Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Scribblenauts Unlimited features a side-scrolling open world with new, high-definition hand-drawn scenery and objects where players can help the game's hero, Maxwell, solve robust puzzles and challenges by summoning any object they can imagine. And for the first time, players learn the back story of Maxwell's parents, his twin sister Lily, and how he acquired his magical notepad. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 90
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is a polished and fun launch. It is the purest realization of what makes the series so fun to date, and proves that, after so many portable iterations, Scribblenauts might actually be best suited for the TV and Nintendo's Wii U GamePad.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is the best looking and playing entry in the series to date. It's also the easiest, so if you didn't like the first two due to their difficulty, at least give this a rental.
  3. 80
    In terms of animations and graphics, Scribblenauts Unlimited takes a big step forward. But the best is its rich content. All the characters have a of their problem and, in the end, it seems that we spend all the time finding the right keys to enter a multitude of chests and spread sheer insanity.
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    75
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is not as "unlimited" as supposed, but it's still a good option for people looking for taking advantage of their imagination.
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    A game that makes you challenge your creativity, but still has many limits. Because of that Scribblenauts Unlimited gets quite boring after a while. Still, with all the possibilities it offers a lot for a Wii U game.
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    70
    It's ultimately your duty to provide the fun because the included puzzles rarely test your skills, and though the extreme flexibility means it's inherently fun just to mess around, that does grow tiresome too quickly.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    50
    Scribblenauts Unlimited still serves some purpose as a playground of silly ideas, and it still has a measure of charm left over from its original incarnation, but when it comes time to actually play it, this is the most boring and monotonous game in the series. Anything it does well was already done in the portable installments, and the new structure is utterly tedious.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    A great franchise adds another amazing game to it's collection! The option to create your own things and search other player's creations opens up endless possibilities for days of fun, maybe weeks. A few missions were very aggrevating, but for the most part this game and Pikmin 3 are the best games on the Wii U, both must haves for any owner of the Wii U. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    This is the first scribblenauts game that I have played. It's completely addicting and takes a good imagination to play. I'm completely hooked. Makes great use of the wii u's game pad. In fact, you never really have to look at your tv screen. The only reason I leave the tv on while playing is for my kids to watch (they get a kick out of it too). Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    I think this game is unbelievably good. It is one of the best sandbox games ever. The infinite ways you can solve a puzzle make it more than interesting and the way you can personalize your character (and even the npcs) makes it even more enjoyable Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Very solid game and defiantly the best of the scribblenauts games. The sheer amount of creativity and sandbox in this game provides tons of fun and you'll probably finding yourself trying to figure out just how far you can go with creating objects rather than completing the missions Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is a very interesting game. For one it is a puzzle game which lets you think beyond your imagination, though the game is great the point gets really boring after awhile of playing it. Collapse
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    This game is right on the line of a must have and i not worth the money. it is a great game and is very fun, but it has a feeling of not being worth 40 dollars especially 60 dollars. i bought this game right when i saw it one sale for 30 and i had lots of fun playing it for about 7 hours then it started getting kind of repeditve and boring. it may seem as a game that you can do anything in but it felt as if it was lacking something, i think the lacking something had to do with the portable game style being on the big screen. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    3
    I was really looking forward to this game, but I was extremely disappointed. The premise is great. You have a magic notebook in which you can write anything you want, and (if it's in the game, which pretty much everything is) it'll appear in front of you. The way the developers utilize this is downright dumb, though. Your goal is to collect star bits. You do this by making people happy. That's okay I guess, but here is where it gets dumb: They have like 500 characters who each say something like "My hair is messy, wish I had something to comb it with", or "I can't go out without my helmet", etc. You basically just have to write whatever word the characters says, or what they need. It's fun for about an hour, but that's it. Graphics are nice, music is okay. But all in all, it's not worth your time or money. Concept: 9
    Execution/Gameplay: 2
    Graphics: 8
    Music: 6
    Replay value: 0
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews