Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    40
    Pokemon Rumble U is a major setback for the spin-off series in many ways.
  2. A slight, but serviceable spin-off that has bags of energy, if little else. [Nov 2013, p.80]
  3. Oct 11, 2013
    60
    While it’s alright in quick bursts, it gets tiring very quickly, and it won’t be too long before you find yourself wanting to go back to main series games and play something more fulfilling.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    30
    Cheap on every level. [Issue#139, p.116]
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    55
    As a game it's meaningless bilge. [Nov 2013, p.73]
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    50
    Pokémon Rumble U is clearly a casual fighting game, coated with a great simplicity and targeted at a young audience.
  7. Sep 11, 2013
    40
    You're better off resisting the urge to collect more toys.
  8. Sep 9, 2013
    50
    Unless Pokémon are an essential part of your toy-based video game equation, you'll find better, more engrossing options in the Skylanders series or Disney Infinity.
  9. Sep 9, 2013
    50
    There's some fun in multiplayer, but Pokémon Rumble U is a pretty limited game, with not much depth and a lot of button mashing. Even worse: we still don't have the NFC toys in Italy.
  10. Sep 6, 2013
    70
    Pokémon Rumble U is designed to keep you locked in and coming back for more. It’s a harmless diversion with a built in sense of accomplishment that I may not fully endorse (I’m not about to hunt down all 18 of the NFC figurines), but I certainly can appreciate the fun here.
  11. Sep 5, 2013
    60
    It's overly simplistic, but the constant amount of positive reinforcement and sheer amount of content unlocks may keep you going should you charge through the monotony.
  12. Sep 5, 2013
    50
    Serving as little more than a proof of concept for the Wii U controller’s NFC technology, Pokémon Rumble U is a boring, pointless game that should just be chalked up as another failed Pokémon spinoff.
  13. Sep 4, 2013
    62
    Pokémon Rumble U isn't a bad game, but it doesn't have much to it as a complete package. It's a button mashing brawler with a bit of depth coming from the NFC figures that you can purchase (optional).
  14. 54
    You can collect all the Pokémon ever created and battle with them; it's just nowhere near as fun as it could have been.
  15. Aug 28, 2013
    40
    Pokémon Rumble U is a bad Pokémon game, although it can be pretty funny for a couple of hours. It seems to be nothing more then a entree for Pokémon X and Y.
  16. Aug 19, 2013
    35
    Pokémon Rumble U is a crushingly basic and boring game, even by Pokémon spin-off standards.
  17. Aug 19, 2013
    65
    Accessible to all and existing of simplistic gameplay limited to bashing the A button. A lack of story, variety and ability to train your Pokémon, make sure the game never evolves beyond a mediocre, yet sometimes enjoyable, party game.
  18. Aug 19, 2013
    70
    Pokémon Rumble U is a very simplistic game, but a very fun one.
  19. Aug 19, 2013
    60
    Pokémon Rumble U is extremely simplistic and repetitive, however it manages to be fun for the few hours needed to get to the end. Completists will need lot of patience and luck to get everything; kids will have fun regardless.
  20. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Not just a terrible video game but one conceived purely out of greed and a contempt for its audience – not to mention the hapless parents guilted into furnishing Nintendo’s coffers.
  21. Aug 16, 2013
    60
    Pokémon Rumble U is straightforward fun that's a far cry away from the main Pokémon titles, but it does pair some key strategic elements of the series with the button bashing – though there are definitely moments where there's too much going on to keep real track of, which does lead to more reliance on the latter than the former.
  22. Aug 15, 2013
    60
    We are sure there's a certain audience that's going to enjoy the game, but for most users may be quite simple, and end up feeling repetitive.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Once you get your head around whats going on the busy screen its good fun. It's a little simple in terms of game play, but that's not always a bad thing. Maybe a little pricey in terms of value for money though. Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2013
    2
    Nobody played the original Pokemon Rumble games for the terrible arena fights, the trail levels were what kept the game interesting. By making a game comprised solely of boring and soulless arena fights I don't feel I can trust the Pokemon Rumble franchise anymore Full Review »
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    1
    Pokémon Rumble, for Wii, was a cheap, fun little diversion that I hoped to see more of.
    Pokémon Rumble Blast, for 3DS, took what made the
    first game enjoyable and expanded upon that gameplay, offering new features, battle modes, and interesting levels. It still might not have justified its price point, but I was alright with it. I knew about what I could expect for my money.

    Pokémon Rumble U is a complete disappointment. It seems the developers just got sick of level design and said "Screw it, let's just use the same arena for every level, putting some different thematic elements and decorations on it once in a while. The demographic we're targeting probably won't notice or care."

    Well, some of us do care. I was looking forward to being able to catch all 649 Pokémon in a single game like this, but the experience feels so stagnant, repetitive, and dull that I wouldn't bother completing this game unless I had exhausted literally thousands of other games, which I deem more worth my time than this pathetic cash grab.

    As a side note, I didn't buy the game for its NFC features, and had no intentions of buying any of the figurines. I look forward to Nintendo's Amiibo features in future games, where it will actually be worth buying complementary figures. I feel, however, that too many reviews of Pokémon Rumble U hone in on the figurine ploy, which, though I'll admit it wasn't the best move, isn't essential to the core gameplay, and certainly not necessary.

    Anyway, yeah. Don't buy this game. The first game was good, the second game was better, this third entry in the series should have Garbodor as its mascot.
    Full Review »