure out.
    Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    A breathe of fresh air and the Wii- mote and nunchuck work strangely well for a console rts, can I dare say even better than a mouse andA breathe of fresh air and the Wii- mote and nunchuck work strangely well for a console rts, can I dare say even better than a mouse and keyboard? Every now and then you use the Wii u controller to answer a phone call or to swipe the map, the game auto saves when you do this like the developers thought of everything to make this game a relaxing and slow paced game if you so desire. It's got that Christmas morning feeling and takes you into the story immediately without clutter or company logos to reduce the experience. Just simply a fantastic game with a lot of polish and Myamoto written all over it.

    In a world cluttered with shooters Pikmin 3 shines as something refreshingly new and a franchise that has been missed by most (I haven't played Pikmin 1 or 2)
    Collapse
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Best game on the Wii U. Best game in the franchise. I've been playing gaming for almost 30 years and I could count on my hands how many gamesBest game on the Wii U. Best game in the franchise. I've been playing gaming for almost 30 years and I could count on my hands how many games I've completed 100%. Pikmin is one of those games that you want to find and do everything in the game because it's so much fun! Pikmin 3 is no exception. If you own a Wii U, buy this game immediately. If you don't, buy a Wii U and get this game. This is a system seller. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Pikmin 3 is an incredible game It's a real time strategy game and it's easy and fun to play Everybody should play this because it's anPikmin 3 is an incredible game It's a real time strategy game and it's easy and fun to play Everybody should play this because it's an unforgettable experience .its gorgeous in HD the gameplay is fantastic and overall a fantastic game Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2014
    9
    This game is just so good. Good gameplay good puzzles and very underrated. You have to love to get to explore the interesting planet, it has aThis game is just so good. Good gameplay good puzzles and very underrated. You have to love to get to explore the interesting planet, it has a beautiful environment. This is one of the best looking Wii U games for sure. I like it more than the first Pikmin, and better than Pikmin 2 when it comes to exploration. I just wish the game was longer.. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    Simply put, this game is inferior in almost every way shape and form to the previous entries in terms of gameplay. It ranges from littleSimply put, this game is inferior in almost every way shape and form to the previous entries in terms of gameplay. It ranges from little issues such as the character not adjusting to the camera when moving which forces you to stop moving just to recenter and fixed camera angles which force you to move around until it breaks free, to big problems such as guiding the Pikmin with the C-Stick being taken out entirely or the fact that the whistle ranges is far too sensitive and does not cover nearly enough space as it needs to.
    My biggest problem however, comes from organization. The areas are now so big that they require load screens to change areas which are actually quite fast. Here's the thing though, you change screens instantly while your Pikmin do not. As such Pikmin can get stuck in a load screen while sunset is approaching and get left behind before they can change screens. Pikmin also have a new feature in regards to piles of fruit or bridge pieces in that they will return to gather more upon delivering the piece they are holding.
    This sounds good in theory, but seeing you'll have more than enough Pikmin to gather up the entire pile in a single trip it just makes you wish the Pikmin would stay at the base as opposed to returning to the location and standing idle. Even the whistle has now got some serious issues. The whistle's sensitivity is too high and as such can be tricky to aim when trying to gather a group of Pikmin.
    During boss fights you are often in a large room that the Pikmin will be thrown around in and it's frustrating trying to gather them all up when you can't move your whistle appropriately and lose Pikmin that you could have saved in the other two games.
    It's just a miserable experience when you really think about it as you play.
    Expand

See all 140 User Reviews