Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Jan 14, 2014
    70
    Wii U's version of Scribblenauts is by far the most ambitious done to date and it arrives not a moment too soon after a long delay in its release. Strongly recommended to anyone seeking a new chapter in this series.
  2. 80
    In terms of animations and graphics, Scribblenauts Unlimited takes a big step forward. But the best is its rich content. All the characters have a of their problem and, in the end, it seems that we spend all the time finding the right keys to enter a multitude of chests and spread sheer insanity.
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    A game that makes you challenge your creativity, but still has many limits. Because of that Scribblenauts Unlimited gets quite boring after a while. Still, with all the possibilities it offers a lot for a Wii U game.
  4. Dec 21, 2013
    50
    Scribblenauts Unlimited only extends the vocabulary, but with no clear direction. We hope the developers reconsider their strategy for the next game if they want to save what once was a great idea.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    75
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is not as "unlimited" as supposed, but it's still a good option for people looking for taking advantage of their imagination.
  6. Dec 10, 2013
    60
    Scribblenauts Unlimited adds a lot of words, but the puzzles are too obvious to be really fun. It still can be a good game for kids, at least if they are not disappointed by the lack of platform or action elements.
  7. Dec 9, 2013
    80
    The object editor added in this version is indeed the reason to choose this version over the handheld one. Scribblenauts is still as fun as always, and the expansion of its possibilities will satisfy all those fans looking for more.
  8. Dec 5, 2013
    78
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is in fact limited, but it's a different and creative experience. The universe of creations opens and works perfectly in a touchscreen of Wii U GamePad and 3DS.
  9. May 13, 2013
    82
    The first thing you do when you start scribbling with Wii U, is to turn of the television. This game is best played with the uPad and unfortunately you are chained to the living room. The game is still good fun, but a home console isn't the best possible platform for this type of game. [May 2013]
  10. A conflicted idea. [Feb 2014, p.82]
  11. Feb 24, 2013
    80
    For players with a large vocabulary, Scribblenauts Unlimited can be pretty simplistic and challenges overcome with a modicum of creative thought. However, kids will appreciate the paper-esque sensibility and chance to just do whatever pops into their heads. Good, clean fun all-round.
  12. Feb 20, 2013
    70
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is nothing special. Simply a Wii U porting of a well known game.
  13. Feb 12, 2013
    80
    Who thought playing with words could be this much fun?
  14. Feb 11, 2013
    70
    Unlimited may once again frustratingly fail to reach the potential of Scribblenauts’ terrific core conceit. But if any game this year makes my son and I laugh as much as this has over the past week or so, I’ll be absolutely delighted.
  15. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is not the game Wii U needed right now, nor that kind of production that can highlight the uniqueness of the new Nintendo hardware... nonetheless, it’s a funny language laboratory and a clever gaming workshop. The Gamepad allows for some sharing between who’s playing and the ones sitting along on the sofa, making 5th Cell effort a good choice for some evening sessions between friends and relatives.
  16. Feb 11, 2013
    60
    Until the game can keep up with the player's creativity it's best enjoyed in short spurts. [March 2013, p.80]
  17. Feb 9, 2013
    74
    As empowering as it is to be a word wizard, we wish there was more game to wield our power in. [March 2013, p.76]
  18. Feb 5, 2013
    75
    The time spent with Scribblenauts Unlimited is mostly good time, but there are some issues that are preventing it from becoming a complete experience. Once players get the grasp on the mechanics the game becomes excessively easy, and the many puzzles not always are capable of offering a diversified experience. 5th Cell's game seems built around the Wii U Gamepad, a plus, but that shows the portable origins of the series, a series that needs something more to compete in the home-consoles environment.
  19. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    Brilliant and light-hearted, with a smart and sophisticated structure and a design standing out for imagination and variety, Scribblenauts Unlimited alternates a prefect rhythm to a simple but perfect puzzle game nature.
  20. Feb 4, 2013
    60
    Once the realisation hits that the game not only requires the bear minimum to progress, but subconsciously encourages it, it begins to take much of the fun away.
  21. Feb 4, 2013
    70
    Scribblenauts Unlimited comes with a rich dictionary, lots of levels and some interesting features, but the overall experience suffers from the same old problems.
  22. Jan 20, 2013
    55
    As commendable as it is that 5th Cell have made a game that will likely encourage children to think outside the box, experiment with words, and unleash their imaginations on the screen, for those of us who have grown up and have been cultivating our love affair with words for years now, it's the most boring Scribblenauts entry ever.
  23. Jan 20, 2013
    83
    The fourth installment in the series is another great title for the lineup of Wii U.
  24. Jan 14, 2013
    75
    The gameplay is a tad one-dimensional, with each challenge amounting to little more than summoning a specific object, but there are plenty of humorous moments to keep you engaged in the experience, especially if you have someone around to share them with.
  25. Dec 18, 2012
    85
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is a perfect match for the Wii U's hardware, making brilliant use of the GamePad controller to deliver a wonderfully creative sandbox puzzler.
  26. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    As far as gameplay goes, Scribblenauts Unlimited isn't terrible different from its predecessors. [Dec 2012, p.70]
  27. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is the best looking and playing entry in the series to date. It's also the easiest, so if you didn't like the first two due to their difficulty, at least give this a rental.
  28. Dec 6, 2012
    84
    If you own a brand spanking new Wii U, buy this game and give your imagination a workout.
  29. Dec 5, 2012
    88
    Serious wordsmiths may bemoan the lighter difficulty and more streamlined puzzle play, but it's hard to grumble when the simple act of noodling around with your wacky word creations is so blissfully absorbing on its own.
  30. 70
    The game sometimes gets in the way of allowing players to express their creativity.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    It's not that the game is terrible, it's just i had more fun seeing things on fire or making my own fun than the actual game quests itself. Sure you can use your imagination, but I'd rather not make my own restricted fun. You see a crying girl, how will you cheer her up? Add adjective: naive Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    3
    I was really looking forward to this game, but I was extremely disappointed. The premise is great. You have a magic notebook in which you can write anything you want, and (if it's in the game, which pretty much everything is) it'll appear in front of you. The way the developers utilize this is downright dumb, though. Your goal is to collect star bits. You do this by making people happy. That's okay I guess, but here is where it gets dumb: They have like 500 characters who each say something like "My hair is messy, wish I had something to comb it with", or "I can't go out without my helmet", etc. You basically just have to write whatever word the characters says, or what they need. It's fun for about an hour, but that's it. Graphics are nice, music is okay. But all in all, it's not worth your time or money. Concept: 9
    Execution/Gameplay: 2
    Graphics: 8
    Music: 6
    Replay value: 0
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This is the first scribblenauts game that I have played. It's completely addicting and takes a good imagination to play. I'm completely hooked. Makes great use of the wii u's game pad. In fact, you never really have to look at your tv screen. The only reason I leave the tv on while playing is for my kids to watch (they get a kick out of it too). Full Review »