Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 459 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pikmin 3 is a reimagined, mass-action strategy title from the critically acclaimed Pikmin series. Players take control of 3 explorers and an array of cute Pikmin in a struggle for survival. By exploiting the unique abilities of these little Pikmin creatures, players solve puzzles, battle dangerous predators and forage for food needed to save the explorers' home planet. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Pikmin 3 might not be the game that gets people rushing to buy a Wii U, but it certainly should be.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    The ending may not be the best thing ever, but it can't tarnish the incredible enjoyment you'll get out of Pikmin 3. This is probably the best game yet on Wii U.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is a great refinement of the original formula and is still a joy to play. But after nine years we expected some more content, and the final stage is really disappointing.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is the game that should have launched the Wii U. Its combination of calming atmosphere and strategic gameplay create a unique and mesmerising experience while it lasts. While it may be over too soon for some players it still remains by far the best first party game currently available for Nintendo’s latest system.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    85
    Pikmin 3 is a fantastic game that oozes with charm. The levels are short enough that they scream “just one more day”. It also helps that game play is so tight, and the design feels so good. While it may not be my most anticipated franchise from the Nintendo stables, I cannot help but fall in love with the quirky Koppites and their quest for food. Pikmin 3 is one of the best reasons to own a Wii U so far.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Pikmin 3 is a cute game with plenty of soul. It takes the concept from the two previous games one step further with the way it combines tactics with roleplaying. In terms of graphics this is probably the most beautiful game the world has ever seen on a Nintendo console.
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    60
    The new flying pikmin are a nifty twist for how they break the level design.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 114
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Really good game. It is certainly the best game on the wii u since its release. This game should also increase the popularity of the wii u among consumers. Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    This game is the most toughest game in the series.... Miyamoto was NOT kidding! The best elements from previous games in the series were put into Pikmin 3 and how does the end result do? It is the best Pikmin and I highly recommend all Wii U owners to get the game as soon as you can and play it because I may even call it a masterpiece of a game. Although series composer Hajime Wakai only composed a handful of new music himself (while two newcomers compose the rest), the game still reuses some classic music (e.g. day ending theme, end day results) that veterans will enjoy the nostalgia. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Wonderful game brimming with Nintendo magic and charm. The graphics are lovely in HD, the soundtrack is mesmerizing, and the game-play is loads of fun. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    It's the best Wii U game I've ever played. And it's also one of the best games I've ever played on any consoles. It's a simplified RTS that has cute graphics and theme. "Simplified" means it's not as stressful as starcraft II. There's also no strict goal you should accomplish like in sc2. It's more open IMO. You can choose your own phase as long as you get enough food.
    The story mode is addictive and feels rewarding. The gameplay is also broken down into days. Some people complained about the restriction but I think it's good and more realistic. You have more control over how much time do you need to play the game until next stop. Quite good for people with tight schedule but still want to play a good game.

    I used to play with only the gamepad, but found later that the wii remote is a much better choice. It's frustrating to use the gamepad to select pikmins to whistle at. However you still need the gamepad to see maps. And only on map can you set a goal so a player can "Go there" by his/her own. This way you can set 3 leaders to go to different places at the same time.
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    A few frustrating moments using the gamepad lessened my overall enjoyment with the experience, I recommend wii mote nunchuck for some battles. Overall great game though. I read that Miyamoto is possibly prepping up some downloadable expansion content. I hope this happens! Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2014
    9
    This game is an absolute gem and once played I was so addicted I bought and played the first and second game in the series as well!
    If I was
    Nintendo I would be working on some dlc levels not battle and most defiantly the fourth title! Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    Simply put, this game is inferior in almost every way shape and form to the previous entries in terms of gameplay. It ranges from little issues such as the character not adjusting to the camera when moving which forces you to stop moving just to recenter and fixed camera angles which force you to move around until it breaks free, to big problems such as guiding the Pikmin with the C-Stick being taken out entirely or the fact that the whistle ranges is far too sensitive and does not cover nearly enough space as it needs to.
    My biggest problem however, comes from organization. The areas are now so big that they require load screens to change areas which are actually quite fast. Here's the thing though, you change screens instantly while your Pikmin do not. As such Pikmin can get stuck in a load screen while sunset is approaching and get left behind before they can change screens. Pikmin also have a new feature in regards to piles of fruit or bridge pieces in that they will return to gather more upon delivering the piece they are holding.
    This sounds good in theory, but seeing you'll have more than enough Pikmin to gather up the entire pile in a single trip it just makes you wish the Pikmin would stay at the base as opposed to returning to the location and standing idle. Even the whistle has now got some serious issues. The whistle's sensitivity is too high and as such can be tricky to aim when trying to gather a group of Pikmin.
    During boss fights you are often in a large room that the Pikmin will be thrown around in and it's frustrating trying to gather them all up when you can't move your whistle appropriately and lose Pikmin that you could have saved in the other two games.
    It's just a miserable experience when you really think about it as you play.
    Expand

See all 114 User Reviews