Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 30, 2014
    71
    There is a market for this kind of happy pain, this agonizing joy. I just hope Dakko Dakko’s rotating, riveting shooter finds the cat-crazy audience it deserves.
  2. Jul 18, 2014
    70
    If you love cats and difficulty in gaming, Scram Kitty and his Buddy on Rails could be your next killer app for Wii U. In case you don't, you should not hold your breath for the new Dakko Dakko's title.
  3. Jun 19, 2014
    70
    Scram Kitty and his Buddy on Rails is more than a throwback to the 16-bit era, it’s an action-packed challenge on rails, guaranteed to keep the most demanding players closely around its simple, yet demanding concept. The jumping mechanics could use a more accessible learning curve, but anyone who plays this will have their entertainment needs properly fulfilled.
  4. May 27, 2014
    70
    Innovative and original, Scram Kitty and his Buddy on Rails is a great little game for hardcore gamers, despite his cute touch.
  5. May 20, 2014
    70
    The main game is quite memorable though thanks to the concept being so different, and it’s worth checking out for most retro-loving fans — it’s just not something that’s likely to appeal to many beyond that fanbase.
  6. May 13, 2014
    70
    While it's probably not a top tier download title, Scram Kitty and his Buddy on Rails is still an entertaining and fun game, with big, challenging levels that all have plenty to do.
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    60
    Scram Kitty is a game that shows true respect the player's intelligence, but also one that never finds the right balance between challenge and accessibility.
  8. 60
    Scram Kitty and his buddy on rails is a decent, but ultimately disappointing experience, that almost had me break my Wii-Tablet over my knee.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. May 15, 2014
    10
    This game is exactly what I want in an arcade video game. It is fresh, it is novel, it is aesthetically pleasing, it has simple controls, itThis game is exactly what I want in an arcade video game. It is fresh, it is novel, it is aesthetically pleasing, it has simple controls, it has simple mechanics, it is easy to pick up, it is impossible to master, it is fun, it is frustrating, it is satisfying when you complete a level, it has a high skill ceiling. This is gaming as I remember from my childhood.

    The game itself features a cat that rolls around on rails. The levels are almost like sandbox 2D; you can go anywhere in the level, the purpose being to find the missing cats. One is near the exit already, one has to be chased around the level making an interesting obstacle course each time, one only appears after you collect all the 'coins', and the last one only appears after you kill the boss, and that only appears after you kill all the other enemies in the level. Each level is completely packed with stuff to do, and each level will require skill to finish to completion. The movement is novel, making it all the more enjoyable. Combat is reminiscent of old arcade blasters like R-Type.

    The game is fully recommended. The best indie title I've played in a long time. Easily stands shoulder-to-shoulder with Bastion and Mark Of The Ninja, even if they do all fill different niches.
    Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2014
    9
    Excelente juego de disparos, gran originalidad e innovación en el control... toma un par de horas manejarlo adecuadamente y un sin fin deExcelente juego de disparos, gran originalidad e innovación en el control... toma un par de horas manejarlo adecuadamente y un sin fin de horas dominarlo, es un juego retador con dificultad NES Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2014
    4
    I had so much hope for Scram Kitty before it was released. However, after downloading the game, I can honestly say that I'm disappointed.I had so much hope for Scram Kitty before it was released. However, after downloading the game, I can honestly say that I'm disappointed. It's very unique and I'll give credit where credit is due. The graphics are fine. The characters are really cool. The idea of the game play is awesome. Where I run into problems is the controls. It's almost like the developer made the controls clunky on purpose to add to the difficulty but all I get out of it is frustration. In fact, I get so frustrated at the controls that I don't want to play it anymore despite it's good qualities. Maybe they'll do a sequel and fix the controls and game play. Full Review »