Rayman Legends Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 507 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman, Globox, and the Teensies are off wandering through an enchanted forest when they discover a mysterious tent filled with a series of captivating paintings. As they look more closely, they notice each painting seems to tell the story of a mythical world. While focusing on a paintingRayman, Globox, and the Teensies are off wandering through an enchanted forest when they discover a mysterious tent filled with a series of captivating paintings. As they look more closely, they notice each painting seems to tell the story of a mythical world. While focusing on a painting that shows a medieval land, they are suddenly sucked into the painting, entering the world, and the adventure begins. The gang must run, jump and fight their way through each world to save the day and discover the secrets of every legendary painting. Rayman Legends takes full advantage of the Wii U and its new GamePad’s capabilities. Use the touch screen to take out enemies, manipulate platforms, cut ropes to clear a path and much more. With the gyroscope technology, you can move rotating platform and there are many more surprises to come. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rayman Legends - Mariachi Madness
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    100
    For the sake of the freedom of these 700 teensies; for all the content; for the sheer amount of joy and enthusiasm and butt poking; for the sea and sky and swamps and castles; for how well these worlds and their levels are imagined, adorned, and realized, this may very well be the last platformer you ever need.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    100
    Building upon the superbly solid foundation of Rayman Origins is no mean feat, but Ubisoft has indeed managed to out-do the House of Mario in the genre in which many thought Nintendo was untouchable.
  3. 95
    Yes, it would have been nice to get the game months ago as originally intended, but don’t let Ubisoft’s distrust in the platform sway you; Rayman Legends is one of Wii U’s best.
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    90
    Almost perfect platform game with crazy humor and not very subtle pop cultural references. Could have been a little less repetitive, but with a couple of friends it has the potential for fantastically fun chaos. Very addictive and cleverly-paced so that you will always feel the need for one more try.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    90
    Even though it doesn't reach new heights, Rayman Legends is another heart-warming "love letter" to 2D platforming that you shouldn't miss out.
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Strictly as a platformer based on fun and timing, Rayman Legends is as good as it gets and can hold up to any Nintendo-published game on the Wii U (not that there are all that many). But taking into consideration the variety, polish, and subtle charm, Rayman has Mario by the coin purse. It’s a nearly flawless game you don’t want to miss—especially if you own a Wii U.
  7. Sep 3, 2013
    50
    In many ways, that unbridled sense of creativity serves as the source of Legends' problems. It's constantly throwing new concepts and mechanics into the mix, but there's no discipline to it, no restraint.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    What an underrated masterpiece of a game! What is wrong with this game? I can't really think of anything that what! The stages are beautifullyWhat an underrated masterpiece of a game! What is wrong with this game? I can't really think of anything that what! The stages are beautifully designed and crafted by the most careful of hands. The characters (though only 4 of them really needed) are fantastically unique to each other. Though to be fair, I would like to see more costumes (although I think that's just me not finding them). The difficulty is perfect also and the adventure is meaty. Just one thing I can't help noticing. While the main adventure is huge, the game would almost feel a tiny bit short if not for the remastered origins levels (also a great game by the way). The enemies are varied, the bosses are memorable, and the fun factor is off the scale. I'm gonna come out and say that this is among the greatest platformers I have ever played and I would even put it above Mario dare I say it. There are so many different things that characterize each level and world you explore through. And might I add that the music levels are absolutely A BLAST! I just wish there were more of them.With so many surprises around every corner, thousands of laughs to be had, and many memories that are sure to never completely leave your head, your looking at a masterpiece in this generic world of gaming we've come to see these days. I would also like to give a dozen nods to the team who produced the music for this game as it exceeds origins in every way. The only thing I would like is a little more story to the game. But this doesn't really matter as the game has so much character to it, you are forced to use your imagination throughout your journey (just as we did in the original Rayman, and Sonic games). Pick this game up everyone! I don't care if you haven't played anything in the series, their's no way you could hate this experience. May Rayman live long and thrive for a long time. Thank you Ubisoft. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Amazing. This game has some of the best level design in history. It's constantly throwing new but similar gameplay mechanics so you never feelAmazing. This game has some of the best level design in history. It's constantly throwing new but similar gameplay mechanics so you never feel cheated but you always feel challenged. This game has a great difficulty curve starting out easy and constantly getting harder. Also its nice how they allow you to skip over levels or switch worlds so you can come back to more challenging levels later. Also the graphics are beautiful. They feel fresh and new. Theres multiplayer which looks sweet and tons of unlockables. I would recommend this game to all people who have ever liked platforming games, or people just looking for a really good game. Collapse
  3. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    As of late, the 2D platforming genre has seen a bit of a resurgence, especially in indie games like Super Meat Boy, I Wanna Be The Guy and toAs of late, the 2D platforming genre has seen a bit of a resurgence, especially in indie games like Super Meat Boy, I Wanna Be The Guy and to a lesser extent in more high-profile titles New Super Mario Bros. and the like. Rayman Legends, the sequel to 2011's reboot of the Rayman series, Rayman Origins, is one such platformer, and quite possibly one of the best in its genre.

