Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 429 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pikmin 3 is a reimagined, mass-action strategy title from the critically acclaimed Pikmin series. Players take control of 3 explorers and an array of cute Pikmin in a struggle for survival. By exploiting the unique abilities of these little Pikmin creatures, players solve puzzles, battle dangerous predators and forage for food needed to save the explorers' home planet. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    100
    Pikmin 3 might not be the game that gets people rushing to buy a Wii U, but it certainly should be.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    The ending may not be the best thing ever, but it can't tarnish the incredible enjoyment you'll get out of Pikmin 3. This is probably the best game yet on Wii U.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is a great refinement of the original formula and is still a joy to play. But after nine years we expected some more content, and the final stage is really disappointing.
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    90
    Pikmin 3 is the game that should have launched the Wii U. Its combination of calming atmosphere and strategic gameplay create a unique and mesmerising experience while it lasts. While it may be over too soon for some players it still remains by far the best first party game currently available for Nintendo’s latest system.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    85
    Pikmin 3 is a fantastic game that oozes with charm. The levels are short enough that they scream “just one more day”. It also helps that game play is so tight, and the design feels so good. While it may not be my most anticipated franchise from the Nintendo stables, I cannot help but fall in love with the quirky Koppites and their quest for food. Pikmin 3 is one of the best reasons to own a Wii U so far.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Pikmin 3 is a cute game with plenty of soul. It takes the concept from the two previous games one step further with the way it combines tactics with roleplaying. In terms of graphics this is probably the most beautiful game the world has ever seen on a Nintendo console.
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    60
    The new flying pikmin are a nifty twist for how they break the level design.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 110
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Really good game. It is certainly the best game on the wii u since its release. This game should also increase the popularity of the wii u among consumers. Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    This game is the most toughest game in the series.... Miyamoto was NOT kidding! The best elements from previous games in the series were put into Pikmin 3 and how does the end result do? It is the best Pikmin and I highly recommend all Wii U owners to get the game as soon as you can and play it because I may even call it a masterpiece of a game. Although series composer Hajime Wakai only composed a handful of new music himself (while two newcomers compose the rest), the game still reuses some classic music (e.g. day ending theme, end day results) that veterans will enjoy the nostalgia. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. A good balance between the first and the second title was found.
    If games like this keeps coming out, nintendo wii u has
    everything to be a success. Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    I created a metacritic account purposefully to write a review of this game. As an avid Nintendo fan since the 1980's, I've been playing every single iteration of all of Nintendo's franchises for several console generations. Whereas the Zelda series has been and will always be my favorite game franchise of all time, Miyamoto is by far the most superb game designer we have ever known and my expectations of his games are always set to a point that should not be reached. However, my expectations are always exceeded and, thankfully, Pikmin 3 is not an exception to the rule--it is a phenomenal game that should be played and enjoyed by all. It encompasses that Nintendo magic that must be experienced in order to be understood. Everything just fits together perfectly from the characters, the level design, the tight controls, the music, the ambiance, and the graphics. Nothing is more saddening than seeing one of your Pikmin fall in battle; especially considering how cute they are!

    It makes me sad that we are now part of the "Call of Duty generation" where many people don't give non-realistic games a shot. I can't recommend this game enough. Trust me, you'll be doing yourself a disservice if you don't give it a try! Support Nintendo. Support the Wii U. Buy this game as soon as you can!
    Expand
  5. LHy
    Sep 29, 2013
    9
    I love the aspects of the game, but in my opinion, it's just too easy for me, I always seem to have an abundance of fruit, even after Louie steals it, other than that, loving the game and loving the franchise. Can't wait until Pikmin 4. Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2014
    9
    Pikmin 3 is my personal Wii U game of the year for 2013. It has great gameplay and visuals. There is lots of collectables and the exploration is fun. The music is great and the boss battles are the best of the series. This game is worth the full $60. Every Wii U owner should own this game! Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    3
    Simply put, this game is inferior in almost every way shape and form to the previous entries in terms of gameplay. It ranges from little issues such as the character not adjusting to the camera when moving which forces you to stop moving just to recenter and fixed camera angles which force you to move around until it breaks free, to big problems such as guiding the Pikmin with the C-Stick being taken out entirely or the fact that the whistle ranges is far too sensitive and does not cover nearly enough space as it needs to.
    My biggest problem however, comes from organization. The areas are now so big that they require load screens to change areas which are actually quite fast. Here's the thing though, you change screens instantly while your Pikmin do not. As such Pikmin can get stuck in a load screen while sunset is approaching and get left behind before they can change screens. Pikmin also have a new feature in regards to piles of fruit or bridge pieces in that they will return to gather more upon delivering the piece they are holding.
    This sounds good in theory, but seeing you'll have more than enough Pikmin to gather up the entire pile in a single trip it just makes you wish the Pikmin would stay at the base as opposed to returning to the location and standing idle. Even the whistle has now got some serious issues. The whistle's sensitivity is too high and as such can be tricky to aim when trying to gather a group of Pikmin.
    During boss fights you are often in a large room that the Pikmin will be thrown around in and it's frustrating trying to gather them all up when you can't move your whistle appropriately and lose Pikmin that you could have saved in the other two games.
    It's just a miserable experience when you really think about it as you play.
    Expand

See all 110 User Reviews