Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    91
    Even after completing Unmasked’s 12 levels, which took around 10 hours, I feel like I’ve only scratched the surface of the creative ways to unravel its enigmas - which makes me want to keep playing it even more.
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    80
    It’s difficult to determine whether this game was made for superhero fans or to those who already enjoy the game series, but Scribblenauts Unmasked: A DC Comics Adventure finds a good balance that should appeal to both crowds.
  3. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    This is a really fun mash-up that leverages the DC Comics license quite well, and it's sure to make any comics fan happy. Your love for the game will likely hinge on whether you're a fan of the comic characters, but even without that license, this is another enjoyable Scribblenauts romp.
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    That freedom — and the majority of the puzzle design, which supports it — made Scribblenauts Unmasked a pleasure, even when it stumbled on the occasional cantankerous solution.
  5. 75
    While the subject matter didn’t totally resonate with me there is no denying the strength of the DC Comics brand.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    74
    It is neat to experiment with language to summon your favorite heroes or see surprising effects on the world, and it's at its most fun with a friend brainstorming with you. Still with the awkward action and haphazardly placed puzzles, there's a lack of direction to unleash that potential, making it hard to stay interested for the long-run.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    74
    As it stands, there's a bit much here that holds back a smooth, fun experience like you would get in previous Scribblenauts titles. It is both a blessing and a curse.
  8. Oct 7, 2013
    70
    So here we are then: yet another sequel with a case of the "could've beens." It's still amusing, but let's just be honest, the amount of interest in Scribblenauts is getting a bit smaller every time, no matter how much we might enjoy it.
  9. Oct 5, 2013
    70
    Getting everyone or everything to behave how you want in a mission or a puzzle makes thing just extra aggravating.
  10. Of course, the fun that players have with Scribblenauts Unmasked‘s activities will correspond directly to their creativity.
  11. Sep 27, 2013
    70
    As a game full of puzzles that just happen to star DC characters, Unmasked isn't as fun as last year's Unlimited, which I'd suggest over this release for those who want the best Scribblenauts experience.
  12. Sep 24, 2013
    70
    I enjoyed Scribblenauts Unmasked's encyclopedic exploration of DC's universe. I had a blast creating my own characters and fleshing out their powers. Many of the puzzle challenges are also quite clever in their design and solutions. I just wish the heroes and villains would put aside their differences. In most cases, when they come to blows, the experience turns into a bothersome mess.
  13. Oct 30, 2013
    67
    An idea that sounds better on paper, which isn't good for a comic book inspired game.
  14. Oct 3, 2013
    65
    The encyclopedia of DC characters though is impressive, and clearly where they spent the bulk of their time in development. I almost could lose myself in that aspect, and never actually play the game itself. That speaks volumes about a $60 title. I just wish there was more focus on the unique boss battles and ideas that could have helped create a better experience.
  15. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    While certain elements will appeal to DC Comics fans, there simply isn’t enough substance here to make Scribblenauts Unmasked worth a purchase—the gimmick wears off way too quickly.
  16. 55
    Following up on the success of Unlimited, Scribblenauts Unmasked is a huge disappointment. The use of the DC Comics license is novel, but it doesn’t add up to anything more than a curiosity in a game that already has enough curiosity to go around.
  17. Sep 29, 2013
    50
    Scribblenauts Unmasked feels less like a video game and more like a chore. That’s a phrase too often thrown around in video game reviews, but it’s about as apt as a comparison one could draw.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    it was ok i scribblenauts unlimited was better but still, this will probably will become a hit, that subject of super heroes is good but they should introduced marvel superheroes too. Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    5
    This game annoys me. It's a good game, I can assure you that, but it just doesn't feel right when it comes to Scribblenauts. The DC tie-in bothered me from the start; it feels kind of tacked on and out-of-place. The story doesn't do a good job of explaining it, either.

    The thing that bothers me the most, though, is all of the characters that Unlimited introduced- they're completely absent in this game, unless you spawn them. This angers me. They gave Maxwell, Lily, and even Doppelganger extended personalities, but all of the potential to develop the numerous other characters is completely ignored. Of course, that does give me satisfaction in the fact that I can keep my headcanons for them, since they haven't been jossed, but it is kind of disappointing. They give us ALL these characters in one game, and do nothing with them.

    Oh yeah, speaking of Doppelganger. Making him a full-fledged villain doesn't sit right with me. I always saw him as the mischevious, recurring Team Rocket-type villain who's not too hard to deal with. I expected more sassy dialogue from him, but he felt more like the typical generic evil guy. (The tie-in comic DOES remedy this by making him grumpy and snarky, but still-
    OH YEAH. Tie-in comic. As cool as it is to see Maxwell and company further developed, it doesn't sit right. With games like Sonic, it can work, because the characters and world are already established, while still leaving room for new ideas to be inserted. With games like Pocket God, it can work because the characters are blank slates, as is the world- leaving lots of room to insert new ideas and play with the concepts the game has already provided.
    With Scribblenauts? It doesn't work as well, because it ONLY explores the DC universe, without touching on Scribblenauts's own universe much at all. Huge case of missed potential there. If the tie-in comic had become a thing while Unlimited was still the latest game, it would've worked, because like Pocket God, at the time the characters and world were blank slates to develop and play with.
    (It also jossed a headcanon I had for Dopps, which annoyed me for personal reasons.)

    Overall, the game is an enormous case of "this does not feel right". It's very good on its own, but it doesn't feel like a Scribblenauts game. It feels like a DC game with Scribblenauts hastily written in.

    Just stay in your own universe, Scribblenauts. Define your own world before you tie in with another one.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Eh, it's Scribblenauts, that automatically makes it good! Unlimited it better, but this is also good! Enjoyable for DC lovers! Overall a good game, range of spawnable objects is amazing! Full Review »