Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 352 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pikmin 3 is a reimagined, mass-action strategy title from the critically acclaimed Pikmin series. Players take control of 3 explorers and an array of cute Pikmin in a struggle for survival. By exploiting the unique abilities of these little Pikmin creatures, players solve puzzles, battle dangerous predators and forage for food needed to save the explorers' home planet. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Pikmin 3 might not be the game that gets people rushing to buy a Wii U, but it certainly should be.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    The ending may not be the best thing ever, but it can't tarnish the incredible enjoyment you'll get out of Pikmin 3. This is probably the best game yet on Wii U.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is a great refinement of the original formula and is still a joy to play. But after nine years we expected some more content, and the final stage is really disappointing.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is the game that should have launched the Wii U. Its combination of calming atmosphere and strategic gameplay create a unique and mesmerising experience while it lasts. While it may be over too soon for some players it still remains by far the best first party game currently available for Nintendo’s latest system.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    85
    Pikmin 3 is a fantastic game that oozes with charm. The levels are short enough that they scream “just one more day”. It also helps that game play is so tight, and the design feels so good. While it may not be my most anticipated franchise from the Nintendo stables, I cannot help but fall in love with the quirky Koppites and their quest for food. Pikmin 3 is one of the best reasons to own a Wii U so far.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Pikmin 3 is a cute game with plenty of soul. It takes the concept from the two previous games one step further with the way it combines tactics with roleplaying. In terms of graphics this is probably the most beautiful game the world has ever seen on a Nintendo console.
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    60
    The new flying pikmin are a nifty twist for how they break the level design.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 97
  2. Negative: 2 out of 97
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Really good game. It is certainly the best game on the wii u since its release. This game should also increase the popularity of the wii u among consumers. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Pikmin 3 was my reason for purchasing a Wii U, and I have to say I am not disappointed. This is the first game I've ever bought that I've immediately gone back to after finishing it to play it all over again, it's just that much fun.
    The story of the game basically involves 3 explorers jetting off to an alien planet in order to gather fruit and save their starving homeworld. However, upon reaching the planet, something goes horribly wrong, their ship crashes, and the crew members end up separated. Not good.
    As if that wasn't problematic enough, most of their food supplies were lost in the crash, so they only have 3 days worth of food left, and one must be consumed at the end of each day. That means they only have 3 days to explore the planet, right? Well, there's a twist...
    The game strikes a balance between the hard time limit of Pikmin and Pikmin 2's lack of any time limit at all. While you initially have only 3 days worth of supplies, by gathering fruit, this time limit can be extended up to 99 days, depending on how good you are at managing your time. This means that skilled players are rewarded for making the most out of each day and gathering a lot of fruit by being given extra time, so it's very compelling.
    This extra time can come in very handy, as the game is pretty challenging. Whether it be a tricky puzzle, a tough boss fight or just getting fruit back to base, the game can be brutal, and it's very easy to lose a large amount of your Pikmin, which is often a real setback on your quest to gather food.
    The bosses in particular can be absolutely devastating. Even the very first boss, who you'll likely be fighting no more than 3 or 4 days into the game, can really do a number on you, and you can expect a lot of casualties. Once again, the time limit comes into play, as if you lose too many Pikmin, you'll have to spend precious time raising an entirely new squad, which can take a while.
    Although, you may not entirely mind having all your little friends pummeled into the ground by an enormous monster simply because of how pretty that monster looks. And everything else in the game too. The environments are photorealistic, just like the previous Two games, but they're now even more detailed and beautiful, and they're a joy to look at. Even the collectable fruit looks surprisingly realistic, each having little bruises and imperfections on their skins.
    The enemies and characters, old and new, also look fantastic, and the attention to detail on every single one of them is very cool (Wollywogs have shiny, wet skin, Burrowing Snagrets have individual feathers on their heads). The cartoony, surreal style of the creatures in the game fits surprisingly well into the realistic environments, and the game feels very lively because of it.
    The music only adds to this, with each theme suiting the area where it plays very well. There are even variations on each level theme depending on the time of day, if an enemy is nearby or if your Pikmin are carrying something back to the landing site, which adds to the depth of the soundtrack. Some old themes also return, such as a remastered Pikmin 2 boss theme.
    However, the game is not without it's flaws, even if they are nitpicky at best.
    For all it's merits, this game is surprisingly short. My first run through took around 16 hours, including gathering all the fruit, devoting several days solely to raising Pikmin and gathering berries, and almost all of the Data files (The in-game hint system). But as I said before, this is the first time I've ever returned to a game immediately after my first playthrough, so there's a lot of replayability, especially if you want to go back and try and speedrun the game, or if you're insane, complete a Zero-death run. There are also 2 other modes featured in the game, namely Mission Mode and Bingo Battle. However, I haven't played much of either yet, so I can't really give my opinion, but from what I've heard they're very engaging.
    The controls can also play up a little bit and can take some getting used to. The targetting system (Which replaces the functions of the C-stick from the gamecube games) works reasonably well, but it can be a little annoying trying to target a specific object or part of an enemy when there are several targets in a small space. However, having only played with the Gamepad Television and the Gamepad-only set-ups, it's likely that the other control schemes have their pros and cons too, it's simply a matter of which you prefer.
    Overall, this game is most certainly one of the best on the Wii U, and it's definitely one of the best games I've ever played in it's own right. Fans of the first 2 games should love it, despite the somewhat different controls, and there's also a possibility for DLC in the future, which has the potential to increase the game's length considerably. Even without considering that, this game is a masterpiece and one of Nintendo's finest. Definitely a system seller.
    Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    this is what the wii-u was made for. you need to play it if you want to get back into those smooth graphics, how the water, air and natural surroundings make you feel like you're floating on clouds or cotton candy or something. i love how nintendo developers are actually artistic rather than realistic baroque squares. anyway play the damn game. Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    By far the best game on the Wii U. The environments are breathtaking, the boss battles are great, Pikmin AI is greatly improved, and gameplay is as fun as ever. If you are a Pikmin veteran or have never played the series, I highly recommend picking this game up. Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    A gorgeously sweet game that is a treat to experience. I loved nearly every minute of exploring the Pikmin 3 world. A few control irritations, and a slightly baffling final boss fight were the weaker moments, but they were lesser parts of an otherwise excellent whole. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    There was literally no way I could've enjoyed my Wii U better. Well, after WindWaker HD and 3D World came out, I enjoyed them more and played them more, but still this was the first game I greatly enjoyed for Wii U. I honestly would like to give it a 9.3, but it was either a 9 or 10 and isn't good enough to be a perfect. It's very close though. I can tell I'll be enjoying this for years to come. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    Simply put, this game is inferior in almost every way shape and form to the previous entries in terms of gameplay. It ranges from little issues such as the character not adjusting to the camera when moving which forces you to stop moving just to recenter and fixed camera angles which force you to move around until it breaks free, to big problems such as guiding the Pikmin with the C-Stick being taken out entirely or the fact that the whistle ranges is far too sensitive and does not cover nearly enough space as it needs to.
    My biggest problem however, comes from organization. The areas are now so big that they require load screens to change areas which are actually quite fast. Here's the thing though, you change screens instantly while your Pikmin do not. As such Pikmin can get stuck in a load screen while sunset is approaching and get left behind before they can change screens. Pikmin also have a new feature in regards to piles of fruit or bridge pieces in that they will return to gather more upon delivering the piece they are holding.
    This sounds good in theory, but seeing you'll have more than enough Pikmin to gather up the entire pile in a single trip it just makes you wish the Pikmin would stay at the base as opposed to returning to the location and standing idle. Even the whistle has now got some serious issues. The whistle's sensitivity is too high and as such can be tricky to aim when trying to gather a group of Pikmin.
    During boss fights you are often in a large room that the Pikmin will be thrown around in and it's frustrating trying to gather them all up when you can't move your whistle appropriately and lose Pikmin that you could have saved in the other two games.
    It's just a miserable experience when you really think about it as you play.
    Collapse

See all 97 User Reviews