Pokemon Rumble U Image
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon Rumble U is the tale of a great adventure featuring Toy Pokemon, beginning when a delivery of Toy Pokemon is swept down a river and washes up on a strange riverbank. Our bewildered Pokemon heroes set out to find their way back to the Toy Pokemon Shop. Along the way they discover all is not right. Players will learn why some of the Toy Pokemon are fighting each other, and what the enemy Pokemon are plotting. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    70
    Pokémon Rumble U is designed to keep you locked in and coming back for more. It’s a harmless diversion with a built in sense of accomplishment that I may not fully endorse (I’m not about to hunt down all 18 of the NFC figurines), but I certainly can appreciate the fun here.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    65
    Accessible to all and existing of simplistic gameplay limited to bashing the A button. A lack of story, variety and ability to train your Pokémon, make sure the game never evolves beyond a mediocre, yet sometimes enjoyable, party game.
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    62
    Pokémon Rumble U isn't a bad game, but it doesn't have much to it as a complete package. It's a button mashing brawler with a bit of depth coming from the NFC figures that you can purchase (optional).
  4. 54
    You can collect all the Pokémon ever created and battle with them; it's just nowhere near as fun as it could have been.
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    50
    Unless Pokémon are an essential part of your toy-based video game equation, you'll find better, more engrossing options in the Skylanders series or Disney Infinity.
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    50
    Serving as little more than a proof of concept for the Wii U controller’s NFC technology, Pokémon Rumble U is a boring, pointless game that should just be chalked up as another failed Pokémon spinoff.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Not just a terrible video game but one conceived purely out of greed and a contempt for its audience – not to mention the hapless parents guilted into furnishing Nintendo’s coffers.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    very fun and simple game to play with a bunch of people. a little costly but the core game play stays the same as the others in this series. love the new toy pop mode where you can see how rare the Pokemon toys you got are. one downfall did not have the same exploration mode as past games. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    It is a simple beat n' up with much Pokemon to collect which increases replay value. The only problem is that it is a bit short. But otherwise a good game overall. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Once you get your head around whats going on the busy screen its good fun. It's a little simple in terms of game play, but that's not always a bad thing. Maybe a little pricey in terms of value for money though. Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    6
    I'm not sure I entirely understand why this game is hated so much. However at the same time, it's not like the game gets a free pass for its shortcomings.

    The basics: Some toy-store employees drop a box of Pokémon toys, which proceed to float downstream. When they leave said stream, they set off on a journey to find the other toys. On this quest they face off against each other in different-themed arenas with a handful of challenges to accomplish. To enhance the game experience, players can scan real-life NFC Pokémon figures to battle.

    The core gameplay is simple and accessible enough; players mash the B and A buttons on the Wii U GamePad to attack enemy Pokémon toys, and can occasionally use the touch-screen to blast away at enemies provided they collect enough yellow shards. Three other players can join in with Wii remotes turned to their sides like NES controllers. It's easy and simplistic enough for anyone old or young to get into, but this accessibility only goes so far in the case of long-term appeal and enjoyability. Playing it alone can get boring, but I can also imagine multi-player sessions ending quickly.

    Long story short, it's one of those games that are fun in short bursts, and possibly addicting too. Pokémon fans (or fans of games that are fun in short action-filled bursts) should give it a try. Anyone else looking for a deeper experiences should look elsewhere.
    Collapse
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    6
    Pokémon rumble u is a repetitive beat um up game Their is fun to be had but sometimes it can be boring not worth the 15 euro price tag (in Europe). overall an average game. Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    5
    A missed opportunity on Nintendo's part.
    I went out and bought a handful of the NFC figures and was super hyped about getting to finally use
    the NFC functions of the Wii U gamepad. Unfortunately, this is the ONLY redeeming factor of this game. Every level is almost exactly the same, and very small on top of that. It's clearly aimed at small children who don't mind mashing buttons to produce shiny lights on screens.
    Also, having the NFC figures sold as a blind grab is a clear punch in the gut to the consumer. Bastards know I need to have them all.
    They could have done so much more with the combination of this franchise and the NFC technology. A well executed attempt could have rivaled Skylanders or Disney Infinity in my opinion. They certainly have an established consumer base to gouge. Hell, I've been playing Pokemon games since I was a kid, and I'm 28.
    Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2013
    2
    Nobody played the original Pokemon Rumble games for the terrible arena fights, the trail levels were what kept the game interesting. By making a game comprised solely of boring and soulless arena fights I don't feel I can trust the Pokemon Rumble franchise anymore Expand

See all 10 User Reviews