    Rayman Legends, like its predecessor, is very simple in terms of its gameplay: Run, jump and punch your way through each of the levels, rescuing the small, fairy-like Teensies (who replace Origins' Electoons) as you go. It's actually quite a good thing the gameplay is this simple, because this game's difficulty is certainly not to be sniffed at. On some of the Challenge levels in particular it might take someone many different tries to get past a particular area of the game, and whilst at first this may seem aggravating there's no feeling quite like finally completing that ONE level. Another interesting addition is the Murfy mechanic - whilst playing, the player can control Murfy with the Wii U GamePad to guide their character through the level, by for instance moving platforms or distracting enemies, adding a little variety to the gameplay whilst still retaining the simplicity that makes it so enjoyable. There are also additional characters, but the differences are mostly cosmetic and don't change the gameplay, though in all honesty this is more to the game's benefit, since the gameplay is OK as it is, and doesn't really need any different character abilities to make it any better.

    Also like Origins, Legends' story is barebones, quite possibly to the overall game's benefit. Not focusing much on the story means that the player can divert their attention to actually enjoying the gameplay and uniquer art style, which are the game's main points.

    To summarise, Rayman Legends is the best anyone could ask from a platforming game. It's challenging, it has funny characters, enjoyable levels, it doesn't focus too much on the plot, and most importantly - It will keep you entertained for a VERY long time. Yes, it can get very, VERY difficult, but as you play it, you realise that that's the whole point: Trial and error, improving with every failed attempt, slowly but surely perfecting your strategy. And it's exactly that that makes Rayman Legends special.
    Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    This game shows that 2D platformers are here to stay. It's filled with so much creativity and it's simply a joy to looks at and play. A mustThis game shows that 2D platformers are here to stay. It's filled with so much creativity and it's simply a joy to looks at and play. A must have for anyone who enjoys games in general. Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    A really fun platformer that takes full advantage of the gamepad. It is a joy to play co-op and the invaded levels can be quite challenging. AA really fun platformer that takes full advantage of the gamepad. It is a joy to play co-op and the invaded levels can be quite challenging. A great amount of content that includes daily and weekly challenges, levels from origins and a soccer mini-game. A must have for any WiiU owner. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    A fantastic and inventive platformer dare I say the best platformer on Wii U (sorry Mario U). The use of the gamepad is clever and worksA fantastic and inventive platformer dare I say the best platformer on Wii U (sorry Mario U). The use of the gamepad is clever and works well. The musical levels are very fun but beware; it can get hard, so make sure your friends don't get angry too easily if your planning on playing it with them! Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2013
    7
    Rayman legends is a great platformer Being a sequel to Rayman origins Legends improves on almost everything that origins was If you have aRayman legends is a great platformer Being a sequel to Rayman origins Legends improves on almost everything that origins was If you have a WiiU or a ps3 or PC pic this game up Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii U Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Wii U Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2017
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Wii U.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.