Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shovel Knight is a sweeping classic action adventure game with memorable characters and an 8-bit retro aesthetic created by Yacht Club Games. You play as the eponymous Shovel Knight, a small knight with a huge quest. Shovel Knight has come to this valley with two goals: to defeat the evil Enchantress and save his lost beloved. He wields a ShovelBlade; a multipurpose weapon whose techniques have now been lost to the ages. Always honest and helpful, Shovel Knight is a shining example of the code of Shovelry: Slash Mercilessly and Dig Tirelessly. However, between Shovel Knight and his beloved stands a cadre of villainous knights. These terrible foes, known as The Order of No Quarter, have been dispatched to prevent Shovel Knight from reaching the Enchantress at any cost. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 9, 2014
    100
    It deserves wholeheartedly to be on a list of nominees later this year. Play Shovel Knight. It is a damn delight.
  2. 100
    But more than anything else, Shovel Knight oozes personality and charm more than any game I’ve played in recent memory.
  3. Jun 26, 2014
    95
    Shovel Knight is one of the best platformers I've ever played, period.
  4. Jun 26, 2014
    90
    Yacht Club Games has a hit on its hands with Shovel Knight. With brilliant game design, charming presentation and a ton of content, this is a wonderful first title from the fledgling developer.
  5. Jun 26, 2014
    90
    Shovel Knight isn't just inspired by 8-bit classics, it is inspired in and of itself.
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    88
    Indie throwbacks to video games of the early ‘80s are a dime a dozen, but Yacht Club Games successfully rises to the top. The tried-and-true game design principles and elegant checkpoint system make Shovel Knight worth a try no matter which era of gaming you prefer.
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    70
    Shovel Knight is a memorable re-imagining of what I grew up with, but doesn't have the longevity or inventiveness to be great in its own right.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    This game is everything great about the 8bit era of platformers. It borrows from all the best games while retaining a style and humor all its own, making it one of the best 8bit revival games out there. The soundtrack kicks ass, and the design is top notch. This game as it stands is amazing, but there is so much down the pipeline for it in the form of free updates it is easily a must buy.

    The Miiverse integration that is unique to the Wii U is just amazing. Dubbed the "diggers Diary" the can be brought up on the gamepad at anytime during play and it will sort miiverse posts to show only posts that were made in the exact same room or section of the level that you are currently in. Its like being on the couch with the whole fanbase giving you tips and encouragement! This is all packaged in a nice 8-bit format that fits right in with the games style.

    The WiiU version of the game in my opinion is going to be the definitive version of the game, pick it up with the community is still hot!
    Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    YES YES YES just YES this is indie gamming prime. thanks to all the backers who made this possible, even tough it got delayed it now delivers a full, rich experience with 8+ hours on the first playtrough. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    An absolutely incredible tribute to what made retro games so great. It does so many things well on top of that and I still find it hard to describe what exactly makes it so great. A lot of the mechanics are derived from classic NES titles- magic items are a play on castlevania's item system(a few are direct copies) the level design is certainly megaman inspired, down to the league of robot bosses-er knights... the shovel bounce is the same as the ducktales cane bounce... I could go on, but the point is that the game is a masterful blend of the best retro games have to offer. The art I could talk about for days alone. It certainly is 8-bit, but has a wider color palette and just massages your eyeballs. Sound design is also fantastic. There are a whopping 48(!) tracks to make your adventure more diverse. Jake Kaufman's work is masterful and certainly left his mark on this brilliant game. As a masterful chip artist, Kaufman's work on the track is 100% playable on the NES, an amazing feat, I must say. Even the composer of the original Meg a Man, Manami Matsumae made a track for the game, which is just another fantastic fan service. The game itself didn't take me too long to complete, around 6 hours is all it took. I won't say this detracts from the game at all though, it felt like a complete experience to me and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. If you have the opportunity to pick this game up, do yourself a favor and relive the past! Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    this is one of the best games retro inspired games I've played in a while, it really feels like it was a classic brought back from the 80's. Of course the things you could do in the game you could never do on the hardware limitations of the NES, but still. The game has great controls, a heart felt story told through well drawn pixel art cut scenes, and a huge over world with tons of levels to explore and bosses to defeat. I highly recommend this game. Collapse
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    Yacht Club did such an amazing job with this game. It gives the nostalgia off the NES (if you had one back then) and it does it by it's classic-style game play. If you like Mega-Man, Link's Adventure, and other 8-bit adventures, then this is for you. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    Shovel Knight captures the charm from the old fashion games of the NES, the game combines the adventurous dungeon exploring style of Castlevania with the challenging platforming of Megaman, however unlike most of the indies games who also take influence from older Shovel Knight doesn't feel like a direct ripoff of this but it holds up it's own personality. The characters are likable, the retro 16-bit art-style is outstanding, the music is catchy and the level design is fluid as it demands the player to gather skill as the he goes through the game.

    Definitively a must buy.
    Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2014
    0
    While there is some value I'm certain many of those reading this can find I cannot this is due to a) me being a new gamer and not having an idea of what this is based off if making it seem like either a total rip off to something heavily inspired I can't connect to b) graphics like these tend to make me nauseous this is something of an issue I have and can take me out of the game a lot c) this was overhyped and for reasons I've mentioned above did not deliver c) the difficulty is inconsistent making a lot of the already rather awkward controls and level design feel more well awkward I would go on but this short game isn't really worth my time and please note my actual score would be a 3 now please note I have played the 3ds and PC versions of the game (all PC but only tried 3ds) the reason I'm putting this on the wii u is because this game is extremely overhyped and needs to be taken back by quite a bit Expand

See all 25 User Reviews