Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    90
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a fantastic racer. The tracks and racers are great, and the controls – small jet niggles aside – are excellent.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    The result is a game which is far more focused and entertaining than the original Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing.
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    Sonic's second foray into the motoring world is his best yet, with a game that headlines the defining advantages of the Wii U format whilst providing more than enough to see and do for SEGA fans both young and old. Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed retains trademark aspects of the karting genre, but also provides enough variation on it to be able to stand side-by-side with Nintendo's eventual Mario equivalent.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Granted, there's no real competition as of yet, but Sonic and Racing All-Stars Transformed on the Wii U easily takes the role of a really, really good Mario Kart game. It is the definitive game of this sort - and not by virtue of being the only one. The plumber will have to give it his best shot to regain his pole position on his own console.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    88
    Amid a sea of sloppy ports, the Wii U version Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed shines like a veritable beacon: with the possible exception of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 it's the best multiplatform title on the console, and might just have the edge over the PS3 and 360 versions of the game, not least because offline play is now available for five players instead of four.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, definitely a sleeper hit. It lots of the characters from sega's past, which is great if you grew up with those games. If you didn't, it might be harder to relate to the characters but it's a racing game so it shouldn't matter too much.

    The tracks are very well designed and play extremely well. There are three parts to this game: Cart, Airplane, and boat. The cart plays the best in my opinion, it is completely flawless. The airplane and boat can sometimes be hard to control but that may just be me.

    There IS a gamepad only mode. You just need to swipe down on the gamepad when the game starts up and then you can play it on there. It was extremely simple to do and I had no problems.

    The only beef I have with the game is Danicka Patrick, not sure why she is there when they could have had someone like Vectorman in there but to each his own, maybe some people will like her.

    Overall, I give this game a 10 because it is truly a great game, one that is overlooked and this should not be the case. This is not a port either because the game was developed equally for xbox 360 and ps3 and even came out the same day. The game also has a few wii u specific modes that I have yet to try. Overall, there are very little flaws and the game is miles ahead of the last game, which I personally thought was fun to begin with. All in all, this game is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    Let me start off by correcting some things mentioned in an earlier review by @specialmias. This game is far from a straight port. There are bonus tracks, ability to play as your Mii's, up to 5 person local multiplayer, and the addition of stickers for your license (I was told this sticker portion was new, but I may have been misinformed, so it may be present on other consoles). When Playing alone the gamepad serves two main functions, a minimap and a rear view camera. Although to be honest you won't be looking down too often. Gamepad only mode is supported, and is incredibly easy, just swipe on the screen from top to bottom, and bottom to top to play on the TV again. Pretty much the only thing stated that was correct is that the game looks gorgeous, and there is absolutely no frame rate drop. As for gameplay, this game certainly impresses. I was skeptical that this would be a cheap Mario Kart rip-off, but i couldn't be farther from the truth. The game is addictive, beautifully paced, and offers many different modes to choose from. Not only can you race, but there are also fun battle stages, elimination races, and many more to choose from. The controls handle very well, the steering is fluid and very responsive. The music in this game is decent, some is even addictive. I wouldn't give it any awards though. The game's gimmick, transforming, is incredibly fun. It does it so much better than Mario Kart 7. They keep the race fair, and in many courses you can choose if you want to drive or fly/boat at certain points. For example my brother prefers to drive the car rather than the boat. So while I dive into the water, he steers off to the right and keeps on the road. This isn't always an option, but it is nice when present.

    This game even comes with an affordable price tag, at a modest 39.99 at most stores. I honestly would recommend this over any Mario Kart game, ever (and yes I have played them all).
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I'm absolutely loving this game. I'm surprised at the price point for this one honestly. It is a steal at US $40. My other Wii U games have been being a bit neglected thanks to Sonic Racing Transformed. Unlike the impression a fellow reviewer tries to give below the game is indeed supported for gamepad only play. Besides that though the game doesn't really need any other touch screen enhancements and stands on its own as a great addition to the Wii U library. Full Review »