Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Jan 14, 2014
    70
    Wii U's version of Scribblenauts is by far the most ambitious done to date and it arrives not a moment too soon after a long delay in its release. Strongly recommended to anyone seeking a new chapter in this series.
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    A game that makes you challenge your creativity, but still has many limits. Because of that Scribblenauts Unlimited gets quite boring after a while. Still, with all the possibilities it offers a lot for a Wii U game.
  3. Dec 21, 2013
    50
    Scribblenauts Unlimited only extends the vocabulary, but with no clear direction. We hope the developers reconsider their strategy for the next game if they want to save what once was a great idea.
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    60
    Scribblenauts Unlimited adds a lot of words, but the puzzles are too obvious to be really fun. It still can be a good game for kids, at least if they are not disappointed by the lack of platform or action elements.
  5. A conflicted idea. [Feb 2014, p.82]
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    70
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is nothing special. Simply a Wii U porting of a well known game.
  7. Feb 11, 2013
    70
    Unlimited may once again frustratingly fail to reach the potential of Scribblenauts’ terrific core conceit. But if any game this year makes my son and I laugh as much as this has over the past week or so, I’ll be absolutely delighted.
  8. Feb 11, 2013
    60
    Until the game can keep up with the player's creativity it's best enjoyed in short spurts. [March 2013, p.80]
  9. Feb 9, 2013
    74
    As empowering as it is to be a word wizard, we wish there was more game to wield our power in. [March 2013, p.76]
  10. Feb 4, 2013
    60
    Once the realisation hits that the game not only requires the bear minimum to progress, but subconsciously encourages it, it begins to take much of the fun away.
  11. Feb 4, 2013
    70
    Scribblenauts Unlimited comes with a rich dictionary, lots of levels and some interesting features, but the overall experience suffers from the same old problems.
  12. Jan 20, 2013
    55
    As commendable as it is that 5th Cell have made a game that will likely encourage children to think outside the box, experiment with words, and unleash their imaginations on the screen, for those of us who have grown up and have been cultivating our love affair with words for years now, it's the most boring Scribblenauts entry ever.
  13. 70
    The game sometimes gets in the way of allowing players to express their creativity.
  14. Dec 3, 2012
    50
    Taken on it own, Scribblenauts Unlimited is dull, simplistic, and devoid of challenge. What begins as an unbridled experiment in omnipotence swiftly devolves into a lackadaisical chore. It's still rife with warmth, humour and creativity, and the Wii U's TV support transforms the solitary snickering of previous Scribblenauts into a party game that's especially well suited to the young or inebriated.
  15. Nov 29, 2012
    70
    It's ultimately your duty to provide the fun because the included puzzles rarely test your skills, and though the extreme flexibility means it's inherently fun just to mess around, that does grow tiresome too quickly.
  16. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    The game gives little motivation to step out of your comfort zone to solve puzzles in clever or innovative ways, but becomes far more satisfying when used as an outlet for your imagination rather than strictly adhering to any level's given goals. It's as fun of an experience as you make it, with those yearning to flex their creative muscles getting the most from the virtual sandbox.
  17. Nov 22, 2012
    60
    Feels shoehorned onto the console. It's mind-numbingly repetitive and doesn't add enough to the series' formula to justify the platform shift. Scribblenauts Unlimited is more Scribblenauts. More players. More words. More puzzles. But more is not better.
  18. Nov 18, 2012
    50
    Scribblenauts Unlimited still serves some purpose as a playground of silly ideas, and it still has a measure of charm left over from its original incarnation, but when it comes time to actually play it, this is the most boring and monotonous game in the series. Anything it does well was already done in the portable installments, and the new structure is utterly tedious.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    It's not that the game is terrible, it's just i had more fun seeing things on fire or making my own fun than the actual game quests itself.It's not that the game is terrible, it's just i had more fun seeing things on fire or making my own fun than the actual game quests itself. Sure you can use your imagination, but I'd rather not make my own restricted fun. You see a crying girl, how will you cheer her up? Add adjective: naive Full Review »
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    3
    I was really looking forward to this game, but I was extremely disappointed. The premise is great. You have a magic notebook in which you canI was really looking forward to this game, but I was extremely disappointed. The premise is great. You have a magic notebook in which you can write anything you want, and (if it's in the game, which pretty much everything is) it'll appear in front of you. The way the developers utilize this is downright dumb, though. Your goal is to collect star bits. You do this by making people happy. That's okay I guess, but here is where it gets dumb: They have like 500 characters who each say something like "My hair is messy, wish I had something to comb it with", or "I can't go out without my helmet", etc. You basically just have to write whatever word the characters says, or what they need. It's fun for about an hour, but that's it. Graphics are nice, music is okay. But all in all, it's not worth your time or money. Concept: 9
    Execution/Gameplay: 2
    Graphics: 8
    Music: 6
    Replay value: 0
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This is the first scribblenauts game that I have played. It's completely addicting and takes a good imagination to play. I'm completelyThis is the first scribblenauts game that I have played. It's completely addicting and takes a good imagination to play. I'm completely hooked. Makes great use of the wii u's game pad. In fact, you never really have to look at your tv screen. The only reason I leave the tv on while playing is for my kids to watch (they get a kick out of it too). Full Review »